We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Calgary University

2.0 of 5 2227 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly "Holiday Inn Express")
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Calgary University
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Travelodge Calgary University
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    89
    52
    24
    10
See reviews for
71
46
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (207)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Terrebonne, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for a week. The rooms like the hotel would need refreshing but are clean the hotel lobby hallways and elevator could really use a good cleaning a little freshening of the paint. Carpets in the hallway do no inspire trust but it gets cleaner in the room. The «breakfast» is ok for a day or 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamloops, British Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property is old and needs lots of upgrading. The heating system did not work in my room (it was -20). I was moved to a different where the heating barely worked.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swift Current
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

1. Sunday morning October 26/14 prior to checking out. I went outside thru a door on the side that does NOT have a lock on and when I returned I went to the front desk because I left my key upstairs. I didn't recognize the front desk girl nor could she have possibly have known who I was. I told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We chose this hotel because it was reasonably well reviews and pet friendly. Room was very large, and we found the hotel very quiet even though it was supposedly full. Décor is a bit outdated but nothing you don’t see in 90% of hotels. Room was reasonably clean, bath room had seen some wear but you could see clear effort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prince George, British Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The room was very dirty. The blanket had white spots, the office chair was very dirty will spots all over. I used reward points to pay and may be that is why I got this negative preferencial treatment. I mentioned this at checkout and the manager did not even apologize and rather argued why I did not mention it as... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TlodgeUnv, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for giving me the opportunity to speak with you over the phone in regards to your review. Of course experiences as you have described in your review are highly concerning, and I am pleased to have had the chance to address these concerns directly. As we discussed, cleanliness and great customer service are our highest priorities. We... More 

Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Nothing redeemable this hotel altho it wasn't cheap but it had a cheap attitude. Only booked it as we were on our way to British Columbia and it was close to the Trans Canada Hwy. Avoided the breakfast and went to McDonald's across the parking lot for great coffee and a muffin. Were surprised the next morning to see drug... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TlodgeUnv, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry to hear you felt our hotel has no redeemable qualities, as we take pride in running a clean, safe & inviting place for travellers to call home. Our free continental breakfast is quite large, however we are conveniently located near many great restaurants as alternate... More 

Cranbrook
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

My wife had a ning medical appointment, so we had to come to Calgary the night before. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast was more than the empty carbs and sugar served at other hotels. This hotel also offers a medical rate for those travelling because of medical reasons, making it a very reasonably-priced offering.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TlodgeUnv, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your kind words. We are always very pleased to hear we were able to provide an exceptional stay for our guests. Being so close to Foothills Hospital, we host many travellers whom are visiting for medical purposes, and we tend to be a perfect fit for their needs: Clean rooms & great compassionate service. Thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Travelodge Calgary University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Calgary University

Address: 2227 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly "Holiday Inn Express")
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Calgary University 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Calgary University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary University Hotel Calgary
Travel Lodge Calgary
Calgary Travelodge
Calgary Travel Lodge

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay