We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Mountain Chalets

3.5 of 5 Junction of Hwy 93 S & 1A, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Mountain Chalets
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castle Mountain Chalets
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    40
    8
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
79
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

...worth it! We spent a few nights in a large chalet and were happy about the open fire place, while it was kind of winter outside. You can reach Banff easily within 15 minutes by car. You'll get the opportunity to meet several wildlife for sure. The only bad thing to say about this place is, that there's no restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights in December. Excellent customer service. We wanted for nothing. Gorgeous surroundings, great amenities, clean and well kept cabin. We had my dog with us and when we first walked in, they had dishes, treats and a dog bed all ready for her. Considering we had a full kitchen and brought our own... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves here and will be coming back. It really doesn't get more peaceful (except for the trains..lol), than being in the mountain, especially during the Winter months. For the majority that do like the sound of the train whistle, they comment on how the sound is haunting... More 

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Castle Mountain Chalet from December 5 to December 7 of 2014. This hotel is situated at the junction of Highway 93 (for Radium Hot Spring) and Highway 1A. It is 30KM west of Banff city towards west. Location of the chalet is at the foot of Castle Mountain. This chalet is surrounded by Bow River, forests and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate all feedback both positive and constructive. The suite you were in can now be booked online though our website. It is called our Pet-Free One Bedroom Suite. It was actually always bookable once you clicked on the Book Now button, however did not show up on our... More 

Estevan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Ghada and staff you guys rock this our 3rd time this year and the service has been excellent and you are all so friendly and make sure we never get left out you go that extra mile to help everyway you can and I think our Poms love it just as much as we do.Keep up the great work you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Pat and Rhonda, It really is always a pleasure to host you both (and the POMS), while you are here. Although we do try to make sure all of our guests are welcome and experience what you do, getting to know our regular / repeat guests is always something we enjoy. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon! All... More 

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We arrived last minute in low season at castle mountain and though we had a small walk-in discount it was a bit over prized for the overall experience. The cabins are very cozy, with a fireplace you can turn on by a switch. But they're also very dark. The beds squeak every time you make a small movement. The thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Unlike most properties we do pride ourselves on being 90% pet friendly, as our location is a perfect setting for dogs, with the walking trails and open space for them to run. Unfortunately, I am unaware of what room type you stayed in, but we do have units that are 100% pet free,... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had six nights staying in the Castle Mountain Chalets. The location of the chalets is superb, being on the Bow Valley Parkway, approximately half way between Banff and Lake Louise (note that Google Maps takes you to the Banff Post Office, not the actual location!). The chalets are cute, well spaced out and well equipped. The resort also offers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Again, loved it. We even had a home invasion of sorts that was rather amusing. Woke up to a squirrel crawling across the curtain rod. While some guests may blanch at this, I need remind them that they are staying in a cabin in the mountains. I only shared the concern due to the presence of an infant in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This establishment is the most unaccommodating when faced with a natural disaster. With a recent trip into Banff, I have to rate their customer service as poor. We have traveled to Banff numerous times in the previous years and this was the most frustrating trip in my 40 years of life. We had an uncle visiting from the UK and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManagerCM, General Manager at Castle Mountain Chalets, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Whenever, we get a comment from a guest that they were displeased with something at the property, we always use that as a training tool to grow and learn from. When I received the call that you were stuck in Jasper and could not return to your cabin (that you checked into the day before), yes, I did... More 

Wellington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Located a little further along the highway from Lake Louise than we had anticipated we were apprehensive about what we would find in the woods ..... needless to say these little chalets were exactly what we had hoped for ! We had a 2 bedroom family cabin and it was as rustic as well as gorgeous ! Comfy beds ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sant Pere de Ribes, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Here, of course! In the middle of a forest, close to the train rail, yes, that pass every two hours making noise, but it is worth to stay here! Cabins are full of all you need and are very clean. Windows on the roof are good but if you need darkness to sleep, could be annoying! Barbecues on the garden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Castle Mountain Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Mountain Chalets

Address: Junction of Hwy 93 S & 1A, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Mountain Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Castle Mountain Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Mountain Chalets Hotel Banff

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay