We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountaineer Lodge

2.0 of 5 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Rate
CAD139 (CAD)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountaineer Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mountaineer Lodge
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    204
    164
    73
    33
See reviews for
175
243
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (568)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (255)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars NEW

Very pleased overall. beds were decently comfortable and the pool was nice. The breakfast was pretty crummy...no real hot food available, just crappy store bought muffins, cereal, powdered milk, cheap orange juice, etc.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

the only thing that made me very disappointed about the hotel stuff and being irresponsible was not to keep the new item which I had left in the room until I found out it was missing in my bag and I'm pretty sure the hotel stuff who cleaned up the room after found it and haven't informed, i thought, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falls Church, Va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Mountaineer for a 2015 five-day ski vacation at Lake Louise. The stay was wonderful with a comfortable, very clean environment, very friendly and helpful staff, and great location. I was there in 2014 and plan on returning again next year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your wonderful comments. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed the comforts of your accommodation and that our team at the lodge were very helpful and professional. I trust the conditions at the ski hill were excellent and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Warm... More 

Concord, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was very clean, beds were great. There are four, what felt like down pillows, on each bed which were very nice. The hot tub and sauna room are also very nice. They lost one star for customer service. My lift tickets were not there upon arrival (or at least the guy at the front desk couldn't find them). They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed the comforts of your accommodations during your recent visit to Lake Louise. Our apologies on your initial arrival. New employees at the front desk made this experience a little difficult. Regarding the No skiis and boards in rooms, we have had... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The place it's a little run down and showing it's age. While efforts have been made to make the rooms comfortable, there is no lipstick that can fix a cracked lip. At the price, I expected better. For my money, I think I could get better. For all that, the beds are comfortable, check in was easy and the staff... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Check in and reception was ok, rooms were clean but too hot and dry. Staff for breakfast spends more time chatting amongst each other and texting than working and saying good morning to clients. Otherwise, way too expensive for this kind of accomodations.... One night here costs same as 2 in Banff....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations; however found them rather expensive. Being that there are few accommodations in Lake Louise we find pricing does differ from other locations like Banff. I would like to apologize for the team working in the breakfast room and I... More 

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would give a 3.5, but only let me put a 3 or 4. Overall its good, maybe a little too expensive for what you get, but I was still happy with my stay. Pretty decent breakfast, comfy bed. Wi-fi connection was very poor however, and the front desk guy needs to learn to smile. Only one indoor hot tub,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Mountaineer Lodge and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations and amenities. I trust you had a wonderful time while in Lake Louise and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Trevor Carr More 

Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was looking for a room close to Louise ski resort, nothing fancy and not expensive. Room and good bed for a fresh start without the two hour drive. Easy online booking, courteous service. Breakfast ok

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations during your recent visit to Lake Louise. I trust you had a wonderful time while visiting our area and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Warm regards, Trevor Carr More 

Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the mountaineer lodge for three nights while vacationing in Alberta. I was a lone wolf on a quick ski vacation and this place was exactly what I was looking for. It was clean, and very well located. There was free parking and wifi available which also came in handy. The rooms are basic with all the essentials... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was delighted to learn that you had enjoyed the comforts of your accommodations and amenities at our lodge. I trust you had a wonderful experience while on the slopes as well as in Lake Louise and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Warm regards, Trevor... More 

Edmonton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location, staffs, size, small hot tube... all good with reasonable price except poor internet. You will need to bring slipper for convenience if you want to feel neat after using bath.................

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mountaineer L, Manager at Mountaineer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your accommodations during your recent visit to Lake Louise. I trust you had a wonderful experience while in our area and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Trevor Carr More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay