We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Arts

119 12th Avenue Southwest, Calgary, Alberta T2R 0G8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arts
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Arts
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
23
1
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Recently stayed in Hotel Arts during a business trip to Calgary. The hotel is centrally located, although a cab ride to decent restaurants and night life. The hotel room was spacious and looked to be recently refurbished. The only complaint was that the heating system was extremely loud when it kicked in. Also, you have to pay for WiFi, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WernaMaurer, Manager at Hotel Arts, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of Hotel Arts - word-of-mouth and feedback from frequent travelers allow us to continually grow our business and I truly appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the noise created by your heating unit - typically this is a quick fix by our maintenance department so I do recommend... More 

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Friendly Doormen Fantastic Food Elegant Surroundings Location is in the Downtown Core Modern Rooms with Five Star Service by Enthusiastic Polite Happy Staff Great Place to Relax and get some Business done and enjoy yourself

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel was nice and at a good location. Lots of pubs and restaurants near by. The bar and restaurant at the Hotel are nice with higher class food, but expect to pay $8.50-$10.50 for a pint a beer while pubs nearby are $5.50-$7. The thing that I didn't like was, they said they had complimentary parking underground but at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WernaMaurer, Manager at Hotel Arts, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay here at Hotel Arts. I just wanted to take a moment to follow up on your concerns to ensure all fellow travelers are aware. We have several parking options here at Hotel Arts, both outdoor, underground, and valet service, and all have... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Hotel Arts during a conference that was put on by the CFA. My stay was comfortable and the room met all of my needs. The service at the front desk was speedy as well. My only complaint has to do with the wi-fi. In this day and age there is simply no reason for a hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WernaMaurer, Manager at Hotel Arts, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thank you for your review. I am so glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and our staff accommodating. I will be sure to pass on your praise! As for the WiFi charge, the $10.45 is charged per 24 hours, however, we do have a frequent guest program in place that provides, amongst other benefits such... More 

Golden, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location of this hotel is awesome, but our room only had 3 pillows ( for 2 people), the heat was impossible to turn down, there wasn't any shampoo or conditioner in our room, the shower door was crappy and off its sliders. I mentioned this to the front desk upon check out (I'd called about pillows, shampoo, etc), they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WernaMaurer, Manager at Hotel Arts, responded to this review

I would hereby like to thank you for your review, and apologize for not meeting your most basic expectations. Missing amenities and pillows, although attributed to human error, is a basic standard of our guest room cleanliness and presentation, and I assure you that we take your comments very seriously and will use them as an opportunity to coach and... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were spacious for the price we paid ($99 a night). Beds were reasonably comfortable too with a good selection of pillows. Good range of amenities in the bathroom including moisturizer for that dry winter! It's unfortunate there's no mini bar / fridge and no standard kettle but you may be able to find a way for just boiling water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WernaMaurer, Manager at Hotel Arts, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here at Hotel Arts, and I will be certain to share your commentary with our staff, as they take great pride in the experience they provide through their service and of course, our product. I wanted to make sure that you are aware, for future stays, that we... More 

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the King Suite and it was well appointed, but the design was terrible. I just can't understand after going through such a large renovation how the room designs were done with such wasted space. There was a very large space wasted in front of the closet with a stub wall that served no purpose at all. Complete... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WernaMaurer, Manager at Hotel Arts, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your candid review of your most recent stays in our Luxury Suites. Although we did complete a $7M renovation last year, we did not change the original layout of our rooms, including our suites, but instead, worked with the existing architecture. That being said, there is no excuse for poor maintenance and as such, we... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All aspects of the hotel are amazing. The vibe was fantastic and the food was outstanding. The decor was beautiful and ultra clean. Location was great, steps away from everything. We will definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very convenient to walk to the Saddledome. Close proximity to a variety of pubs and restaurants. Decor was well chosen. We would recommend an upgrade from the standard king room. Friendly staff was very much appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located in downtown Calgary and was handy to where I was working. It has recently completed a CAD7 million overhaul and the decor is very art decore. As with many North American hotels Hotel Arts seems to miss some of the basic requirements of the European traveller. Reception was efficient although it was pointed out that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WernaMaurer, Manager at Hotel Arts, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Hotel Arts. I apologize if we did not meet your basic expectations, and I assure you that we will make every effort to improve our services based on your comments. Your early arrival should not have been a concern as long as the room type you were booked... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (90)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question