We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge South

Hotel website
Hotel deals
7505 Macleod Trail South, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0L8, Canada
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge South
Econo Lodge South
Econo Lodge South
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    45
    16
    16
    10
See reviews for
23
24
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were given the last room available which may have been the problem. The room was in need of a lot of work. Dirty and stained. Bed was clean. Mouldy fruit in the breakfast room. Very disappointed especially after seeing other guests reviews and pictures. Would not stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As my title indicates, I have stayed at this hotel once before (reviewed June 29, 2014). This time around (April 15th – 16th) I was still relatively pleased with my stay, although, the lacks of tongs for the included breakfast still seem to be a problem (as pointed out in my previous review). Two tongs are not sufficient when there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued business and kind words. We always like to hear about the positive and negative aspects of your stay so we can make our hotel better for you. As per your request, we have added more tongs for the breakfast area so there is no mixing between items and an added cleanliness. We hope to see... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To be honest, I booked this hotel just for the price. I was on a longer stay so wanted to keep the costs low. But the hotel was surprisingly good. It is professionally maintained and clean. Took a room with the kitchenette and it was very convenient. Beds are well made and linens are clean. The hotel is far from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

We always appreciate feedback on your stay. Our front desk is available 24 hours a day to respond to any problems you may have. We have made sure the Wi-Fi is continually up to speed so there is no more lagging for our guests. I am happy to hear the front desk assisted you immediately! We are working toward the... More 

Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and found it to be quiet and comfortable. A good value for the cost. The only complaint was that the housekeeping staff should be taught how to use a dust cloth. I dusted the lamps and bed headboards myself. The shower head in the bathroom of room number 114 is badly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

I am glad to hear you had a quiet stay. We are always happy to receive feedback from our guests! We take room cleanliness seriously, so as per your review, we have upgraded the dusting methods our housekeepers use so we can eliminate as much dust as possible. We have also looked at the showerhead from the room and changed... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

The room was very clean and comfortable wished we could have stayed longer. As well as it was pet friendly. The swimming pool was well kept as well. The continental breakfast was excellent . If we were to come back to Cagary we would certainly stay here

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words! We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I stayed here three nights, and I'd certainly stay another three. The hotel's prices are probably about as good as you'll get in Calgary. The location is great, as several shopping malls are nearby, and other outlet centres are there as well. I had a room with one king bed at the lower level of the hotel, and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoLodgeCalgary, Manager at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We always try giving the best value possible to our guests! We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Strathmore, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015 via mobile

We were going to the Tragically Hip concert and decided to leave the little one with family and enjoy an entire night out. We really only needed a place to sleep, and I just could not justify the OUTRAGEOUS prices of a bed in some very average hotels along McLeod and downtown (we know Calgary well although we live outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Part of the hotel is a motel under renovation. I was given a king bed room at the end the dilapidated floor. Service from front desk is terrible. When I called to say that it is chilly and I needed help with the thermostat, I was told "figure it out yourself. Why do you need someone to come up and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spruce Grove, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I stayed here for nine nights while taking a course in Calgary. It was one of the less expensive places to stay in town, and close to where i was taking the course so i chose to stay here. In the nine nights I would have to say 8 out of the 9 nights i slept quite well. The first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I stay at this hotel frequently. Rooms are better than expected in some cases if you get a recently renovated one. Has pool, weight room, office nook, large continental breakfast area. Staff is friendly. Great Filipino restaurant next door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question