We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banff Aspen Lodge

#6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn)
Special Offer
Rockies Safari Package
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    379
    89
    30
    18
See reviews for
173
449
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (880)
  • Mar-May only
    (196)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (290)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (234)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (160)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our tour group were booked in here for 1 night, why i do not know, because it is a nightmare getting in and out of the hotel and the restaurant was closed for evening meals. The foyer was closed so we had to enter in single file, up a temporary wooden bridge, straight into one of the administration offices. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I traveled to Banff for the May long weekend. Upon arrival we were told that our room had been complimentary upgraded to a premium room from a superior room. Unfortunately, we were put on the ground floor with no mountain views, also, they said the bed was a queen, but it seemed small compared to my queen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice spot in the heart of beautiful main street Banff. Room was affordable, very clean and a quiet spot to relax at the end of busy days. The lobby was under renovations when we were here but our stay was still a pleasant one without any inconveniences.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Pakenham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Banff Aspen Lodge in March for 4 nights, we had a great stay. At the time we were there they were renovating the front lobby but this did not bother us or hamper our stay. Breakfast was included and it was good and lots of choice each day. It is about one block from the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. More 

N Yorks
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We picked this place off the internet, so were unsure what to expect. It is undergoing a refurb to the lobby, so things were a bit chaotic, but all went smoothly. They told us we had been upgraded to a better room ( probably because we were staying for 2 weeks I assumed), which I took with a pinch of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your time in Banff. More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Went away for a girls weekend getaway. Stayed at this newly renovated hotel. Rooms were comfortable, clean and staff very friendly. Great location to all restaurants and shops. Only thing missing is a microwave to heat up the late night pizza. 👍

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your time in Banff. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in room 342 from 19-25 April 2015. It was an enjoyable stay except for the noise of traffic and late night revellers. The staff were very helpful and I could have moved to a quiet room but I chose to stay for the view. The room had everything I needed include fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is currently being renovated. Took me a little while to figure out where to park and how to get into the lobby, but the receptionist was very nice and apologized for the inconvenience. Besides that, the hotel itself is nice, clean and in walking distance to Banff''s night life. The best thing about the hotel by far is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of our renos are now complete and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Oshawa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed hotel in May 2015. Hotel location is perfect for anyone staying in Banff (within walking distance to all shops). Hotel was clean and staff were very friendly. Breakfast included and had a good choice of items. Parking and Internet also included. Would have given 5 *, except at the time of our stay the hotel lobby was being renovated,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy to say that our newly refurbished lobby is now open! We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel, recently refurbished and very comfortable, 5 mins walk from all the restaurants in Banff. Beautiful views of the Rockies. Secure, underground parking. Would happily stay there again. Very central and convenient for touring Banff National Park

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

156 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (132)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities