We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge South

Hotel website
Hotel deals
7505 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L8, Canada
Special Offer
Stay Twice = Gift Card
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge South
Econo Lodge South
Econo Lodge South
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    47
    19
    16
    11
See reviews for
28
24
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I booked my room months ago for Stampede July 3-12th, 2015 at a rate of $125.99 for a specific room. Yesterday I got an email saying because it's during Stampede they will not be honouring my reservation and they can rebook me at the rate of $259.99 for my room. It doesn't matter that I have booked it with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edmonton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fairly decent room for the price. Stayed two nights with the usual late night party noise outside the room next door. Not-accessible friendly, i.e. no grab bars in washrooms, breakfast room upstairs, third floor, no elevator. decent wi-fi, and pool. Pet friendly - ground floor rooms with exterior access.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raymond, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were very accommodating and allowed for early check-in if I was willing to switch my room preference, which I didn't mind doing, and they were very kind about making sure I had everything I needed and were also willing and able to get me a room inside the hotel on the first floor so I didn't have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I have stayed here many times! It is very close to chinook mall, and not too far to ikea and the big box stores. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean and it even comes with a continental breakfast. . I stayed here with my mom when my youngest was only a couple months old and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Booking online for 2 nights said needed by hospital day surgery , but was able to go home , 2 nights not needed , checked out, But can not get refund for second night not stayed, Too Bad So Sad Sucka,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

The first time we stayed at this property, we were very pleased. The room was clean and had had some updates done to it. We were in the main part of the building, close to the front desk. The second time we stayed, we were in one of the rooms with an outside door. The updates were not done as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We were given the last room available which may have been the problem. The room was in need of a lot of work. Dirty and stained. Bed was clean. Mouldy fruit in the breakfast room. Very disappointed especially after seeing other guests reviews and pictures. Would not stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

As my title indicates, I have stayed at this hotel once before (reviewed June 29, 2014). This time around (April 15th – 16th) I was still relatively pleased with my stay, although, the lacks of tongs for the included breakfast still seem to be a problem (as pointed out in my previous review). Two tongs are not sufficient when there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued business and kind words. We always like to hear about the positive and negative aspects of your stay so we can make our hotel better for you. As per your request, we have added more tongs for the breakfast area so there is no mixing between items and an added cleanliness. We hope to see... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

To be honest, I booked this hotel just for the price. I was on a longer stay so wanted to keep the costs low. But the hotel was surprisingly good. It is professionally maintained and clean. Took a room with the kitchenette and it was very convenient. Beds are well made and linens are clean. The hotel is far from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

We always appreciate feedback on your stay. Our front desk is available 24 hours a day to respond to any problems you may have. We have made sure the Wi-Fi is continually up to speed so there is no more lagging for our guests. I am happy to hear the front desk assisted you immediately! We are working toward the... More 

Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and found it to be quiet and comfortable. A good value for the cost. The only complaint was that the housekeeping staff should be taught how to use a dust cloth. I dusted the lamps and bed headboards myself. The shower head in the bathroom of room number 114 is badly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

I am glad to hear you had a quiet stay. We are always happy to receive feedback from our guests! We take room cleanliness seriously, so as per your review, we have upgraded the dusting methods our housekeepers use so we can eliminate as much dust as possible. We have also looked at the showerhead from the room and changed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay