We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Calgary University

Hotel website
2227 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly "Holiday Inn Express")
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Travelodge Calgary University
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

I always stay at this hotel because it's newly renovated and a good value for the price when compared to other high end competition. Two complaints this time: The internet password didn't work and the night front desk couldn't help. My other issue was that the tv channel selection is poor. If you love sports, you may want to think... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank okafor77
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hi okafor77, I am glad you took the time to write about our property and thank you very much for giving us your feedback about the internet and the channels. I wonder what happened with the wifi. We have a brand new system and it is pretty easy to log in, user friendly and it is awesome. I will check... More 

Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

Room was nice and clean but overly warm. I couldn't open the window or figure out how to reduce the temp (thermostat didn't seem to affect it at all). The mattress was okay but not great. I wouldn't want to sleep on it for long. Service was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good and the hotel was quiet.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank I8273FYchristineh
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hello I8273FYchristineh, I am so sorry you had a hard time with the window in your room, I do hope you were able to let our front desk know so our maintenance staff came to assist you! We always strive for a great service and try to make all of our guests' stay pleasant. Have a wonderful day and we... More 

Medicine Hat, Alberta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

The front desk staff were exceptional in terms of customer service however the room was tired as well as the room bedding. Breakfast was typical with nothing to rave about. Price was very affordable and definitely close to LRT and University. Closest Hotel in this area to LRT entrance is Holiday Inn which is very new...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hi Lee S, I thank you very much for your review. The building is a little old but you are right our staff is wonderful! Also our rooms are very clean which makes our property very comfortable. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

The cleanliness of the room was avarage. Overall it seems to be in a need of new flooring. they do allow dogs and there were a few including my own , so this might be why.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank neumann03
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hola neumann03, I want to thank you for you feedback in our property, it is really helpful and it really help us get better. I am sorry our cleanliness was not up to you standards, we really strive to deep clean our rooms and if you look at our trend of reviews you will notice the comments about cleanliness of... More 

Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

stayed at the Travelodge Calgary university while my husband was having surgery at foothills hospital. The staff at hotel made our stay most enjoyable under the circumstances for our stay. The rooms were very clean, hotel was relatively quiet and beds were comfortable. Nikki and Ana on the front counter were so understanding and caring towards their customers. They made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan R
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hi Dan R, You have no idea how happy this makes us. You took the time to say nothing but great things about us and you even mentioned two of our wonderful staff members. We work really hard to please all of our customers and make them feel welcome. Thank you for choosing us and thank you for letting the... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Didi in Housekeeping deserves a raise! Could not have been happier with the staff with particular emphasis on housekeeping. We were in Calgary for a funeral and I mentioned to head of housekeeping (Didi) I was thinking of moving to one of the King rooms so that I could have some relatives in for a visit (the room has a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hello Andrea R, I do remember you and your family. I want to thank you for telling the world how pleasant and friendly our hotel is.We are always looking for ways to please our customers and make them feel like they are at home. Thank you so much again and we really hope you choose to stay with us next... More 

Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days, we originally wanted to stay somewhere else, but they did not except pets, so we found this place. I was pleasantly surprised. It was clean, well supplied and friendly staff. The price was right! Our room #118 was roomy and had everything we need. Room was just a little stuffy at times but manageable.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rose S
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hola Rose S, I am so happy you took the time to write about us and let the world know what we are about! I want to also thank you for giving us your feedback about our waffle mix, that's the way we will only get better and I can assure you we will do our best to get that... More 

Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

Enjoyed hotel, friendly staff, good continental breakfast. Good for short stay, nothing fancy, but really comfortable beds, not a high star hotel, good for someone who just needs a comfortable quiet hotel to sleep and not spending a lot of time there.

Helpful?
Thank 155042Travelbug
Gustavo A, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hi 155042Travelbug, I thank you very much for taking the time to write about us. We are always striving to makes all of our guests' stay very comfortable. I am very glad you liked our property and we hope you stay with us next time you are in this beautiful city. Have a great day!!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#87 of 107 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#33 of 107 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#43 of 107 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay