We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Calgary hotels

Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1316 33rd Street N.E., Calgary, Alberta T2A 6B6, Canada (Northeast Calgary)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
53%
Ranked #65 of 98 hotels in Calgary
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
pliem50 Victoria, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (203)
  • Photos (41)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (38)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    69
    52
    24
    22
See reviews for
42
29
19
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comox, BC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel definitely does not live up to the Coast standard. Our non-smoking rooms did not smell very good and the carpet throughout is stained and needing to be shampooed or replaced. We arrived late and hungry so ordered room service. At $17, the steak sandwich was a small, overcooked piece of meat on a sad piece of bread and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I typically do not leave negative reviews but the issues i have experienced with this hotel warrent a warning to fellow travellers. We booked our room through Hotwire, a site that I have had relitave good luck with. The Hotwire rating was three stars, well above what this hotel deserves. The hotel staff claim they are in the middle of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on the hotel. As you mentioned in your comments, the hotel is under renovation and at the current time is specific to the main floor and lobby area. To date we have completed the flooring, lighting, new fireplace and décor, decorative brick work, and this week all walls throughout the... More

Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After calling from the Calgary airport, the hotel shuttle picked us up quickly and dropped us at the hotel, free of charge. From the reviews, we were warned that the renovations were underway. Luckily we got a room on the 3rd floor, so we could use the stairs, since it took a long time for the elevator to come. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and comments on your experience while staying with us. Our current renovations will be completed by mid to late October and all elevators will once again be completely functional More

Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was here for a 4 night visit. It too 3 rooms before I could find a room that was inhabitable. The first room had Cheetos and popcorn on the floor, someone's nail clippings on the desk chair, and to top it off, the fridge didn't work. I asked for a new room. The second room was "ok" until I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your experience with the hotel and we do apologize. Renovations are certainly not our excuse and I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further. I invite you to contact me directly at jgodfrey@calgaryplaza.com . More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my friends were here for vacation and also a photo shoot. Outside the city is full of nature especially in Banff. Tommy checked us in and gave us a couple things we could do in the city. He was great to talk to and made us all laugh! Wish he could of came out that night and partied... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you are enjoying the sights of Alberta. We do have a night club at the hotel it is open Friday and Saturday evenings only. We will be sure to share your comments with Tommy, he is a great asset... More

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in this city. Yes.. the hotel is cheap but the quality of rooms is cheapest. Old ripped carpet, 80's themed washrooms, NO HVAC, rooms above 26 degrees, worst staff.. cant imagine this is hotel is running. Elevators were not working, we had to take stairs to 5th floor with luggage and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on the hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns further, and invite you to contact me directly at jgodfrey@calgaryplaza.com The hotel is undergoing renovations, the elevators are part of this project and... More

Trail, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in the morning before our flight to Calgary to ensure there would be a shuttle from the airport. We were told to be there for pickup at 2:30 and we arrived at the pickup bay at 2:15. We waited until 2:45 before we called the front desk and they assured us the shuttle was on the way. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments, and apologize for the issue with our shuttle service. This situation is being addressed with our Front Desk and shuttle team. The elevators are currently being modernized and we anticipate this project being completed by the end of October. We do appreciate our guests patience during this time. There are two shopping malls to the north... More

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here last night as we were in town to attend a concert. Choice in Calgary was limited and the price was right through Expedia which is why I booked the Coast Plaza. The hotel is undergoing major renovations, it looks a bit like a building site but it did not interfere with our stay. Plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are under renovation on the main floor as well as our elevators, entrances and exits. We do hope to have the renovations completed by mid October and hope you will come back and try us again. More

Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

They front desk welcome you and there is juice and water available beside the front desk and offer you a free shuttle that runs ever hour (not earlier or later) even if a million people are waiting from the airport and back. The room itself is nice but the bathroom needs to be renovated. My bathroom smelt like smoke and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing your comments on the hotel. Our complimentary airport shuttle does run every hour to the airport. We are sorry to hear about your experience in our restaurant, and have shared your comments with our Chef and Restaurant Manager who have addressed the issues with their staff. More

Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I and my wife stayed one night at this hotel. Our room was ecellent. well furnished with two queen beds and large screen TV with choice of multiple channels. The staff was cordial. Lounge area is very Good. The hotel is going through renovations and because of this some noise. We enjoyed our stay . THe price was very resonable.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeannie G, Director of Sales at Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have shared your comments with our team and hope to see you again in the near future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1316 33rd Street N.E., Calgary, Alberta T2A 6B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Plaza Hotel And Conference Centre
Coast Plaza Calgary

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Calgary with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
248

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Coast Plaza Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer