We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wicked Hostels - Calgary

1505 MacLeod Tr SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 2N6, Canada
Hotel amenities
Wicked Hostels - Calgary
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013
Sean C Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Review This Hotel

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
9
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
There are newer reviews for Wicked Hostels - Calgary
See the most recent reviews
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

To preface this review, I'd like to say that my friend and I are backpackers who had been partying our way through Canada. We totally appreciate communal vibes and late night, loud fun. However we also expect cleanliness, personal space and room for our belongings - and value for money. Wicked was filthy and the tiny rooms were crammed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Obviously, the previous guest review and yourself stayed together at the hostel, so please see the previous response for my "snide comments" aka defense of my baby. But my real question is, how on earth do you know what the HI Calgary offers or what their price is. Unfortunately due to the floods they have been closed for the last... More 

Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

No space for anyone to put their things, had to sleep with our suitcases on our beds because the floor was covered with people's belongings and rubbish. There were no lockers available anywhere. Maybe one of the (tiny!) dorms should be changed into a locker room. We paid $30 for an 8 bed mixed dorm - standard price at any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Really? You didn't notice the massive space under your bed to storage luggage, kitchen sinks, or elephants? As for lockers, we actually advertise that we don't have lockers, we also don't have thefts either. As for price yep its standard hasn't changed. As for fun things happening, this make me very suspicious as we have events each and every night,... More 

Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had a great time at this hostel. I only wanted to stay a week at most and ended up staying almost six months. Always something to do or friendly people to hang with. I played alot of chess and guitar and there was a group of people going out every night. Not clique-y at all. Movie night hanging on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Thanks mate, I was a pleasure having you with us. Next time you're back this way pop-in and see us! Cheers, Jeff More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A friend recommended this place to me and after checking out the website and its photos, I had high hopes. It started out pretty positive with a friendly and efficient staff member who endured my friends' delirious state (they had a long and random laughter fit) gracefully during check-in. He was easy-going and willing to help out. Then, he gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Thanks for the advice, unfortunately once again we are most likely not the kind of place you were looking for...we actually advertise that we are not the quiet, sterile, institutional-type hostel. Instead Wicked is full of people, laughter and fun. If you just wanted a place to quietly sleep, we could have recommend a very nice motel for you, unfortunately... More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Like any hostel, this one's got its ups and downs, but I give it five because its got a really positive atmosphere. Of course, there's more than that as well. The place resembles a house with the kitchen, dining room, and common area on the first floor. Rooms are both on the first and second floors. The second floor has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, mate. Unfortunately cleanliness is really our biggest challenge as we cannot really afford someone continuously cleaning all of the time we have 3 cleaning shifts plus 1 staff cleaning shift. Glad you had a good time!! Cheers, Jeff More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would any advise any traveler to check this place out, after staying in many hostels on the West Coast of Canada this was probably the best and most relaxed one. As I came in the staff directed and showed me around the hostel to show where everything was. Free breakfast, easy to meet people, kitchen, where they also provide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

I HEART YOU, thanks for the awesome review!! Cheers, Jeff More 

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

hey hey, so me and my buds went to calgary and banff for the weekend. we wanted a place where we could meet others , mingle and party and this turned out to be a great choice. we arrived saturday afternoon, and we waited a bit for reception to open (its a close window that is closed if the receptionist... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Three word for you brotha! YOU ROCK DUDE!!! Thanks for the review, look forward to having you back with us!! More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had initially been booked into the HI, but had to find alternative after the flood. I called 1 week prior to staying and spoke to Jeff who was more than helpful and got me into an 8 bed mixed dorm. Yes, it's a bit crowded with bodies and luggage, but that adds to the experience. Great perks too, free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Hi, You are awesome! It was great having you with us and we'd love to have you again!! Cheers, Jeff More 

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The place is a completly mess! First we arrived and had to pay a security deposit to have the keys for the open and room door and towels, but the contradition is that they had no lockers to you put your stuffs! Came on, if we had to pay a security deposit to have towels this just seems to me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Hey mate, I suspect this is not a real review. That said, we are a backpacker hostel, in fact if you notice on our booking pages it states if you are looking for a quiet place to stay please go somewhere else as we are definitely not what you are looking for. So if you are looking for a quiet... More 

Sao Carlos, SP
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed one night and I can say this place is horrible. There are no lockers at all, the rooms are packed with beds so you almost don't have space to walk inside. But that is not the worst part. The rooms are close to the common area, so don't expect to to sleep during the night. The owner (Jeff)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
WickedHostels, Owner at Wicked Hostels - Calgary, responded to this review

Hey dude, Thanks for the review, you make the hostel sound freaking awesome - I missed the naked people though. Yeah, so if you didn't get it when you walked in - we are a backpacker hostel. We like to have fun here. Do you like fun? Guessing not but I do. Hence, if you are looking for a dorm... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question