We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Calgary hotels

Hotel Alma

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada (Northwest Calgary)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Alma to your Saves list
Hotel Alma
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
Ranked #49 of 98 hotels in Calgary
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Lisa C Suva
  • Overview
  • Reviews (154)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (36)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    72
    19
    19
    4
See reviews for
17
32
14
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suva
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Only stayed overnight while travelling through Canada with our son. We booked the 2 bedroom apartment but were very disappointed with the apartment. Very small and the beds, raised high from the floor over draw sets were very uncomfortable. The mattress' were covered with plastic, small and fell to the middle. The rooms were clinical and had too many pieces... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Lisa C, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at Hotel Alma. Our Two bedroom student apartments are offered during the summer months as an economical option for our guests. These rooms are not for everyone and we do suggest booking our Hotel rooms for your next visit as you will find their... More

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is an excellent alternative for accommodation during the Calgary stampede when hotel price soar. It is not cheap by any means but you get a decent room and it has good facilities. The tram is a great and inexpensive way to get around and is only a ten minute walk away. The university offers a food court- nothing amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Anna K, Thank you for posting your review on your visit to Hotel Alma. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Calgary Stampede! This is one of the busiest times in Calgary but we still try to offer our guests reasonable prices when staying with us. Campus has a lot to offer... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our trip took place during one of Calgary's busiest times - Calgary Stampede. The hotel was reasonably priced. Breakfast was good, the room was clean and staff were very helpful. A few drawbacks were the thermostat didn't adjust and there wasn't any air conditioning. the blind didn't close all of the way which let in the early morning sun. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Ray N Viv D, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Alma. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to join us for the Calgary Stampede. Located on the University campus we are a short walk to the C-Train which takes you directly to the entrance of the Stampede grounds.... More

Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

These 2-bedroom units, shown on the summer residence section of the University of Calgary website, are student dorms during the year. They're very nice, modern, and clean. The units have OK space inside but no lounge area (only in the common lounge of the floor). If you can find a great deal like we did, on a site that starts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Sockrateez, Thank you for writing a review on your recent visit to Hotel Alma. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Two bedroom student apartments. These apartments have a lot to offer with a full fridge, microwave and with two double beds they can sleep up to four guests. It is wonderful to... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fabulous to be able to walk to venue in 5 minutes, no driving and parking etc. That was about it for the positives. Stayed in the dorm style rooms this past weekend. Paid full price as was a team booking for a large event held at the University. Rented a large kitchen on the floor for our team, dirty and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello CampingmomBC, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Alma. Our student apartments are a wonderful economical option for groups like yourselves coming in as they are able to accommodate up to four guests. Although these rooms are not for everyone we can offer lower group discounts then if had you booked a... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had business at UCalgary so booked here. The rooms were so small the desk chair didn't fit. Plastic mattress covers were uncomfortable and 'sweaty'. Housekeeping was horrible - not replacing towels and toiletries. Front desk staff had to ask supervisor for most questions (yes they are students, but for the price I expect more). The 'restaurant' has a limited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello tractortime, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Alma. Based on your description it sounds as though you stayed in our Two Bedroom Student Apartments which we offer as an economical option during the summer months. Although these rooms are clean and comfortable they are not for everyone. We would suggest booking... More

North Battleford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, I got this hotel for super cheap using one of those mystery hotel websites. I would never, ever pay full price for this hotel. Everything about this place is mediocre. Check in was a bit slow, but the staff were nice. The room keys are odd, but they work. The rooms are so tiny, but it says so on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello Dan G, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Alma. We appreciate you passing along your feedback on the hotel and restaurant. We are proud to inform you that Bistro Alma does make all of their food daily and use a counter top oven to cook these dishes. We are happy to... More

Fall River, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a lovely, almost European style hotel on the campus of the University of Calgary. My room, a one bedroom suite, was perfect. The staff was very professional and helpful, and very responsive to any questions or concerns. Cleaning staff did an excellent job each day and the Bistro while it had a limited dinner menu, served very good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello MOP4440, Thank you for commenting on your most recent stay at Hotel Alma. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us on Campus and that you were able to take advantage of the wonderful fitness facilities we have to offer our guests. By sharing these amenities with the University we are able to offer guests... More

Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I must admit that I had to cancel the booking I made for this June, due to a change in plans. I had prepaid and was concerned that it might be a challenge to get my deposit refunded. However, I was extremely pleasantly surprised at how fast my money was returned to my credit card and also how pleasant the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello frequenttraveler91, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Hotel Alma. We are very happy to hear that our Front Office Assistant, Jan, was able to assist you with booking your accommodation and making the necessary changes when your plans were altered. We do hope that you book with us again for your next... More

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

It was a great experience only because of the great deal we got on a discount website. We paid approximately $35.00 per night and stayed for 3 nights. We would be disappointed if we paid the full price of the hotel. The room we stayed in was the 2 bedroom apt suite that is a 2 bed room dorm room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlmaManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alma, responded to this review

Hello RandHVacations, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at Hotel Alma. Based on your comments it would seem as though you had stayed in our Two bedroom student apartments which we offer as an economical option during the summer. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma

Address: 169 University Gate NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alma 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Best Value Hotel in Calgary #36 Business Hotel in Calgary
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the vibrant heart of the University of Calgary campus, Hotel Alma treats guests to gracious service, friendly rates, and a host of accommodating spaces. Alma features 96 rooms and suites, a stylish bistro, and conference facilities for up to 125 people. Rates include deluxe continental breakfast, access to campus fitness facilities, wireless, local calls and long distance calls in Canada and the USA (excluding Alaska and Hawaii). ... more   less 
Number of rooms
96

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer