We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calgary North Thriftlodge

2304 16th Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Calgary North Thriftlodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I found the room to be clean, comfortable, and quiet. I liked the parking right in front of the door. The room had everything that you need.....microwave, fridge, coffee pot, small table and chairs, lots of towels, and nice TV. Also, it is nice to have a smoking room.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hello Barbara B, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review... a very nice one. I am very happy you are letting everyone know about our old but well maintained property! Have a wonderful day and we hope you choose staying with us next time you are in Calgary. More 

Burpengary, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

After 14 hours of flying from Australia we were looking for a comfy bed. Cammie (receptionist on checkin ) was amazing offering us a quiet room without traffic noise. Beds were comfy with great pillows, Breakfast was basic continental. Close to other eating places so we walked to grab dinner after checkin. Older establishment but great value for money. Only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Freedom667
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hi Freedom667, I want to thank you for taking the time to write about our property. I am very sorry to hear about the experience you had I can understand where you are coming from. I have to say please accept our apologies and I can assure you I am looking after that issue internally. I thank you also for... More 

Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

Although this is an older property, it is very clean and good value for the cost. Convenient location to many NW amenities.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Greg A
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hi Greg A, I want to thank you very much for the nice review you just gave us on our property. You are right, it is a little bit of an older building but our rooms are very clean and comfortable. I do hope next time you are in Calgary you stay with us again! Have a great day. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

At first. They need a copy of our pasport. The 25 other hotels didn't need a copy. He was very rude. We were tired so we gave in. But we are very angry about the way we were treated. Second: the room didn't have chairs and table/desk. We were staying there 2 nights. The place was old and on their... More 

Helpful?
Thank bear o
Gustavo A, General Manager at Calgary North Thriftlodge, responded to this review

Hello bear o, I really apologize for the experience you had at the Thriftlodge. I will look into it internally right away, this is not acceptable. Thank you for taking the time to write about us. I hope next time you are in town you give a chance to serve you how you deserve. Have a great day! More 

Abbotsford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

Given that we were just looking for a basic hotel room, nothing fancy or newly renovated, our only complaint with the room was that the air conditioner was noisy. However, had we known during our advance booking that the pool was out of commission, we never would have stayed here. Very poor and dishonest of the hotel not to inform... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandSfromAbby
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Paid $150 for a room that only has half the power. The fridge and TV did not have power. Hotel sold out, coudnt switch the room. Very dissatisfied, never stay at the Thriftlodge in calgary.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank crystalperrin
Keene, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015 via mobile

Came here and have stayed in hotels over r the last month on major holiday and this hotel is the worst of the worst Room smells terrible of old smoke and old motel. The covers on beds have large and I mean large smoke burn holes. Bed isn't terrible but not great either . Pillows are lumpy . But the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelley N
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#33 of 107 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay