We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountaineer Lodge

Hotel website
Hotel deals
101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Special Deal
Free Bkfst & Ski Shuttle
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mountaineer Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

881 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Duluth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We love to stay at the mountaineer lodge- excellent and convenient location- good breakfast- very good room- excellent parking- close to everything you need! Love it! We would come back to the same hotel and recommend it to all our friends! We love the location- the receptionist, the friendliness-and the beautiful location! Thank you very much!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louis W
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge during your ski trip. I was pleased to read that we were able to accommodate your needs and I hope the snow was good! I trust your time in the town on the slopes was enjoyable and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mountaineer Lodge is an easy walk from the little mall at Lake Louise or from the Post Hotel Pub or Railway Station Restaurant. The breakfast buffet is generous and includes DIY waffles. Beautiful track set and back country skiing starts at the village or is a short drive (or take a shuttle to the downhill resort). We were on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michele E
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed the DIY waffles in the morning and made the most of the beautiful back country skiing we have here. We all hope you had a wonderful time in the snow and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel for this price. Rooms nice and tidy, coffee maker in room. Perfect shower. Breakfast simple but ok. Missing a place to dry your ski boots. Good busservice for skiing at Lake Louise. Very frienfly staff. Very good beds.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jelgaa
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our cheerful staff and comfy beds. I hope the snow was great during your skiing and that you arrived safely back home. More 

Sydney AUS
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The 5 of us (2 A, 3 kids) stayed in January for two nights. The staff were friendly and polite, the room was clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was not operating however all we really needed was something to start the day with, and the breakfast delivered was completely fine. The muffins were delicious. The hot tub was super... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kazzy_Dee
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your fantastic comments. Your feedback is extremely important to us. I’m glad our front desk staff were friendly and polite and that we were able to help start your day well with our complimentary breakfast. I was happy to read that you had enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel... More 

Lethbridge
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I recently stayed for three nights to attend Ice Magic. Friday and Sunday night hardly anyone was at the Lodge so we had the hot tub and steam room mainly to ourselves. The room had wifi, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and a pleasant view of the forest with ample parking. Breakfast was OK and located in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank SharonLethbridge
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge during the Ice magic festival and sharing your feedback. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed the amenities, complimentary breakfast in the morning and hot tub in the evening. We all hope you had a wonderful time watching the ice carvers and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a room on line using my debit VISA and like a majority of hotels they charged the first night and GST. When I arrived I told them I would like to use the debit VISA to pay the rest of the charges, I've had issues at other hotels, however The Mountaineer staff made it the easiest transaction ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank Corey N
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your wonderful comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and amenities and were able to enjoy the nearby ski resort. I am glad that my colleagues ensured that your check-in was hassle-free and your stay pleasant. I hope the snow was good during your time... More 

Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Couple getaway to see the ice sculpting festival, and also snowboard at lake Louise ski resort. Clean and cozy with great facilities! Breakfast could use an improvement, mainly scramble egg, potatoes, and bacon!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank denesr2016
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and amenities and that you enjoyed the ice sculpting festival. I was also pleased to read that you were able to enjoy the slopes. We all hope you had a wonderful experience and look forward to the... More 

Drumheller
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is generally a good option for those wanting to stay directly in Lake Louise. The rooms are comfortable (a little noisy) the hot tub, wifi and breakfast make it easy to wind down after a day on the slopes. It's not cool that they will hammer your credit card for an advanced booking - the moment after you book... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. With regard to your booking experience, it is company policy to receive a deposit of the first night’s stay upon booking. This is fully refundable if you choose to cancel up to 48 hours before your time of arrival. We of course want to do what we can... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing wow about this property but it is in an ideal location to get to the slopes and trails and the price, mid-week, was quite reasonable. Nice to be able to walk to restaurants. Hot tub and steam room are lovely after a day skiing!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mountforest
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. Your feedback is extremely important to us. I was happy to read that you had enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel as well as the hot tub and I trust you had a wonderful time while in Lake Louise. We look forward to welcoming you back again... More 

Calgary, Alberta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The dish soap was broken and coffee pot had left over from the previous travelers. The bathtub had water/residues that needed to be cleaned when I moved in. Other than that it was good. The service in the Front desk was 50/50. (guy was extremely friendly and the lady was somewhat rude.). They have a construction in breakfast area now... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank syd202016
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your feedback. I am sorry about the lapse in concentration of our housekeeping team and I will be following up on your comments, as we pride ourselves on maintaining a very high standard of service. We shall be renovating our rooms this Spring and I hope to welcome you back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
0.2 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
1.5 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
1.0 mi away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 9 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay