We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

1,367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    563
    551
    161
    66
    26
See reviews for
252
695
51
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1367)
  • Mar-May only
    (257)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (506)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (371)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (233)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel and whilst the hotel itself (decor/reception area/rooms) are all very traditional and lovely and the staff were nice (didn't have much dealing with them other than check in/out) it was the most uncomfortable stay I have ever had anywhere! It was late June and I'm not sure whether... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bramley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Actually lots of good things about this hotel, like the food, the spacious free car park, good draught beer, nice if small gym and pool....but as every other reviewer says the rooms are small and really hot with no air conditioning which made us plan to be out as much as we could. A shame really because if could sort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hmm so this hotel is okay for a short stay i.e. 1/2 nights but the décor is really old fashioned and unfortunately we stayed on one of the hottest days and they don't have A/C. When we asked for a fan they did immediately send one up to our room and it did make a difference but we would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We had stayed at this lodge in the past and they offered a Stay and Breakfast Special, when I booked I specified this but on arrival they wanted to charge extra. I should have left then but we were exhausted and the staff was very snobby and wouldn't even look up our company discount which we have also had in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KENT
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent 3 nights here, the final part of a wonderful tour of Canada. This place has a gentle friendly aura throughout. Reception was welcoming, suggest the buffet breakfast N0 1 in our mind compared to several hotels we stayed at.We were also supplied with free bus passes for local travel. Discount voucher booklet covering local shops etc. Banff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Upon arrival, checking in was no problem, but parking most certainly was. The only available parking is underground, and our Toyota FJ Cruiser would not fit. The hotel has no alternate parking, and suggests parking on the street. Good luck doing that, especially on July 1st (Canada Day). All streets near this hotel totally blocked off. We ended up parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CaribouFOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we appreciate the opportunity to respond. We were very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I would like to apologize if we did not provide more options to make your stay more comfortable. Extra tall fans are available upon request,... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed 2 nights here and were very satisfied. Check-in was easy and the room was ready early. Free pass to park the car under the hotel. Free pass to use the public bus service in town. We were given a pre-printed card, which we signed, which could then be used in their own restaurant or any of about 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Statesville, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our family of five stayed at this property for 5 nights in late June. From the moment we walked in, we were treated wonderfully well. The staff was incredibly helpful in getting us acquainted with the incredible town. The lodge is very nice with several amenities. It is located within 1/2 mile of the primary shopping district - you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel was one of the many on our trip around Canada it is a average hotel ok for one or two night stop overs,very busy when we stayed but the staff are charming and very friendly and nothing was to much trouble,we found the hotel restaurant vey good breakfast was superb. Our room was very clean and comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Characterful lodge hotel with reasonable sized rooms and bathroom, although slightly dark. Having no air conditioning made the room very hot and there was a very noisy fan in the corridor outside, which was an issue at night. The Keg House restaurant was very good with cheerful staff and a varied menu. Enjoyed reading the newspapers in front of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

303 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (280)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (60)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:57
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay