We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge South

Hotel website
Hotel deals
7505 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L8, Canada
Special Offer
Stay Twice = Gift Card
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge South
Econo Lodge South
Econo Lodge South
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    46
    18
    16
    10
See reviews for
26
24
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed here many times! It is very close to chinook mall, and not too far to ikea and the big box stores. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean and it even comes with a continental breakfast. . I stayed here with my mom when my youngest was only a couple months old and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booking online for 2 nights said needed by hospital day surgery , but was able to go home , 2 nights not needed , checked out, But can not get refund for second night not stayed, Too Bad So Sad Sucka,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first time we stayed at this property, we were very pleased. The room was clean and had had some updates done to it. We were in the main part of the building, close to the front desk. The second time we stayed, we were in one of the rooms with an outside door. The updates were not done as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were given the last room available which may have been the problem. The room was in need of a lot of work. Dirty and stained. Bed was clean. Mouldy fruit in the breakfast room. Very disappointed especially after seeing other guests reviews and pictures. Would not stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

As my title indicates, I have stayed at this hotel once before (reviewed June 29, 2014). This time around (April 15th – 16th) I was still relatively pleased with my stay, although, the lacks of tongs for the included breakfast still seem to be a problem (as pointed out in my previous review). Two tongs are not sufficient when there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued business and kind words. We always like to hear about the positive and negative aspects of your stay so we can make our hotel better for you. As per your request, we have added more tongs for the breakfast area so there is no mixing between items and an added cleanliness. We hope to see... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

To be honest, I booked this hotel just for the price. I was on a longer stay so wanted to keep the costs low. But the hotel was surprisingly good. It is professionally maintained and clean. Took a room with the kitchenette and it was very convenient. Beds are well made and linens are clean. The hotel is far from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

We always appreciate feedback on your stay. Our front desk is available 24 hours a day to respond to any problems you may have. We have made sure the Wi-Fi is continually up to speed so there is no more lagging for our guests. I am happy to hear the front desk assisted you immediately! We are working toward the... More 

Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and found it to be quiet and comfortable. A good value for the cost. The only complaint was that the housekeeping staff should be taught how to use a dust cloth. I dusted the lamps and bed headboards myself. The shower head in the bathroom of room number 114 is badly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

I am glad to hear you had a quiet stay. We are always happy to receive feedback from our guests! We take room cleanliness seriously, so as per your review, we have upgraded the dusting methods our housekeepers use so we can eliminate as much dust as possible. We have also looked at the showerhead from the room and changed... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

The room was very clean and comfortable wished we could have stayed longer. As well as it was pet friendly. The swimming pool was well kept as well. The continental breakfast was excellent . If we were to come back to Cagary we would certainly stay here

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words! We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I stayed here three nights, and I'd certainly stay another three. The hotel's prices are probably about as good as you'll get in Calgary. The location is great, as several shopping malls are nearby, and other outlet centres are there as well. I had a room with one king bed at the lower level of the hotel, and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We always try giving the best value possible to our guests! We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Strathmore, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015 via mobile

We were going to the Tragically Hip concert and decided to leave the little one with family and enjoy an entire night out. We really only needed a place to sleep, and I just could not justify the OUTRAGEOUS prices of a bed in some very average hotels along McLeod and downtown (we know Calgary well although we live outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay