We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Motel Village

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2440 16 Ave. N.W., Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Motel Village
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

Looking at the reviews here, I was a little worried. But this is a BUDGET motel stay. Our room was well-appointed with a small kitchenette, comfortable beds, chairs, desk and large bathroom. While it wasn't the prettiest motel ever, the rooms were slightly updated and held 3 adults easily for 2 nights. Our biggest complaints were a warm room, which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alliston F
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We're always happy when our guests have enjoyed the value of our accommodations. We are an older property and individual heat in the rooms is not possible; however we are working on the smoking issues you mentioned and hopefully the next time you come to Calgary we can show you a more pleasant stay... More 

Edmonton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

I have stayed here before, but never my hotel of choice. Mostly because the quality of the Wi-Fi. That has changed. The Wi-Fi is a decent speed now. Not fast but decent. Upon check-out, I made the comment. They said more improvements coming.

Helpful?
Thank Allen K
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to see that our improvements are making your stay with us more enjoyable and we hope to have the chance to serve your accommodation needs the next time you come to Calgary! More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

I stayed for 10 days in this after my arrival to Canada, This place lacks any management at all and they do not care about customers nor their health , and when I complained I was asked to leave the hotel and was threatened my security deposit would be taken, my pregnant wife got very sick because we stayed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Khaled25a
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your opinion to Tripadvisor. We take issue with your comments and would like to take this opportunity to clarify what actually happened during your 13 day stay with us. According to our records your original reservation was booked through a 3rd party website on Sept 15th at 6am for same day arrival on Sept 15th and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

You get what you pay for and I've stayed in some absolute dumps for more money. I really like the fact that Econolodge accepts cash deposits as its difficult to find hotels which offer this. The rooms were clean to standard. Pillows were super comfy. They offer burners, pots and utensils, ect for your convenience. I really enjoyed the complementary... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nikki D
EconoInnsSuites, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about us, we really appreciate your feedback and I'm sure your fellow travelers appreciate it as well :) It sounds like you were in one of our efficiency kitchenette rooms, we have a mix of standard and kitchenettes. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our pillows,... More 

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

Booked a room that was pet friendly. Stayed on the main floor - it was disgusting !! Don't waste your time with this hotel.. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls, room stunk, carpet was filthy. Breakfast area is small and not good. No orange juice in dispenser that said for breakfast only !

Helpful?
1 Thank Peterl516_13
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we're sorry to learn you were disappointed with your room. We are suprised by your comments as no mention of any issues with your room were reported to our 24 hour front desk and as such we assumed your room was acceptable and met your needs... More 

Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

This was the dirtiest motel we had ever stayed in. And the front desk staff was horrible. Our room smelled so bad we had to buy fabreeze for the carpets and furniture. Switching motels was not an option as we paid with points and couldn't have the reservation switched elsewhere. The tiles in the washroom were cracked and lifting and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaJean86
EconoInnsSuites, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. I apologize that there were some issues with your room. According to our records you stayed for many days, however at no point during your stay were your issues brought to our attention. While we are sorry that the rooms was not to your satisfaction, if we... More 

North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I laughed when I read the one about the smoke alarms. The last thing I worry about when travelling is a damn smoke detector, unless the battery is dead and the thing chirps all night. Easy fix, pull out the battery and let them know in the morning. It's an Econo Lodge people! The room was in our price range.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Murray C
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with us and thanks for the morning chuckle! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your comments regarding Choice Hotels Easy Starts Breakfast are noted and passed onto Head Office. We look forward to providing you with the same EconoLodge accommodations the next time you come to... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

When we first arrived the staff were friendly and kind. Rooms were very dated and smelled some what. Our second night we had some issues with our fire alarms, which in fact did not work. When at the front desk trying to get a working alarm/ new battery, they had to look in three different room before finding one that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri O
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your comments to TripAdvisor. We are very disappointed to hear that you felt unsafe and lied to regarding your room; however as we stated in your original complaint to the hotel we are mandated by Fire Regulations to have our entire property inspected annually and in fact we have our property inspected twice a year because... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

We got to this hotel late and the front staff was very nice. Sadly that is where the good times ended. It is old and our room smelled. The beds were very uncomfortable and each time anyone moves the bed would squeak and grown loudly and pillows were very lumpy. We could hear the people in the next rooms banging... More 

Helpful?
Thank jadeboi
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay and hope that the next time you come to Calgary during Stampede you are able to find more suitable accommodations in your price range. Thanks again for the feedback and have a great day! More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

as a last minute late night booking this place did the job, booked for just a few hours sleep before a flight the rooms were adequate and clean, parking could have been easier but then we weren't there for long. its not plush and posh but if you just need a bed it does the job

Helpful?
Thank kingdave82
EconoInnsSuites, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Motel Village, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to write a review about us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a simple hotel that allows travelers to spend a night, not a fortune. We look forward to your next visit. Rory Siddall EconoLodge Motel Village More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#33 of 107 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#87 of 107 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay