We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Lake Louise hotels

Mountaineer Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Mountaineer Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mountaineer Lodge to your Saves list
52%
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
JoAnn444 Peachland
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    167
    144
    63
    29
See reviews for
146
214
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (483)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (255)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Peachland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Was neat and clean, good for a short overnight stay.We stayed in the family room. The shower stall was narrow and the bathroom sink countertop was almost too small for one person's stuff let alone for the group. The breakfast was down a steep set of stairs, not accessible for one of our family members.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Recently experienced a stay here for two nights. Loved the location to the shopping village and nearby restaurants and bonus free parking at the hotel. Wanted to be close to family staying at the Chateau Lake Louise but could not afford their budget. We were pleasantly surprised because we felt we had all the same luxuries at half the price... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

No bar, no restaurant, too much like a hostel - a shame as the rooms were ok. On arrival the young lady at the desk was not at all welcoming, a complete contrast with everyone we had met during our time in Canada!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations, but felt the lodge itself was lacking with other amenities. The lodge prior to the current ownership was only a seasonal property and only available in the summer months. The breakfast room was an added amenity that the current... More

Swindon England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have to say that as an experienced Global traveler, the sheer beauty of Lake Louise, and more so Moraine Lake, make this trip well worth the effort. Having said that, Mountaineer Lodge is ideally situated and provides excellent, comfortable accommodation from which to tour these beautiful locations. Although only an hour'd drive from Banff, I would heartily recommend at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your wonderful experiences. I was extremely happy to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your comfortable accommodations and the ideal location of our property to all the scenic locations that Lake Louise has to offer. I have to agree with you with regards to the Station restaurant. They definitely have it all.... More

Saint Clair Shores
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My king room was nice. Difficulty getting 20% off advertised rate w/ booking at Jasper. Resolved when I got to Mt. Robinson but kinda ruined the stay. Mt. Robinson not nearly as nice as Mountaineer. I is an older outdated facility. Comfortable but over priced for the facility. Staff at Mt. Robinson front desk were very helpful and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I was pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience while staying at our property and you had enjoyed your accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Trevor Carr More

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great rooms and personal. Breakfast modest. Excellent location for sight seeing, central location to use as a home base for day trips into Yoho National Park, Banff and the surrounding area and of course Lake Louise.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. Your feedback is important to us. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations during your recent visit to Lake Louise. I trust you had a wonderful experience while in Banff National Park and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Trevor... More

Spirit Lake
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great place to stay. Room was clean, internet was accessible, microwave and fridge were a good bonus, breakfast was excellent, service was nice, location was very good, the only thing it lacks is an elevator.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and found them clean and comfortable. I trust you had a wonderful experience while in Lake Louise and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards, Trevor Carr More

Sherwood
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The rooms were large and beds very comfy. Unfortunately the room smelt of old motel smell which is initially a put off. The style of the motel has windows on the outside verandah side which requires curtains to be pulled across otherwise other guests have a great look into your room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. Your feedback is important to us. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations during your recent visit to Lake Louise. I trust you had a memorable experience while in Banff National Park and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Trevor... More

Wellington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel had all the basics and the room was nice enough. Spa pool was also good. Did think it was quite expensive for what we got but this may have been a reflection of the prices in Lake Louise. Booked late so our selection was a bit limited.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. Your feedback is important to us. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay at our lodge during your recent visit to Lake Louise. I trust you had a memorable experience while in Banff National Park and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back... More

Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had to change rooms because of noise in the vents (I assume was a rodent). Rooms were not very clean. On some days, no one came to clean the room. When I checked out, no one apologized for our experience about changing rooms - was not impressed. The breakfast buffet was also very disappointing in terms of the food choice..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Mountaineer Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Mountaineer Lodge