We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Motel Village

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2440 16 Ave. N.W., Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Motel Village
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    17
    27
    18
    28
See reviews for
15
25
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked a room that was pet friendly. Stayed on the main floor - it was disgusting !! Don't waste your time with this hotel.. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls, room stunk, carpet was filthy. Breakfast area is small and not good. No orange juice in dispenser that said for breakfast only !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the dirtiest motel we had ever stayed in. And the front desk staff was horrible. Our room smelled so bad we had to buy fabreeze for the carpets and furniture. Switching motels was not an option as we paid with points and couldn't have the reservation switched elsewhere. The tiles in the washroom were cracked and lifting and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoInnsSuites, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. I apologize that there were some issues with your room. According to our records you stayed for many days, however at no point during your stay were your issues brought to our attention. While we are sorry that the rooms was not to your satisfaction, if we... More 

North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I laughed when I read the one about the smoke alarms. The last thing I worry about when travelling is a damn smoke detector, unless the battery is dead and the thing chirps all night. Easy fix, pull out the battery and let them know in the morning. It's an Econo Lodge people! The room was in our price range.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with us and thanks for the morning chuckle! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your comments regarding Choice Hotels Easy Starts Breakfast are noted and passed onto Head Office. We look forward to providing you with the same EconoLodge accommodations the next time you come to... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

When we first arrived the staff were friendly and kind. Rooms were very dated and smelled some what. Our second night we had some issues with our fire alarms, which in fact did not work. When at the front desk trying to get a working alarm/ new battery, they had to look in three different room before finding one that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your comments to TripAdvisor. We are very disappointed to hear that you felt unsafe and lied to regarding your room; however as we stated in your original complaint to the hotel we are mandated by Fire Regulations to have our entire property inspected annually and in fact we have our property inspected twice a year because... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We got to this hotel late and the front staff was very nice. Sadly that is where the good times ended. It is old and our room smelled. The beds were very uncomfortable and each time anyone moves the bed would squeak and grown loudly and pillows were very lumpy. We could hear the people in the next rooms banging... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay and hope that the next time you come to Calgary during Stampede you are able to find more suitable accommodations in your price range. Thanks again for the feedback and have a great day! More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

as a last minute late night booking this place did the job, booked for just a few hours sleep before a flight the rooms were adequate and clean, parking could have been easier but then we weren't there for long. its not plush and posh but if you just need a bed it does the job

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoInnsSuites, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to write a review about us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a simple hotel that allows travelers to spend a night, not a fortune. We look forward to your next visit. Rory Siddall EconoLodge Motel Village More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you. This is a bare bones, older hotel. However, I found the staff to be exceptionally welcoming and the hotel clean and quiet. I have stayed there twice now, and I will use the hotel again. The hotel is also in walking distance (basically less than two blocks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our economy accomodations and we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Shaunavon
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

We were in the city for medical appointments. The medical discount was appreciated. Room was clean and comfortable. The lock on the room was difficult to work as it had been damaged. The shower was short for my tall husband. I appreciated the kitchenette.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that we met your needs and we were able to show you a great stay. We hope to be able to meet your needs the next time you come to Calgary. Have a great day! More 

Saskatoon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days. The location is prime and the room was satisfactory. Our main concern centred on the front desk personnel.When we checked in, the female was cheery, friendly (Suriya) and helpful.However, it went downhill from there. It was impossible to get a good morning out of the early front desk staff.One of them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EconoInnsSuites, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about us. I'm happy to hear that you thought Suriya was a delight, I'll be sure to let her know. The goal of our hotel is to provide dependable to service to all of our guests, and I'm truly sorry to hear that the remainder of your... More 

Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I've stayed here before, and am delighted with new appliances and electronics. The clock radio works (unlike at other hotels). Space and temperature are fine. TV is new, but definition is not really high. If you're over 6 feet, you may bump your head in the shower. Staff were great; breakfast decent continental. Cleanliness just fine. Close to LRT, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We're happy to hear you like our new upgrades and can't wait to show you an even better stay the next time you come! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#84 of 106 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#39 of 106 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay