We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 99 Calgary hotels

Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 7th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Hotel amenities
Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre to your Saves list
43%
Ranked #70 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
yvrtravelguy Surrey
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    146
    175
    76
    53
See reviews for
60
158
36
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (480)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (193)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (146)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Surrey
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
78 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room itself was very noisy with water pipes that rattled loudly when neighbouring rooms and my own, took showers. Street noise can be noisy but surprisingly the C-Train itself was not loud at all. The location is excellent. With the C-Train LRT right beside hotel you can hop on and off the train for free within the downtown core 24... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for just over a week in March/April. I was arriving in Calgary at short notice and needed somewhere Downtown that was reasonably priced. After hunting around online, I was basically left with a choice of either the Palliser or the Sandman. Given the price difference I opted for the latter. This isn't a bad hotel as such- the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is located in the city center, really close to the metro stop and 15 min on foot from the main shopping area. Clean, average sized room with WIFI/TV. Underground parking available, even if at quite at quite high price; in addition the height clearance for underground parking is low, be aware of that if you drive a SUV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I stayed in two rooms at this hotel. The checking in process was very frustrating. After a nine hour flight we arrived at the hotel at 3.30pm and waited in a long line at reception. We were very surprised that our rooms weren't ready, although I accept that the hotel policy is to have rooms available by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in that hotel for couple of times. baggage lost worth of $400.00, because of hotel staff, complained to hotel GM, Susan, instead of calling and asking from staff, she tried to convince me to take the blame and then offered a meagre compensation. and then backed off from her compensation. the terrible and worst ever top management.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMSandman26, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre, responded to this review

It is a disappointment that following considerable efforts in finding a suitable resolution to your concerns, you have not found closure to your unfortunate circumstance. Leaving personal items behind one's stay is inconvenient at best, however the required guest follow-up timeline was extensively overdue. Hotel properties are simply not in the position to store left behind items indefinitely. Despite your... More

Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let's start with the good: bed is very comfortable. For the most part the rooms are nicely appointed. I love the pool area it's a very attractive layout. The staff have been very friendly, and the two meals I had at the restaurant were fantastic. Downtown location is quite convenient. Now, the not so good: 4 day stay. Television never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Normally big hotels like these are pretty clinical and cool with there guests but I must say this one was very personable. Met with a smile and genuine interest after a long driving day was a pleasant start to a 2 night stay. The room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel is well placed in the city if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having always, where possible, stayed at a Sandman Hotel, I found this location to be in need of a complete makeover. Granted that it is situated smack in the middle of the city. However, it's condition indicated that it should have been situated outside city-center. My room was poorly kept, needed painting and, the coat hangers were the perfect size... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

This was our first night in Calgary (we arrived this day from Frisco) Our room in the 21th floor was very small, just one Queen-size bed for 2 person, the linen was rived and washed-out. No storage space, bathroom very small. Needs a refurb! Furnishings, carpets, decorating all in desperate need of renovation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night but wouldn't recommend it. The room was dark and not well maintained. The base of he bed was larger than the mattress and I kept catching my toe on the corner, could not get TV working and when u rang the desk they promised to send someone up 3/4 of an hour later, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre

Address: 888 7th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 3J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandman Hotel Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Calgary

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay