We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Banff hotels

Banff Aspen Lodge

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Banff Aspen Lodge to your Saves list
Banff Aspen Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
85%
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
colt123 Vancouver, WA
  • Overview
  • Reviews (728)
  • Photos (124)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (153)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

728 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    305
    77
    27
    14
See reviews for
143
364
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
78 hotel reviews
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Banff Aspen Lodge this week while sightseeing in the area, and would have given it perfect scores except for the fact that there is no air conditioning in the hotel, and we were there during hot days. There are signs at the front desk and in the rooms suggesting that guests close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saint Paul
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

BINGO!!!. I reviewed this place on line as we drive into Banff. Was extremely pleased the minute I walked in the lobby. The staff was wonderful. Miss Picky that I am was pleased the minute I walked in our room. Room very very clean!!! Bed and pillows comfy. Breakfast was super and staff was busy with keeping it clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Romelle, You WIN!!! :) Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us Romelle. We look forward to your next stay with us in the future. More

scotland,uk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel was very clean and modern in a quiet yet central location. The reception staff where more than helpful with any questions we had. The hotel also had 2 small hot tubs with a fire overlooking one of them, this would be brilliant after a days skiing. We were there in the Summer for 2 nights and we only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am glad our service levels exceeded your expectations. This is of course what we strive for. Its true we don't have a bar but there are many options within town that are close by. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. More

Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for seven nights. The hotel is clean and the room was nice. It does not have air conditioning, which is a problem at the end of a summer day. However, at night, if you leave the door to balcony open, the room cools down. The staff was very nice and helpful. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you so much for your comments. You are right we do not offer air conditioning in our hotel rooms. Being in a national park we try to preserve the environment every way we can. With our large balcony doors and windows it does definitely cool down in the evening and you can enjoy the mountain air. Thank... More

London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here while attending a conference at the fairmount Banff springs. The customer service and friendliness of the staff was really good. The hotel is perfect in its location and the back rooms are so quiet I could sleep with the balcony door open. It's not swanky but it's really very good. I would stay again. The fairmount Banff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Francescini, We are glad you appreciated our personal touches. As a smaller independent hotel these are the things we are able to focus on. Thanks for staying with us. More

Surrey, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Banff Aspen Lodge is very clean, as a mom this is important to me. It is centrally located. We stayed for 2 nights and had a package deal that included passes to the gondola and hot springs. Also breakfast was included. It was a good deal. We would definitely stay here again. Only things of issue - very hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Mommabeetle, Thank you so much for your comments. We do offer a breakfast to go bagged option for our guests who leave early in the morning, also if guests want to take their breakfast to their room they are more than welcome. I will speak with our Breakfast room manager as a reminder of this. We are glad you... More

UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We toured the Rockies for 2 weeks and decided to use Banff as a travel centre for 4 nights. We booked Banff Aspen Lodge and we're not disappointed. It has a great location with a very short distance walk into town, along with off street parking, either underground or the back of the hotel. The hotel is relatively small so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Highlandrover We are pleased to hear that you were not disappointed in your stay with us. We offer fantastic amenities and a great breakfast as you stated. We look forward to seeing you again next time. More

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 night with 3 of my friends, the room was more than spacious enough for all 3 of us and beds very comfortable. Loved the use of the 2 hot tubs, especially the larger one. Location was excellent, outside the real hustle so you could sleep well but close enough to town it was only just a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi willowaz, Glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay. Our hot tubs sure are a good way to relax after a long day. More

Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A comfortable bed in a good sized room, good facilities available, free wi fi, short walk from downtown or railway station. Friendly and helpful staff. Pity it did not have a pool. Would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hi TomPortugal, You are right we don't have a pool but the 2 outdoor Hot tubs in our courtyard is a fantastic way to relax. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. More

Chicago, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location - walking distance from all the shops and restaurants, but not in the middle of all the noise. Nice breakfast - dont miss the bacon maple scones if they have them while you are there. Awesome hot tub - very relaxing at the end of the day. And we lved the self serve laundry - traveling with 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Chicago_visitor You are absolutely right our location is fantastic. We are glad the hotel had everything to offer expecially with 2 children for 2 weeks. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Banff Aspen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#6 Family Hotel in Banff #6 Romantic Hotel in Banff #10 Business Hotel in Banff
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a Canadian Rockies Continental Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and just a short stroll to downtown Banff. All rooms are carefully furnished and decorated with panoramic mountain views. Amenities include 2 outdoor hot tubs with an outdoor fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, gift shop, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, wireless internet ($), internet access terminal ($) and laundry facilities ($). ... more   less 
Number of rooms
89

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer