We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountaineer Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountaineer Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mountaineer Lodge
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    231
    173
    77
    33
See reviews for
190
260
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (616)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (255)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a nice stay. Nice and helpful staff, especially at the Front Desk. Good location for travelling to Lake Louise and the area around. Although surrounded by streets I really heard nothing in my room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Quiet and peaceful at night, fresh and beautiful at the morning. If planning a whole day at Lake Louise for hiking or just a morning at the Lake...it is a nice place to start. Gas station and convenient store are right there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable and quiet stay at our lodge during your recent visit to Lake Louise. I trust you had a wonderful time while exploring Banff National Park and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the... More 

Liding
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I think overall is a good hotel (good quality/price ratio). However, there are few things that should be taken into account to make it better. The bed was very soft and the fridge is a bit noisy together with the nearby railroad made it a bit difficult to quietly sleep in. Finally, I believe it should be modernized and made... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and amenities. As well, thank you for the suggestions on improving our facilities. I trust you had a wonderful experience while in Lake Louise and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards,... More 

Osaka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I found on web site. I was very happy to eat breakfast like this hotel. There are many choice. We had big breakfast. The room was quiet and confortable. Nice location and easy to find the hotel. I want to be there again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had found your accommodations comfortable and that the continental breakfast hit the spot each morning. I trust you had a wonderful experience while in Lake Louise and we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Trevor Carr More 

San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is conveniently located near Lake Louise. Our check-in was really easy and they offer free WiFi which was great. The rooms are a bit dated but our room was clean and the bed was really comfortable. Our room was missing a hair dryer and coffee but the front desk was able to provide them. They offer complimentary breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. I was delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable stay and found your accommodations comfortable and clean. As well, it was a pleasure to read that our team at the front desk made your arrival very prompt and able to accommodate you with your missing amenities... More 

Hope
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

spend one night end of April. Sign was a bit hidden so I spend some time finding the lodge. Impressed by clean, spacious room, furnished with appealing, up-to-date furniture. Had room on quiet, off-railway side. Office desk staffed with friendly, helpful people. Off-season pricing very raesonable. Coffee-room the only drawback, dungeon like and and stairs a challenge for elderly. Would... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and found them very comfortable and spacious. I trust you had a memorable experience while in Lake Louise and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Warm regards, Trevor Carr More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bathroom was dated. Toilet had stains. Bathtub was very old. Shower curtain had mould on it. Towels didn't smell like they were cleaned properly. Internet was shotty (this is understandable, considering the location). Hair dryer was in the living room, not a convenient spot.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I wanted to apologize for the cleanliness issues you had pointed out regarding the bathroom and shower curtain. This is not the norm of our property and we strive to provide a positive experience to all who stay with us; however, we have fallen short on your stay. We do... More 

Elmwood
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great atmosphere and nice rooms! TV channel selection could have been a little better, and at times the wifi was slow, but that's me being picky! The shower could have used some upgrading, but other than that I have no complaints. The beds were wonderful and everything was clean and in order. Overall it was a nice visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed the comforts of your accommodation. Thank you for the suggestion on improving the showers in our units. I trust you had a wonderful experience while in Lake Louise and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, Trevor... More 

Edmonton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is great. The room can be cleaner. Wifi is too slow and there are too many other restrictions on using wifi. The hotel is walking distance away from the little village mall, where you can find gift shop and grocery store. There are also restaurants nearby.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I was pleased to read that you found our location a perfect setting in Lake Louise being close to restaurants and shops. Our apologies on the cleaning of your room. I trust you had a memorable experience while in Lake Louise and we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind... More 

Blyth, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose this place based on reviews i found on here and the location...bad choice. Front desk staff was very poor, could see and hear them watching movies on their laptops in the back coming down the stairs. Came to check out in the morning and there was nobody at the desk and after waiting for 5 minutes i just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I would like to offer our sincere apologies regarding your stay and the inconveniences you encountered specifically with the cleanliness of your room and amenities. Let me assure you that the issues encountered are not typical at our property and our team do take great pride in taking care of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities