We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wicked Hostels - Calgary

1505 MacLeod Tr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2N6, Canada
Hotel amenities
Wicked Hostels - Calgary
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013
Brian H little mountain town, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    18
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
1
10
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
There are newer reviews for Wicked Hostels - Calgary
See the most recent reviews
little mountain town, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Worth every penny if you can even get a bed. Only hostel left in Calgary after the floods this summer so make sure you have a bed booked well in advance. Jeff the owner and Luke and the rest of the staff super friendly. They present Calgary very well to backpackers and make it a fun place to come. Stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Thanks mate for the wicked review! Glad you had a good time here! Cheers, Jeff More 

Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I came to this hostel when I was not having much money and I got the opportunity to work and stay there for a bit and the people there are really open-minded and I met my boyfriend there and we just celebrated our first anniversary :) I also enjoyed the big selection for breakfast and it's great they're washing your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

You are awesome!!! Thanks for the review!! Cheers, Jeff More 

Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

To preface this review, I'd like to say that my friend and I are backpackers who had been partying our way through Canada. We totally appreciate communal vibes and late night, loud fun. However we also expect cleanliness, personal space and room for our belongings - and value for money. Wicked was filthy and the tiny rooms were crammed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Obviously, the previous guest review and yourself stayed together at the hostel, so please see the previous response for my "snide comments" aka defense of my baby. But my real question is, how on earth do you know what the HI Calgary offers or what their price is. Unfortunately due to the floods they have been closed for the last... More 

Travelers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

No space for anyone to put their things, had to sleep with our suitcases on our beds because the floor was covered with people's belongings and rubbish. There were no lockers available anywhere. Maybe one of the (tiny!) dorms should be changed into a locker room. We paid $30 for an 8 bed mixed dorm - standard price at any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Really? You didn't notice the massive space under your bed to storage luggage, kitchen sinks, or elephants? As for lockers, we actually advertise that we don't have lockers, we also don't have thefts either. As for price yep its standard hasn't changed. As for fun things happening, this make me very suspicious as we have events each and every night,... More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A friend recommended this place to me and after checking out the website and its photos, I had high hopes. It started out pretty positive with a friendly and efficient staff member who endured my friends' delirious state (they had a long and random laughter fit) gracefully during check-in. He was easy-going and willing to help out. Then, he gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Thanks for the advice, unfortunately once again we are most likely not the kind of place you were looking for...we actually advertise that we are not the quiet, sterile, institutional-type hostel. Instead Wicked is full of people, laughter and fun. If you just wanted a place to quietly sleep, we could have recommend a very nice motel for you, unfortunately... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Like any hostel, this one's got its ups and downs, but I give it five because its got a really positive atmosphere. Of course, there's more than that as well. The place resembles a house with the kitchen, dining room, and common area on the first floor. Rooms are both on the first and second floors. The second floor has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, mate. Unfortunately cleanliness is really our biggest challenge as we cannot really afford someone continuously cleaning all of the time we have 3 cleaning shifts plus 1 staff cleaning shift. Glad you had a good time!! Cheers, Jeff More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would any advise any traveler to check this place out, after staying in many hostels on the West Coast of Canada this was probably the best and most relaxed one. As I came in the staff directed and showed me around the hostel to show where everything was. Free breakfast, easy to meet people, kitchen, where they also provide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

I HEART YOU, thanks for the awesome review!! Cheers, Jeff More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

hey hey, so me and my buds went to calgary and banff for the weekend. we wanted a place where we could meet others , mingle and party and this turned out to be a great choice. we arrived saturday afternoon, and we waited a bit for reception to open (its a close window that is closed if the receptionist... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Three word for you brotha! YOU ROCK DUDE!!! Thanks for the review, look forward to having you back with us!! More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had initially been booked into the HI, but had to find alternative after the flood. I called 1 week prior to staying and spoke to Jeff who was more than helpful and got me into an 8 bed mixed dorm. Yes, it's a bit crowded with bodies and luggage, but that adds to the experience. Great perks too, free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Hi, You are awesome! It was great having you with us and we'd love to have you again!! Cheers, Jeff More 

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The place is a completly mess! First we arrived and had to pay a security deposit to have the keys for the open and room door and towels, but the contradition is that they had no lockers to you put your stuffs! Came on, if we had to pay a security deposit to have towels this just seems to me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Hey mate, I suspect this is not a real review. That said, we are a backpacker hostel, in fact if you notice on our booking pages it states if you are looking for a quiet place to stay please go somewhere else as we are definitely not what you are looking for. So if you are looking for a quiet... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#3 of 102 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#1 of 102 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#38 of 102 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Palliser
#16 of 102 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay