We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountaineer Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountaineer Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mountaineer Lodge
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    208
    167
    76
    33
See reviews for
179
248
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (582)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (255)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you are looking for a comfortable, clean and quiet place to rest your head after a long day of skiing, the Mountaineer Lodge fits all these prerequisites, and is reasonably priced. The Lodge is conveniently located minutes away from the Lake Louise Ski Resort, and it offers a hearty continental style breakfast in the morning, all inclusive of the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

One night stay, quick check in, helpful at the desk with a free locker for skis/snowboards. Room was good, pretty clean, hot tub was nice although the steam room was closed. They were very relaxed about getting a late checkout as well. Great spot and no issues. The employees at the desk were great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Drumheller
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were well satisfied with our stay at Mountaineer Lodge at Lake Louise. We needed a place to sleep closer to our destination and it was very good and met our needs. We are happy that it has a complimentary breakfast and that is one of the reasons we chose this facility. The breakfast had good variety.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and found them very close to your needed destination. I was also pleased to read that you had enjoyed the breakfast and the variety. I trust you had enjoyed your time in Lake Louise and we look forward to... More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is well-located, offers great family accommodation and includes a tasty breakfast. The staff were very helpful and made our family of 5 feel welcome! We will definitely be back next time we come to ski at Lake Louise!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your wonderful comments. I was delighted to read that everyone at the lodge provided a wonderful experience for you and your family during your most recent visit to Lake Louise. It was wonderful to learn that you had enjoyed both accommodations and amenities. I trust you had a wonderful time... More 

Aberdeen, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in main lodge down the hall from the hottub and desk area. No issues. Room was clean, shower flowed like a firehose which was great after skiiing. Breakfast was the usual continental with DIY waffles, fruit, granola. I did not use the hottub, or gym. Staff was friendly. I would stay here again, but I would consider the hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and continental breakfast. I trust you had a wonderful time on the slopes and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Trevor Carr More 

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing special about the hotel very basic but parking right out our room. Saying this though we were not here for the hotel. The location was great. Easy access to a little shopping area across the road and not far from a hotel were we got take away pizza. Can't remember the name. But we asked when we were there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed our well situated location to the Lake and that you had the opportunity to get out and explore Lake Louise. We also trust that your travels after us landed you safely back home. We look forward to the opportunity... More 

Greensburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great price, comfortable rooms, excellent location and amenities. We had a great time exploring Lake Louise. Breakfast was plentiful and satisfying.. perfect to get ready for a day skiing! Would book again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed the comforts of your accommodation as well as enjoyed the continental breakfast served daily. We do hope you enjoyed all the exploring you had taken in as well as the slopes in Lake Louise. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room upgrade scam by hotel or booking.com A few days before my stay I was offered a king room with PRIVATE ENTRANCE and a MOUNTAIN VIEW I got a king room with a view of a drainpipe and no mountain to be seen and NO private entrance. The heat in the ground floor room could only be controlled by opening... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. After reviewing your feedback I have had the opportunity to speak to the owner of the property who had in fact spoken with you directly while you were at the property and that they had graciously offered another room to correct the issue with the heating in your booked accommodations.... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is awesome if your skiing lake Louis. The beds are comfortable pillow top. The breakfast is standard fair with waffle machine. There's plenty of sitting room in the breakfast room. The hot tub is hotter on the weekend then the weekdays. The room I had in the main building on a previous stay was hot and the thermostat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodation and that you found the beds comfortable. As well, am pleased you had the opportunity to try out our other amenities at the lodge. I hope you had a wonderful experience on the slopes and that we get the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed three nights at the Mountaineer Lodge whilst visiting daughter who was working at Lake Louise. Great location close to staff housing where daughter is living. Close to Mountain and Chateau. Clean well equipped rooms with comfy beds. Good free breakfast provided with a range of items. Friendly helpful staff. Good middle of the range accommodation, would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed the comforts of your accommodation as well as the continental breakfast. I agree, the property is well situated in Lake Louise and close to everything. I trust you had a most enjoyable visit and enjoyed all that Lake Louise... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question