We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Banff hotels

Rimrock Resort Hotel

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rimrock Resort Hotel to your Saves list
83%
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Banff
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013
Amanda R Mississauga
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    568
    218
    87
    62
See reviews for
502
1,002
45
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2133)
  • Mar-May only
    (427)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (764)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (581)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (361)
All months
There are newer reviews for Rimrock Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Mississauga
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Excellent location. Banff Hot Springs and the Gondola are less than a 5 minute walk. Amazing view from my room (room 814). Nice and cozy room. Friendly staff all over the hotel. Family and couple friendly. Old but well maintained and kept.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your winter getaway with us at The Rimrock. We look forward to your next stay! Sincerely, Rimrock Resort Hotel Management More

Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The great hotel. Literally. Great location, great views, great services, great amenities. But Eden restaurant beats everything else. It MUST be experienced. Its cost does not matter, it's beyond money. Will be back -- and often.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We are ecstatic that you had such a great experience with us. We look forward to your many, often return trips! Yours In Hospitality, Rimrock Resort Hotel Management More

Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Picked for ambience for white Christmas This trip was booked as a family once in a life time trip as my son was travelling and expected to be in Banff for christmas . We were recommended by our neighbors from Canada whom live next door to us in Australia as they were married here - Toby and Sandie Solak.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience in regards to your recent trip to The Rimrock. We are delighted that you were able to join us for your Christmas trip and enjoy our Holiday Village at the hotel. We look forward to your next stay! Yours In Hospitality, Rimrock Resort Hotel Management More

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. We were very disappointed with the service and the lack of private seating areas. The only place outside of your room to visit, was in a lounge and the service was extremely poor. One one occasion, ove an hour and a half wait before someone asked if we wanted anything to drink or eat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your experience at the Rimrock was disappointing. Our lounge is located in the lobby and accommodates up to 100 guests, it opens daily at 11 am , there is no service offered prior to this time. It is unfortunate we were not made aware of your concerns as we would have ensured someone... More

Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Good and friendly staff. Efficient staff. Good location- midway between mountains and town. I had kids with me and they loved the pool at night. The local bus service to the town allowed me to have a few drinks as I didn't have to drive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us ~ and that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary ROAM transit into Banff. What a great way to experience the town, enjoy yourself, and make it home safe. We look forward to your next stay. Yours In Hospitality, Rimrock Resort Hotel Management More

Lacombe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Perfect way to spend Christmas. The Staff were excellent and helpful. The rooms were clean. The Christmas buffets were the biggest I've ever seen and the food quality was beyond compare. It was a great time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

overall disappointed in our stay, probably not go back.. Staff was great, very friendly, courteous, concerned but the hotel and food need lots of work. The buffet dinner was quite expensive and a complete disappointment. Had to wait for salads, lack of food in the bids, messy, no real atmosphere. What happened to the roast goose and beef wellington of... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with the Christmas dinner buffet. We apologise you had to wait for some food to be replenished and that your coffee was cold. This is certainly below our usual standard. Although we did not have beef wellington or goose available our Culinary team did prepare over 25 wonderful different hot selections... More

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Room was nice and clean and quiet. Pretty view. We stayed in their Premier Executive room and it worked well for our family of 5. Loved that valet parking is included in rate, as well as 15% off food and beverages. Staff were friendly and very accommodating. We stayed over Christmas (2013) and the Rimrock made Christmas very special! On... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you were able to join us for the holidays, and that your family was able to participate in all of our Christmas events. Our team takes great pride in delivering exceptional service, and they provide an extra special bit of holiday charm over the holidays! We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Rimrock Resort Hotel... More

Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I just want to start out by saying Thank you to Everyone at the Rimrock. Me and my husband had a wonderfully relaxing time on the 4 days we spent there. Dec 9-13 It started out great...the resort is Beautiful, the Staff was very personable. The first night (monday) We came in around 8pm to check in. Check in was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience after your recent stay. We truly appreciate your kind words in regards to our team, they certainly have the passion to deliver great guest service. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience in regards to your initial dining experience, and would like assure you that we have followed up as we always look... More

Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Rimrock Hotel in Banff is lovely. The service is impeccable. BUT, we were terribly disappointed by the Christmas Buffet. In 2011, it was fantastic, out of this world. But this year 2013, it had changed considerably and wasn't worth the $70 price tag. Not even close. In 2011, there was a chef carving fresh turkey and all the trimmings... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with the Christmas dinner buffet. We apologize you had to wait for some food to be replenished and that your coffee was cold. This is certainly below our usual standard. Although we did not have beef wellington or goose available our Culinary team did prepare over 25 wonderful different hot selections... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

647 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (600)
Viewed
Room/suite (122)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (110)
Viewed
View from room (99)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Other (198)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (31)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay