We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ramada Calgary Downtown

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
708 8th Avenue South West, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1H2, Canada
Ramada Calgary Downtown
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #70 of 106 Hotels in Calgary
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015
Breanne D Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    82
    122
    138
    68
    52
See reviews for
41
89
50
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (462)
  • Mar-May only
    (101)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
There are newer reviews for Ramada Calgary Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

A group of friends came here to enjoy Calgary we booked this room because of the central location. The location was great and the staff at the front desk were very helpful, especially the gentleman working the night shift. The room was basic not perfect but exactly what we were looking for. We used the valet parking which was quick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Manager_YYC, General Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Breanne D, thank you for leaving an online review of our property on Trip Advisor. Our centralized location in Downtown Calgary is a huge benefit for guests looking to stay in the Downtown core, close to attractions and restaurants. We look forward to hosting you again! Thank you, Assistant General Manager More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Me and my boyfriend stayed here this past weekend and it was beyond what we were expected after reading some reviews on the drive down. We booked 1 queen bed room and I called earlier in the week and asked for one of the newly renovated rooms (there is only 4) and we were surprised when we opened the door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Manager_YYC, General Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

chelsmaxwell, we love to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We are so happy that you chose to stay with us and take advantage to our renovated rooms and great valet parking. When traveling from Edmonton again, we would love have you again. Hope we become your 2nd home! Assistant General Manager More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

i booked this hotel about 2 weeks before I arrived in Calgary, so the price was reasonable. The room itself could have used an update. I had a Room in the front, but was high enough where I did not hear too much street noise. It was a bit too cold to take advantage of the balcony. The staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Manager_YYC, General Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Hello 53Ruta_R, Many things have changed at our property since your stay in November 2012. We have a bring new pub and lounge, new beds and case goods in the rooms, as well as many upgrades to our common areas. We hope that you will visit us next time you are in Calgary to experience all the great changes! Hope... More 

Presezzo, Italy
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The location is right in downlown close to all main Oil & Gas Companies. What a pity for lack of rennovation for Reception & Rooms especially for bathrooms. Room was clean and spacious, Matress old. Price high for hotel conditions. Hope Management will consider restructing to consider returning next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Manager_YYC, General Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

AMASULL, thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your concerns and look forward to improving our product every way possible for our guests. Our beds are only 1 year old, and often get high praise from our guests, so I am sorry to hear you did not find them comfortable. Thank you, Assistant General Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

This Hotel needed a makeover. The decor was outdated but clean. Dark and shabby. The bathroom in our suite had no air venting and was very moist following a shower. You couldn't use the mirror. The paint was peeling off behind the door in the bathroom. No facility for making a hot drink in room. No fridge in room either... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Manager_YYC, General Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Hello travelmid, Thank you for reviewing our property. We appreciate your comments and will address your room concerns with our maintenance department. We do have fan in the washroom that run when the light is on. They are central vac and may be confused with no having any because they do not have a switch. Fridges are available upon request... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

I was here during Stampede week, so rooms were at a premium at $320 (!). Stayed on the 9th floor. There was virtually no air conditioning. (It was 31 degrees outside but my room was only 24 degrees the whole time, so I say virtually). After an entire day and half of hoping the temp would adjust I called the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Manager_YYC, General Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Our deepest apologies that the room was too hot during your stay babinni. During the Calgary Stampede period, we had an issue with our A/C that resulted in many rooms overheating due to the extreme 30+ degree temperature outside. We did get you a fan to help alleviate some of the hot air, but we understand your concern. We have... More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Not exactly happy, booked one night during stampede, a little over $400/night for 2 doubles. The beds were comfortable, but only doubles. Room small and extremely dated. Bathroom door would not close without lowering your shoulder into it. A/C did not work, room never got below 80 degrees all night, set as low as it could go, called front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Manager_YYC, General Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Joker1412, I appreciate that you have reached out to us about your stay during the Calgary Stampede at our property. Unfortunately, we did have an A/C issue during that time, which is difficult being we are completely sold out. We tried to combat the situation by purchasing high power fans for our guest rooms that help alleviate the high... More 

Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

The room pictured above is bright and airy. Ours was dark and shabby. It appears that the public spaces (lobby, halls) are in the process of renovation, but our room hadn't been upgraded in many years - peeling paint, chipped furniture, thin towels, lumpy pillows - all for a ridiculously high price since our 1-night stay was right in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_Manager_YYC, General Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Dear JillClardy, I am so sorry to hear about your poor breakfast experience at the hotel. We have high standards for the quality of product that gets presented, and I am disappointed to hear that our staff was microwaving anything to bring it to an appropriate temperature. I will bring this forward to our head chef and make sure that... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

I have stayed at the Ramada in downtown Calgary a couple of time over the past few months. Once was for business and the other for a relaxing weekend. Although an older hotel, it is well maintained and rooms are comfortable. Staff were friendly, helpful and served patrons very well. The outdoor pool, located on the third floor rooftop is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel_Manager_YYC, General Manager at Ramada Calgary Downtown, responded to this review

Dean L, we are so happy that you have became a regular guest at our property. The beautiful 3rd floor rooftop pool is a great way to beat the summer heat and I am glad that enjoy your time spent there. Thank you for making yourself a part of out Ramada team and we cant wait to see you soon!... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Regency Suites Calgary
#49 of 106 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delta Bow Valley Hotel
#31 of 106 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#63 of 106 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay