We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountaineer Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Offers & Announcements
Book Online & Save 5%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountaineer Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

767 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    119
    280
    225
    99
    44
See reviews for
254
323
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (767)
  • Mar-May only
    (137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (391)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Would look for other options before staying again. Substandard accommodation, below average breakfast. Towels were very small and more like wiping clothes. Layout of rooms and washrooms are of 60s. Ironing board was a small one and broken.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. It is unfortunate that you did not feel that you got value for your money from the room you reserved, however I hope that you enjoyed exploring all that Lake Louise has to offer during your stay. I appreciate you bringing the broken ironing board to my attention.... More 

Calgary
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a time warp. Our "Temple Suite" was a dated disaster. Carpet from 1992, cabinets and countertops that are best suited for kindling, a tiny outdated bathroom, faux wood panelling, and a smell form two decades ago. It was clean. The beds were clean and tolerably comfortable. But this room wasn't worth half the $400 we paid.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your recent stay in Lake Louise. We appreciate this feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. I am sorry to hear that you thought your suite was dated, however this fall we are performing major renovations on our rooms in the original building and we hope to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a safe bike lock area, helpful staff with dinner recommendation. Hot tub could have opened earlier for our liking (didn't open until 10am). Walking distance to groceries and bakery. Short drive to the Station restaurant. Dry environment so bring lotion! We washed our bike clothes, hung them up and they were bone dry in the morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warranwood
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Over all stay very good, the rooms were a good size and very clean. We really enjoyed the hot tub and steam room. Front desk need to be more alert to where they are sending you. Beautiful area and it is is in a great location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. Your information is very important to us. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed our property especially the hot tub and steam room. I trust you had a wonderful time while in Lake Louise and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More 

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Understanding that there aren't many choices in the area I would not stay here again. The lodge and rooms are run down and the staff is unaccomodating. For the price paid we were disappointed with the experience. Luckily the area is beautiful and we spent very little time on site. However for the money spent and based on the beautiful... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. I am sorry that you did not feel you got value for your money and I will be following up on your comments, as we pride ourselves on maintaining a very high standard of service. We shall be renovating our rooms this fall and I hope to welcome... More 

Ridgeville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

There is no air conditioning at this Lodge. Would not stay in Lake Louise again...nothing to see except for Lake Louise and Lake Moraine. Would drive in and see sights and leave...motels way too costly. Crowds very large.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your recent stay in Lake Louise and sharing your valuable feedback. With regard to air-conditioning, due to the fact that Lake Louise is located away from the moderating effects of an ocean, the climate here offers some of the most extreme seasonal temperature variations on the planet, meaning the summer temperature can exceed... More 

Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We did Lake Louise gondola ride and also Lake Moraine and needed a night at the hotel before heading for the Glacier trip early next morning. This was the only hotel available at a day's notice. We were lucky to get a room. Online reviews scared me and I called the hotel directly and they reassured me in a friendly... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your great comments. I was pleased to read that you were pleasantly surprised by our friendly staff and your accommodation. I’m glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy the gondola as well as Lake Moraine and I’m sure your glacier excursion was phenomenal. I trust your travels through the... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Short Review: Great Front Desk Personell, nice clean room with a very comfortable bed, surrounded in a peaceful setting... Until the train goes by. Long Review: Upon arrival, the Front Desk Crew worked had to adjust our accommodations, as some cancelations had occurred that opened up a more desirable room for us. They made it right, on the first try.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that our front desk agents were able to immediately accommodate your needs and that you slept well on our new mattresses. A great sleep is a big help when exploring the mountains! I’m glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and I hope the... More 

Nebo, NC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had previous knowledge of this Lodge, having stayed there 10 years ago. The pros are: ideal central location for exploring the Provincial Parks, very good sleep quality, large room size, generous countertop in bath area, free use of computer in lobby, mini fridge & M/W, laundry, very nice complimentary breakfast, and cleanliness. The cons are: no elevator and no... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. Your comments are very important to us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel and made use of our free parking, continental breakfast and laundry facility and I trust you had a wonderful time hiking the terrific trails in the region. We... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked a 2 room suite and needed less room. We asked for a smaller room at reception and, despite many rooms clearly being free, they said they were full. But, really, they were just too lazy to make the change. The room was crazy overpriced and dated. One moderately sized TV with few channels. The 'kitchen' had no cupboards... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. Your information is very important to us. I was sorry to read that you felt we did not do enough for you regarding changing your booking upon arrival, however it is relevant to note that we were fully booked that evening and as such unable to modify another... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 6 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#2 of 6 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
1.5 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 6 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
0.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#6 of 6 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay