We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The YWCA Banff Hotel

102 Spray Ave | P.O. Box 520, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada (Formerly Banff Y Mountain Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The YWCA Banff Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

We went to Sunshine village for a short snowshoe trek after which we visited and treked up to the lower falls of Johnston canyon. Then we went to Banff to watch the Santa Claus parade. We had booked into a Y lodge and little did I know it was the YWCA. My wife does not tell me everything. Anyway, after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harold2010
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

We knew going in that this is not the type of hotel we normally stay at so expectations were low and were met. The room was clean, though the bathroom was so old it was off-putting. It was a private bathroom though so at least it was just for us. Everything worked but we could not find a way to... More 

Helpful?
Thank albertasn0wbird
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hello albertasn0wbird, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The hotel is indeed an older building; in fact, it was the original Banff Mineral Springs Hospital! It is worth noting that the noise from the train is a sound that is heard from almost every hotel and residence in Banff, as the railway has... More 

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

There were four of us travelling together, my husband and myself, my daughter and my elderly dad, so we needed three beds. Their "family suite" was perfect. It had an ensuite and there were extra bathrooms across the hall. The Banff YWCA has been around a very long time and is a bit tired but it is situated right on... More 

Helpful?
Thank rl_wk27
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the family suite, as well as the convenient location of the hotel. As a not-for-profit enterprise supporting the YWCA Banff programs and services, your stay at the YWCA Banff Hotel will have a positive impact on this... More 

Medicine Hat
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I booked our wedding at the facility in June 2014 for our wedding in September of 2015. The price was right and it was in beautiful Banff. The rooms are basic, but clean. In July 2015 they told us they couldn't accommodate our expected number of guests that they had told us they could over a year... More 

Helpful?
Thank allienickmarlainam
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hello allienickmariainam, Congratulations on your marriage! It is great to hear that you were able to procure a venue that was a match for your final guest count. It is regrettable to hear your feedback regarding our hotel and your father-in-law's difficulties with accommodation, as it would seem that there was miscommunication regarding the room bookings you made on behalf... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015

Visited this facility in August 2015. Paid around 150$ per day for the stay but the price paid didn't match the expectations. The room looked more like a prison .. Front desk guys (except one elderly person) were not welcoming and courteous. Bathroom was cramped .. wifi was poor.. I understand its a charity institution/ budget facility but paying 150$... More 

Helpful?
Thank A_M007_chinar
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hello A_M007_chinar, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am sorry to read that you were not pleased with our property and felt that it was not a good value. Staying in Banff can be a challenge when it is high season, and we strive to keep our prices reasonable and budget minded... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

We reserved the "SUITE" room expecting the similar rooms to what is posted in their website (http://ywcabanff.ca/hotel/rooms-rates/suits/ -- as of Aug25.2015). After we did all the grocery shopping prior to checking in (our horrible mistake!) expecting a reasonable form of a SUITE room in North America. When we walked in, our family felt we were scammed as the rooms do... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jin C
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide a review on our hotel, and I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. In all fairness, the amenities included in our "suite" rooms are clearly identified on the web page that you have linked to. As well, we offer free parking to our guests, with parking... More 

Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

We have stayed for two nights in a room with own bathroom. Located close to downtown hotel charges high price for such a basic accomodation. The excuse is that Banff is overall totally overpriced and not suggesting any budget accomodations. If you have a car take something different and just drive to walk throug the beautiful city of Banff. Room... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank IrinaG84
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

Basic accomodation in an old hospital no air conditioning and minimal furniture but comfy beds. The whole place could do with a tidy up and a good clean. It us in a great spot close to downtown. There's a chimney out the back. Not going to try the pizza. Expensive, but everything is twice the price in Banff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
Letchworth
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

We stayed at the YWCA in Banff during an extensive holiday in Western Canada and the Rocky Mountains. Having stayed in several venues in Banff in the past (including the HI Banff) we had a good idea of what the town could offer. The following review should be contrasted with our previous review of the Youth Hostel in Borrowdale (England),... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank macosmaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

Ok I read the feed back on here before I book but I won't believe anything until I experience it myself. We have 10 ppl stayed with this hotel. Is the worst hotel I've ever stayed. The shower was dirty .. Floor is sticky in the washroom . I hear noise at night couldn't sleep so creepy . I checked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cupcakes12345678
Carla S, Public Relations Manager at The YWCA Banff Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cupcakes12345678, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear that we weren't able to provide you with a satisfactory quality of experience. We strive to maintain an exemplary level of cleanliness throughout the facility, and any feedback we receive from our guests during their stay is responded to as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#19 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
1.5 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay