We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Lake Louise hotels

Mountaineer Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Save Saved
You added Mountaineer Lodge to your Saves list
Mountaineer Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
53%
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Lynn C New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (427)
  • Photos (97)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (65)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    152
    125
    56
    25
See reviews for
134
181
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in Mountaineer Lodge one night. It was very clean and spacious. Location was perfect and room comfortable. The only complaint was the old confused man knocking at our door in the night but that could happen anywhere.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was very old and worn out, the TV was old fashioned. The guy who checked us in did not give complete instructions, we had to go back for Wi-Fi password once, next to ask about the breakfast timing. It was not a hot breakfast as there here no hot stuff like scrambled eggs etc. There we no dishes... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. Your feedback is very important to us. I was disappointed to read that your accommodations nor the breakfast meet with your expectations. I wanted to speak in regards to the continental breakfast that we do offer daily. The continental breakfast is a cold continental offering all cold items with the... More

Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Mountaineer Lodge is a quiet lodge surrounded by pine forest, with mountains in the background. Not bad at all, but we just happen to get a room that has a view at the far from picturesque stairs to the second floor. Maybe we shouldn’t have booked that special offer... The room with two queen beds is spacious, but utilization of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. Your feedback is very important to us. I was pleased to read that you did enjoy your room and amenities with exception of room layout. Thank you for mentioning the part about the coffee, we will look into this as the coffee we serve is similar to our Jasper property... More

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here two night at August 2014. Very pleased. The room was clean and spacious. The location is very close to the visitor center of lake louise. I need to mention that there is no air conditioner in the room. We had to open the door for a long time to let breeze in at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. Your feedback means a lot to us. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations while visiting us in Lake Louise. I trust you had a wonderful experience exploring Lake Louise and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Trevor... More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had read the poor reviews on this hotel and my wife and I made every attempt to stay somewhere else. Being the sept long weekend, we ended up in an over priced king room on the 2nd floor. We found one individual at the front desk to be very unhelpful and a poor communicator when we were trying to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tsukuba, Japan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

There aren't many accomodations in the small town of Lake Louise, and Mountaineer Lodge is one of few places where you can be satisfied with relatively less expensive price. And Lake Louise is the place to spend your precious time!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Centro
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Sleep in your car; it will be more comfortable. This hotel is dated, but they do not tell guests about any problems; especially the R.R that passes near-by every 20-30 minutes. No A/C. No elevator. No room telephone. Their attitude; We do not give a damn; we're booked

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oirschot
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel itself is nicely lokated but internet access was bad and a freight train track in the Backyard was terrible. Staff was very friendly. I'll never book here again, despite the Nice and friendly Staff

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I was disappointed to read that you would not try us out again however. The location of the railway can definitely be a noise issue; however, it is beyond our control. Regarding the slow wireless internet this is an issue that we are working with our internet provider... More

Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had to stayed in this hotel as that specifically weekend the hotels in Banff were full. We paid a premium price for the room that we have to stayed. It was very noisy as we can hear everything from the next room. It was just useful to pass the night and next day go to explore another areas. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fairview
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel met all our expectations. I would advise potential guests that there is no restaurant on site and getting in somewhere to eat was impossible. The Petro Can across the street does have enough snacks to make a meal.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments, your feedback is very important to us. I was delighted to hear that we met your expectations and that you had enjoyed the room and amenities. I trust you had a memorable experience exploring Lake Louise and area and we look forward to having you back again in the future.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mountaineer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Lake Louise with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
78

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mountaineer Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer