We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI-Banff Alpine Centre

801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    68
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
13
29
56
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (170)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
There are newer reviews for HI-Banff Alpine Centre
See the most recent reviews
Banff, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The staff are friendly, sheets are clean and you don't get locked out after curfew but that's the extent of the perks. It's hard to sleep enough when your roommates snore, drunken people roam the hallways with no consequence and housekeeping barge in at 10am to vacuum a clean floor everyday. The restaurant shuts at 12pm which makes no sense... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

After getting stuck in flood finally we reached Banff. Lot of traffic and took time but finally reached with tired screaming kids. The place was nice but little expensive. The staff was friendly and did best to accomodate us due to flood since we had reservation. Good stay and drove back to Econolodge in Innisfail

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are in Banff and don't spend your time here, something is obviously wrong with you! :) It is a tough walk up Tunnel Mountain if you come from one of those Sunday Funday's with Jimmy and the crew put it is worth it. Spent 6 weeks there and loved it. There's always something to do in Banff. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Radium Hot Springs, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hostel costs a mere $35.00 or so for one person sharing a dorm style room. That is the best value in Banff by far. But expect to get what you pay for. It is not a "holiday hotel". The place is quite clean, but getting a bit run down. Nice location, and good value for the money. I only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Banff over the new year period in a private room. Great service at reception, very helpful and welcoming. 24 hour service as well. The room was clean and the beds were really comfortable! Lots of storage space in the room as well. All rooms were deep cleaned during our stay and it was good to see that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I'm unsure why everyone here is ripping on this hostel. As far as hostels go, this place was absolute MAGIC. My boyfriend and I were here for 7 nights over New Years this year. We shared a private room with ensuite and only paid $50 per night which we booked online. (SUPER CHEAP considering everything in Banff was booked out)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BanffHostelManager, General Manager at HI-Banff Alpine Centre, responded to this review

Hi Shelley Kate, thanks so much for taking the time to write about the great time you had while staying with us! We've had ongoing issues with our Internet which has annoyed a lot of people and it's good to read such a positive review and know that we are back on track (after many thousands of dollars of wifi... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

No internet. there is a WIFI but internet never works. hostel is far from downtown.The hostel is poorly kept and the staff is terrible. Somebody was booked in my room at the same time as me on my first day, lets say that it didn't end up well. The second day i saw a guy being expelled from the property... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffHostelManager, Manager at HI-Banff Alpine Centre, responded to this review

Hello Amanda, I'm very sorry you had such a poor experience while staying with us. It is true that our WIFI is in terrible shape right now; we had some hardware failures in late November and havew had to cobble it back together with some basic residential components we were able to buy at the Source, which is obviously not... More 

Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in July 2012. Our room was small but clean. The mattress was not firm at all, so I'd recommend that they get new mattresses soon. While we were there, it was very hot, and because the room was small with only 1 small window, we were very hot. We requested a fan and got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This place is simply awesome. We paid roughly $35 per night and got a much better stay then what we had for $40 a night at another Banff hostel. The kitchens are fantastic, large, open and with all the facilities needed to prepare decent meals. The rooms are a little small, but there is a large common area with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swindon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Terrible Internet, that’s the only problem with this hostel. Indeed, in the two weeks that I was here – the internet only worked for one week, and even when it did work during peak periods one was dealing with speeds slower than dial up. Given the amount of occupants of this hostel, I personally feel like it’s a poor show... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
2:46
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities