We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Arts

3.5 of 5
119 12th Avenue Southwest, Calgary, Alberta T2R 0G8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arts
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Arts
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
24
Solo
0
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent 5 days at Hotel Arts on business. This was a great place to stay - quiet, but central. I had a luxury room, so newly renovated and very nice. We ate many meals there as well as part of the meeting and the food was really good. Breakfasts in the restaurant were varied and also good. The fitness area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weyburn, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is fantastic!!!!!! The beds are out of this world, I want one For home! The location is great and convenient for a downtown stay. We didn't have any meals at the hotel but the restaurants were full. Would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed in lots of hotels in Calgary, none have the edge and style that I experienced at Hotel Arts. Funky lobby, great bar and restaurant and the rooms were designed with a modern edge. Everything about it made me forget I was on a business trip. Well Done.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently stayed in Hotel Arts during a business trip to Calgary. The hotel is centrally located, although a cab ride to decent restaurants and night life. The hotel room was spacious and looked to be recently refurbished. The only complaint was that the heating system was extremely loud when it kicked in. Also, you have to pay for WiFi, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WernaMaurer, Manager at Hotel Arts, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of Hotel Arts - word-of-mouth and feedback from frequent travelers allow us to continually grow our business and I truly appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the noise created by your heating unit - typically this is a quick fix by our maintenance department so I do recommend... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel was nice and at a good location. Lots of pubs and restaurants near by. The bar and restaurant at the Hotel are nice with higher class food, but expect to pay $8.50-$10.50 for a pint a beer while pubs nearby are $5.50-$7. The thing that I didn't like was, they said they had complimentary parking underground but at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WernaMaurer, Manager at Hotel Arts, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay here at Hotel Arts. I just wanted to take a moment to follow up on your concerns to ensure all fellow travelers are aware. We have several parking options here at Hotel Arts, both outdoor, underground, and valet service, and all have... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Hotel Arts during a conference that was put on by the CFA. My stay was comfortable and the room met all of my needs. The service at the front desk was speedy as well. My only complaint has to do with the wi-fi. In this day and age there is simply no reason for a hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WernaMaurer, Manager at Hotel Arts, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thank you for your review. I am so glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and our staff accommodating. I will be sure to pass on your praise! As for the WiFi charge, the $10.45 is charged per 24 hours, however, we do have a frequent guest program in place that provides, amongst other benefits such... More 

Golden, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location of this hotel is awesome, but our room only had 3 pillows ( for 2 people), the heat was impossible to turn down, there wasn't any shampoo or conditioner in our room, the shower door was crappy and off its sliders. I mentioned this to the front desk upon check out (I'd called about pillows, shampoo, etc), they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WernaMaurer, Manager at Hotel Arts, responded to this review

I would hereby like to thank you for your review, and apologize for not meeting your most basic expectations. Missing amenities and pillows, although attributed to human error, is a basic standard of our guest room cleanliness and presentation, and I assure you that we take your comments very seriously and will use them as an opportunity to coach and... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Rooms were spacious for the price we paid ($99 a night). Beds were reasonably comfortable too with a good selection of pillows. Good range of amenities in the bathroom including moisturizer for that dry winter! It's unfortunate there's no mini bar / fridge and no standard kettle but you may be able to find a way for just boiling water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WernaMaurer, Manager at Hotel Arts, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here at Hotel Arts, and I will be certain to share your commentary with our staff, as they take great pride in the experience they provide through their service and of course, our product. I wanted to make sure that you are aware, for future stays, that we... More 

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I stayed in the King Suite and it was well appointed, but the design was terrible. I just can't understand after going through such a large renovation how the room designs were done with such wasted space. There was a very large space wasted in front of the closet with a stub wall that served no purpose at all. Complete... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WernaMaurer, Manager at Hotel Arts, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your candid review of your most recent stays in our Luxury Suites. Although we did complete a $7M renovation last year, we did not change the original layout of our rooms, including our suites, but instead, worked with the existing architecture. That being said, there is no excuse for poor maintenance and as such, we... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

All aspects of the hotel are amazing. The vibe was fantastic and the food was outstanding. The decor was beautiful and ultra clean. Location was great, steps away from everything. We will definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (90)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question