We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Alma

Hotel website
169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alma
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Alma
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    90
    29
    22
    5
See reviews for
24
38
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The breakfast was fantastic, great choice buffet style. The hotel rooms were modern and bright. Big beds and bathrooms. There was a fridge, microwave and a coffeemaker in the room. Also a TV, iron and alarm clock. Towels were nice and clean. The service was very good for Calgary. The only disadvantage is the distance and location of the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We chose the location as it is a quiet alternative to the nearby strip of motels. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, which was spacious and well appointed with large windows overlooking the campus and Olympic Oval. Unfortunately, the bathroom counter had not been wiped down and was covered with sticky residue from last guest. We took advantage of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Dear TEDtours, we greatly appreciate your feedback about the hotel and your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious suites and breakfast in the bistro. Our housekeeping supervisor will be following up with the housekeeping team to ensure nothing is missed. We look forward to welcoming you again to Hotel Alma on your... More 

Ballina, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointing. We had a 2 Br apartment with a kitchenette which had nothing but a microwave. We don't drink coffee and asked for a kettle and were told to boil the water in the coffee maker. There was nowhere to sit and chat, had to sit on our beds to watch TV, very unsociable. The beds were very high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Dear Lesley B, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We greatly appreciate you comment your feedback about the rooms. While the 2 bedroom apartments you have booked are located in the same building as Hotel Alma, they are not part of Hotel Alma but are part of Seasonal Residence which is part of the... More 

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for one weekend at the beginning of this year and I came away impressed by the value that this property presented. I'll begin with the location because that is what brought me to this hotel in the first place. I was involved in an event at the Olympic Oval, so the location was perfect (with the exception of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Mr_Dimas-Lehndorf, thank you very much for your input and for sharing your experience at Hotel Alma on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you found many aspects of the hotel and the services provided to be superb. Our team is always here to assist guests and work hard to make each... More 

Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was very thrilled by convenient location. My meeting was in same building. Room was VERY small. Nice to be able to open a window though. Kept stubbing my toes on wooden box frame bed was on. Would be back only for university business solo. Very helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Joy B, we are happy to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and that you are thrilled by the location of the hotel. Our staff work hard to provide excellent service to all our guests and help in any way possible. The location of Hotel Alma makes it very convenient for guests coming to the University... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Booked 2 rooms here in Feb 2015. The rooms were well appointed and clean. Staff were friendly & helpful at check in/out. Those were the positives... On the negative side, however, the rooms are small. Like REALLY small, even by European standards, for example. Felt a tad claustrophobic, but fortunately we weren't in it long. The couple we came with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello thegeislers, we appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Alma. It’s great to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and we definitely strive to provide excellent customer service! The Eurostyle rooms are our basic standard rooms. For your next trip, please consider our One Bedroom Suites which are more spacious and offer a bedroom with... More 

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

This hotel has been used by the university guests and visiting lectures as it's located at the campus. In general it's OK. Prices are decent and the standard is fine. Not over exciting but I don't think it's meant to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Alexloewenau, Thank you for sharing your review of Hotel Alma on Trip Advisor! Hotel Alma caters to a variety of guests including visitors of the University of Calgary and guest lecturers. It is definitely convenient for anyone with business on campus and nearby. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope to welcome you to campus again in... More 

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

I had to make a last second reservation for the weekend and ended up with Hotel Alma because of its location. On the U of C campus, it was only a few minutes away from a wedding I was to attend. I can see the location being very convenient and being a real upside for the place potentially. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Thank you Devin H for taking the time to review Hotel Alma on your most recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your comments on the service provided by team Alma. Whether you are attending a wedding or a conference or just visiting the city, we try our... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Okay. So I stay at tons of hotels in Calgary, and if you don't need to be on Calgary's university campus, don't bother staying here. While the décor is modern and nice, the rooms are very tiny. They don't let you print things for free (like most hotels do), and on top of that, you have to pay for parking,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello missmac2014 Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Alma experience. Hotel Alma does offer many complimentary services not offered by many other hotels such as breakfast, Internet access, local and long distance calling within continental North America, access to a world class fitness facility, Olympic size swimming pool and the Olympic Oval with many other services at discounted... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for convenience, as we were going to a show at the student union. We were pleasantly surprised, everything was modern - the hotel had been decorated to a high standard and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the complimentary breakfast was excellent with a good choice of fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Thank you Katie T for taking the time to review Hotel Alma on your most recent stay & for giving us an excellent rating!! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your comments on the service provided by team Alma. We are very proud of our team and the services... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities