We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Banff hotels

Fox Hotel & Suites

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
85%
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010
BYKTYKE West Hempstead, New York
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    475
    133
    64
    24
See reviews for
433
703
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Fox Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
West Hempstead, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed two nights at Fox. Booked a standard Queen. Room was cramped and extremely hot. [Apparently, standard rooms do not have a/c, and single window facing inner courtyard, covered by the room-darkening blind, does little to alleviate.] Zero ventilation. Front desk staff apprised, and the exceptionally accommodating and friendly clerk offered, without hesitation or so much as a grimace, to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
124 hotel reviews
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We drove through the Jasper park and stayed at this hotel at the end in Banff. I choose it due to high ratings at Trip Advisor. Maybe these ratings are not fully justified. The hotel is slightly out of downtown on main Banff avenue. They have free parking in the basement. We had booked a regular room on the internet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure every guest of the Fox Hotel & Suites leaves with a favorable impression. I certainly wish you had have made us aware of your concerns. Had we been informed we would have moved you to another room, to ensure your comfort. We... More

Bribie Island, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the Fox Hotel & Suites and were very glad we were offered an upgrade to the 4th floor where the suite had a set of internal stairs leading up to the bedroom and bathroom. This area overlooked the living area below and views to outside. While I wouldn't call the suite very roomy there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed on the last shoulder week of June where Banff wasn't too busy but the weather was still lovely. The room we had was along the outside corridor of the hotel and like others, we found it frustrating to climb many steps or stairs with our luggage in order to get to our room. And like other reviews, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malibu,CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Can't comment on the standard rooms but suite I had was nice. Location is at far end of the main drag so you need to do a little extra walking to get "downtown." Only real negative was the boring continental breakfast. Basically toast and jam with little or no fruit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
santa Clara, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

This is a nice new hotel. It has convenient parking underneath and very modern rooms. But... we were disappointed by by the room location, facing a dark stone wall, Zero view of anything in beautiful Banff, only window facing an outdoor corridor. The room inside was attractively furnished but very, very small, with insufficient space for luggage. I think we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Fox Hotel for three nights based on all the positive reviews. Although we found the public areas of the hotel to be beautiful and the staff excellent in all regards we were extremely disappointed with our room. After re-reading many of the reviews I have come to the conclusion that people staying in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay. With a full house in the summer time it can get busy, and noisy. We aim to provide an enjoyable experience for all, and sometimes this means laughter and loud happy voices talking about the beauty of Banff. We do however enforce our quiet hour of 11pm. At... More

Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We booked 3 nights - our room was located on the outer ring of the hotel, requiredclimbing two sets of stairs and then another set of stairs inside a two storey suite to get to the bedroom. Not fun with luggage... Also, hotel can be noisy depending on guests around you (stairs, noises, loud banging). Had to call front desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

If you prefer a room without a staircase, we do have them! We also have an elevator to bring you up to the floor you are staying on. I am sorry to hear you were awake at 3am due to noise. I am happy that our desk dealt with it quickly and efficiently. We do employee a securtiy firm to... More

Kellyville Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

The Fox Hotel and Suites was amazing. A short walk to all the shops, restaurants and train station. We found the staff were very helpful, our suite was clean and large. The breakfast was excellent and the Chillis Restaurant was value for money and had plenty of choice on the menu. The pool was awesome, we used it each night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Attractive looking hotel on outskirts of Banff. within walking distance of town centre, bus service also available. Room very comfortable if on the small size compared to other hotels we stayed in. Restaurant highly recommended. Good choice for breakfast. Evening meals of good choice, well presented and good size portions. All staff friendly and helpful.Free Underground car parking. To be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

423 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (407)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (101)
Viewed
1:41
Videos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (95)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Banff with
any amenities