We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spruce Grove Inn

545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Spruce Grove Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We bought this hotel on Groupon. It was supposed to be a great deal until we realized it was twice the price because they listed it in US dollars! why on earth does a hotel in Canada get paid by a Canadian in US DOLLARS!!!! what a scam! When we arrived in our room i noticed the bathroom was redone... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jem0022
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I only needed the room to sleep it and get ready in but it was perfect. We got a cheap rate which got us way more than we needed. 2 bathrooms 2 beds and a breakfast nook. Ended up working put perfectly as my GF spends a lot of time getting ready I stayed out f her way and avoided... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank garrettmcintosh25
Sharon C, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review

Hello garrettmcintosh25, Thank you for the great review. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel room that was assigned to you. I believe this was one of our loft rooms. This is indeed one of our nicest rooms. We hope to see you again! More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

4pm check in was a pain, but for the price (we paid around $150/night and were there for New Years Eve) this hotel is OK. Room and bathroom were very clean. Had a comfortable king size bed and a flat screen tv. A fridge would be nice but you get what you pay for. Continental breakfast wasn't very good so... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Josh C
Sharon C, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review

Good Day Josh C, Thank you for your wonderful review of the Spruce Grove Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your great comments to our housekeeping, frontdesk and food and beverage teams. I am sure this will definitely make a difference to their constantly busy day. We will definitely strive more to improve... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

Bought this for a 2 night getaway through Goupon supposedly saving 50% on a really nice hotel haha. Paid $250CAD for 2 nights. The ad looked really nice, it said it was the newest hotel in Banff, it showed pictures of a pretty log frame building with great views. I looked at the hotel website and more of the same.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel A
Sharon C, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review

Dear Danile A., Thank you for taking time to review our property. As I was reading your review I went to check the information that you found misleading. The picture of the hotel is accurate and it was mentioned on the website that the Spruce Grove Inn was built in 2003 and still one of the newest hotels in Banff.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Stayed two nights for a girls ski weekend. Together we have stayed at most hotels in Banff and this would rank the lowest. The vanity sink would not drain and smelly black sludge had started coming out of the bottom drain, as well as the overflow drain. It was later in the evening and there was no one at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank alisonmayb
Sharon C, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review

Dear Alison, Thank you for your review of our property. I had passed on your concern to our housekeeping department and I am certain that we will use your feedback to improve the quality of service from our team. I would like to apologize that this had caused disappointment during your stay. I understand it must be inconvenient that you... More 

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

We paid $100 for the night (+ $100 damage deposit which we got back the following morning) Room was clean, on the smaller side but we had a balcony facing the mountains which made for a wonderful morning view. The liquor store is located in the other building which you can access through a tunnel. Super convenient. Never used the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Masticater
Sharon C, General Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review

Dear Masticater, Thank you for your great review of our property. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay and the view from your hotel room. I would love to hear what we can do to meet your expectation with the breakfast that we offer at the hotel. I will be more than happy to assist and... More 

Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

Our room had a dirty carpet, one of the curtain's hem was falling off, the mattresses and pillows were uncomfortable, bad quality coffee, and the icing of the cake was a plastic glove and an used towel that the housekeeper letf in the tub. The hotel needs many changes to make the stay more pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank sunpelican
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

Clean, with great views and amenities, read the other reviews, looks like their reviewing the wrong hotels as this hotel is a 4 star at least in my mind , facilities and service ... I will be back again for another long stay

Helpful?
1 Thank ter88nrth
cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

We stayed two nights and were ripped off - Had to pay 100 dollars deposit as "room damage" Staff where slow and unwelcoming they kept our returnable deposit for 6 days.... No apology staff are lacking in any tourism knowledge, rooms clean but tired and noisy Avoid if wanting accommodation in Banff.

Helpful?
4 Thank cnicht
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

We had a room right behind the reception in the lobby. The walls are not sound proof! We had unwillingly eaves dropped on every syllable uttered from the front desk area - no exaggeration. The curtains were falling off the one side and would not fully close. Quite awkward as it faces directly onto the street. The rooms are poorly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brook L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#19 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#29 of 31 in Banff
3.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#17 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay