We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 100 Calgary hotels

Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   60 Shawville Rd, Calgary, Alberta T2Y 3S6, Canada (Southwest Calgary)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy to your Saves list
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
321rickm Edmonton, Canada
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    53
    49
    24
    26
See reviews for
81
25
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (191)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Found a live bedbug in my room, brought it to the front desk. Asked for the manager, The hotel manager rolled her eyes and said there was nothing she could do about it. Refused to. Provide me with any services or resources to ensure I didn't bring them home with me. Worst customer service I have ever experienced!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy, responded to this review

Amanda Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review the property As follow up to your recent stay , we are proud to share the events of that day. All staff and management make every effort to ensure that we offer a superior level of customer service. Upon being informed that you had concerns regarding your... More 

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was good, needed more than apples for fruit. Coffe was great. Parking lot could use signs directing you to more parking in back. Room was clean but a little dated.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words , we are happy you enjoyed your stay We would love to see you again, and wanted to let you know some exciting news We have started renovating our rooms and are looking forward to the new look More 

Magrath, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were treated very hospitably by the assistant manager-we felt the hotel was showing some signs of wear but understand there are some renovations forthcoming

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, it is super nice that you took time to let us know about your stay We are excited to be renovating with the addition of new carpets, counters and much much more We look forward to welcoming you back More 

RIVERSIDE
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Slow internet (dial-up speeds) & very spotty on the 4th floor. We changed floors/rooms & it improved. Breakfast on weekends was not impressive, low quantity or out out of eggs, bread/toast, silverware, juice, coffee, etc. However, breakfast was much better during the week. Had items stolen from my vehicle, when I asked if they could view security cameras, I was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property Super 8 Shawnessy has many security measures in place to ensure that all our guests are safe. Those measures include security walks nd well lite parking areas. Unfortunately, Calgary is a big city and the property can not control all areas of risk. We encourage all guests to not leave items... More 

Lloydminster
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Room was dirty, carpets were dirty and sheets were stained. Wifi was horrible, couldn't load a web page or even send a message. To exit via the side door you had to walk past a big barrel of stinking garbage. The breakfast was decent.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you again. We appreciate that you took time to give us the feedback.. We are happy to announce we will begin renovating the property in the New year and will be replacing carpets Thank you and Seasons Greetings!! More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

The staff wouldn't allow a 10 percent discount I had and the online application had no place to submit it. I was told I was suppose to phone the 1 800 number in the first place even though I am quite deaf. The taps in the wash rom were reversed hot and cold and the strainer wasn't set right so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property during the holiday season Super 8 is proud to be an all inclusive organization which allows for programs to ensure that even our hard of hearing customers are able to communicate with our staff. As with many programs, as a franchised property, we must follow the rules of the program as... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

it's an outdated run-down filthy excuse for a hotel. Spend the extra few dollars and look at another hotel. we stayed there for a hockey tournament and very disappointed with the room book a suite (not so much)dirty,out dated decore,pipes made noise all night, sink in the middle of the room? Poor hvac, bed room hot and living room freezing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review. It is really unfortunate that we were not made aware of any concerns during your stay. When reading your review, many of the comments do not match anything at our location , Each room has individual heat controls that include heat, fan and air conditioner. A... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I like the location and that's why I picked this hotel. It was near the YMCA gym, Walmart, Canadian Tire, Fast Food restaurants, close to the highway access, shopping, etc. The individuals that worked there were very professional & very nice to me. The morning breakfast did not have a lot of selection but was adequate for what I wanted.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monica S, General Manager at Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy

Address: 60 Shawville Rd, Calgary, Alberta T2Y 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Calgary / Shawnessy Hotel Calgary
Super 8 Calgary
Super Eight Calgary
Calgary Super 8
Calgary Super Eight
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Calgary

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay