We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Deer Lodge

109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Deer Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
458barryg Sheffield
Add Photo Write a Review

911 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    146
    268
    210
    163
    124
See reviews for
140
516
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (911)
  • Mar-May only
    (169)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (390)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (218)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (134)
All months
Sheffield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Hotel staff very friendly,great food.Location excellant for Lake Louise visit and surrounding walks only 200m away.Traditional style hotel but rooms a little tired. Would benefit from tv,tea/coffee in rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We only spent one night at the Deer Lodge but I recommend it for a few different reasons. The rooms was small, cramped and there was no television. But, with that said, I still really like this cute, rustic place with a feel of another era. IT had a tub as well as shower and loads of hot water. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The place is in need of urgent update and refurbishment. The colour scheme and furniture should really be updated and replaced a while ago. Staff at reception could do with being more helpful. Having said that, it is quite and clean hotel. The dinning room staff, are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast very good. Location could not be better,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mobara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was the first time for me to stay in this inn. Inexpensive but can be enjoyable. Especially, hot water in the roof top tub and fire in the mantelpiece made us cozy. Though the room we stayed was not new and large, we were satisfied with it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay. I am glad that you found the atmosphere cozy and enjoyed our roof top hot tub. We hope you'll be able to join us again in future. More 

Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have spent a night in May'15 in this unique lodge, which have tried to expand over the years, without losing it's basic identity of being natural and rustic. The day we reached, we saw a warning all around, which says that a bear is spotted close-by, and hence be careful. It was a good feeling to be close to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed stepping back in time at Deer Lodge, and were also impressed with our restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in future. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The lodge is placed right by lake louise so plenty to see and do. The rooms small without much space to get around the suitcases. Clean comfortable including the bath which appeared a little old. The restaurant was reasonable and breakfast option good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the many activities on offer in Lake Louise. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future. More 

Pimpama, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Helpful staff at reception. Noisy, creaky building. Small room with no facilities. Noisy neighbours next door - after complaining to reception, turned out to be one of the staff socialising with guests Great location within walking distance to Lake Louise. Overpriced for what you get and stay elsewhere if you want a good nights sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am glad that you were happy with our location and friendly staff. I apologize that you had issues with noise, and will investigate the circumstances of this further, as our staff are not permitted to socialize in guest rooms. If you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay further, you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lake Louise hotels

Calgary
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here on a hot weekend in June - over 30 degrees Celsius and there was no air conditioning in our room and poor air flow. It would have been nice if the staff could have provided a fan. We had a double bed room which was extremely basic - no TV or blow dryer but very clean and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay. I apologize that the heat made for an uncomfortable stay. Unfortunately the century-old construction of the Lodge means we are unable to provide air conditioning at this time. We do have fans available, and I am very sorry that you were not provided with one. I will follow up with our... More 

Lutsk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We never stay in the old style hotels but this was very charming. You almost transferred back in time. Rooms, doors, decorations and everything else was well kept and neat. The big fireplace room with cosy chairs and couches to read by the fire. Separate Piano room and coffee and tee room. Big breakfast hall with large windows to observe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the historic features of Deer Lodge and the beautiful views of the mountains. I apologize for the inconvenience of the hot tub outage during your stay; since your visit, we have done some upgrade work on our hot tub to to make it more reliable for our... More 

Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I really appreciated being able to relax in the quiet, rustic atmosphere of Deer Lodge, after hiking in beautiful Lake Louise. Deer Lodge has a very interesting history, which is displayed throughout the Lodge. The staff are very impressive with their help and friendliness.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am glad you had a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed the history of the Lodge, as well as the lovely natural surroundings. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

244 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (226)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (63)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
0:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay