We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountaineer Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Offers & Announcements
Book Online & Save 5%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountaineer Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mountaineer Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

659 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    108
    248
    189
    80
    34
See reviews for
199
283
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (659)
  • Mar-May only
    (137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (283)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights at the end of June. We arrived early and our room was not ready yet. No big deal. When we asked about a good place to get a bite to kill some time, the lady at the desk just pointed us to the list on the desk but didn't really know what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Bend
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

service was excellent--room was satisfactory--no elevator to second floor--bed linens were torn--breakfast was average--nice to have glass glassware in room and plates, non-plastic flatware and non paper products for breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Close to Lake Louise Village and all of the wonderful sights the area has to offer. Room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. It was nice having a refrigerator and microwave. Be aware that the rooms don't have air conditioning. It didn't pose a problem because the room had a very good fan. The down side: we could here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your wonderful comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed the comforts and cleanliness of your accommodations and that you had the opportunity to really explore all that Lake Louise has to offer. I trust your travels through the Canadian Rockies were truly memorable and we look forward... More 

Caguas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay. Good breakfast. Dryer and washing machine at the hotel. Near small mall, Moraine Lake, Lake Louise and Gondola. Few places to eat nearby. Beautiful vista of the mountain from the hotel. Easy access to Canada Highway #1.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and amenities and that you found our lodge easily accessible. I was also pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the trip up the gondola. We all hope you had a wonderful experience and look... More 

Smithfield, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed the large room & sofa sleeper to sleep 5 adults. Internet signal was great in the rooms. The continental breakfast got us going for the day. The people working there were so friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your spacious accommodations as well as our breakfast room. I was also pleased to know that our team at the property were very helpful and professional during your recent stay with us. I trust you had a wonderful time... More 

Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was clean and well furnished, but the price was high for what you get. Breakfast was below average; in particular, the breakfast staff were loud and unprofessional kids that couldn't be bothered to greet anyone and spent their time openly complaining about their wages - until they decided to watch TV in the midst of breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had while in the breakfast room and with our employees. I will be addressing this issue immediately with the team as this not how we train and want our property... More 

Maidenhead, Berks
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasant, helpful staff, but our room certainly needed refurbishing; drab bedcovers and curtains. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom reminded me of a public toilet. Breakfast was served in a windowless room ...not enough tables to cater for number of guests. Fairly good choice of food, included in price of room. In my opinion our hotel room was overpriced.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments, your feedback is important to us. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Lake Louise, but we fell short in regards to the accommodations and breakfast room. We do hope you will come back and try us out again however and give us the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Sheffield
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Generally good.The hot pool and breakfast were the main plus points. Room was comfortable but a little dated, towels we got were well beyond their natural lifespan! A good option if you are on a budget.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations as well as our hot tub and breakfast room. I trust you all had a wonderful experience while in Lake Louise and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Warm regards, Trevor Carr More 

Commack
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mountaineer Lodge is a good choice when in Lake Louise. Room was clean, TV worked, bathroom was immaculate, shower was good, really good bed and pillows. Wifi was weak. Worth the price. Location was perfect.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and amenities. I trust you had a most memorable experience while in Lake Louise and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the future. Kind regards, Trevor Carr More 

Linden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Family of 6 stayed in a very large family room with 2 queen beds and sofa bed. The large room was nice and location was convenient for visiting Lake Louise and Lake Moraine. The breakfast was great. The hotel was very clean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your wonderful comments. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and found them spacious and clean. I am also pleased that you had found our location ideal to the areas you wanted to explore while staying with us in Lake Louise. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay