We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tunnel Mountain Resort

#16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    276
    123
    58
    37
See reviews for
218
324
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (733)
  • Mar-May only
    (212)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (247)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (171)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (103)
All months
There are newer reviews for Tunnel Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have stayed in Tunnel Mountain Resort a couple of times and I really enjoyed every stay. The staff are accommodating, the rooms are clean and well taken care of. Facilities were awesome- heated indoor pool , sauna, gym, hot tub... The view from the chalet patio were amazing, seeing nature at its best. Service daily by the housekeepers, replenishing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking this unique opportunity to share your recent experience Tunnel Mountain Resort. I hope future travelers will read your wonderfully detailed review and use it to their benefit. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on your return visit to Banff National Park. More 

Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great - away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, but still close enough to walk there. A local bus runs frequently right in front of the hotel, so you can stay here even though you don't come by car. A small grocery store and a liqouer store across the street and both are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Banff. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stay here all the time with our family. The mountain cabins are just perfect for us. When we checked in today we were surprised to see that they have replaced the tile floors with beautiful wood flooring. I am thrilled!!! Tiles can be so cold and now I dont have to worry about our little one on the cold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It was a pleasure to host your return visit. We greatly appreciate your positive review, and thank you for informing potential guests of our amenities. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I used to take the family to Tunnel Mountain resort when the girls were teenagers and we always had a great experience. Decided to go back this summer for a few days, and really looking forward to staying there at the Cabin. I was very pleased with the experience I had in booking the trip and am certainly looking forward... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us in the past, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Tunnel Mountain Resort for your next stay. Thank you for sharing your experience More 

winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Last minute trip to Banff with my son; usually stay at Hidden Ridge but was sold out. Booked into Tunnel Mountain as they had a couple of places left. Stayed in a single bedroom with loft. Place was clean and friendly staff. Got an excellent rate on the room but observed that the interior finishes were a distant second to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your Tunnel Mountain Resort experience. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Everything went well, great staff, very clean, good value. Even had daily visits from a few deer which added to the ambience. Needed a battery boost and the maintenance person was there within minutes to help. Only positive things to say!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back! More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

After 19 hours of travelling (inc 2 flights & a long drive) we finally arrived! The check in was swift followed by a welcome phone call to the room to check everything was ok. Just over the road there was a local supermarket that we were able to get food and drinks from before our long awaited sleep! We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tunnel Mountain Resort for your next stay. Thank you for sharing your experience More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First time stay at this resort, stayed in the executive suite with king bed (two twins pushed together), gas fire place, balcony, jacuzzi tub, and steam shower. Bathroom was very nice, room was nice as well. Over all great stay! Service was friendly although had to call twice for an extra wine glass because she had forgotten. Location was great,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy to hear it was enjoyable and look forward to your return visit More 

western Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wait for this places reno to be completed. The location and amenitieds are great but cleanliness is lacking. We had a flood in our room coming from the unit upstairs. It was obvious that it had occurred before. Management was excellent about getting someone over right away but unfortunately they were not too knowledgeable. They were excellent about changing our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and hope you are back to enjoy Banff again More 

Sudbury
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my 4th vacation to Banff and the first and last time I will stay at Tunnel Mountain Resort. According to the price I had paid and what I have read, I expected my stay to be wonderful and luxurious but it was not at all. We walked into our room and immediately walked out due to the lack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TunnelMtn, Front Office Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this review

We are very concerned to hear that you had a poor experience at our hotel. The overall feedback we receive from guests helps us improve for the next guests. We would welcome the opportunity to hear from you directly as we try to address your specific concerns. If you wish to contact us, please call the hotel directly More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (137)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question