We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunshine Mountain Lodge

1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Hotel amenities
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Banff
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015
Cristina B Calgary, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    81
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
76
73
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (118)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sunshine Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

It was the first time in this mountain lodge and we loved the atmosphere inside the lodge and obviously views and location. Everything is well organized from the check-in at the bottom to the check-out on the mountain. Just need to be prepared for ski and to enjoy a very relaxing and restful evening in the dining rooms, at the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review, Cristina. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your slope-side stay with us and that our team was able to make everything easy for you. On behalf of the whole Sunshine Mountain Lodge team, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Mark Bell More 

Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

I've stayed here for years (3-4 nights per year) and have never written a review. The great thing about this hotel is the location and the hot tub. The rooms are fine. The problems are the food and the service. The food is average at best and you have no options to go anywhere else. The service is inconsistent, sometimes... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your feedback is very important to us and we will use it to help improve our guest experience going forward. We are interested in learning more about what you think could make our food and beverage options better. I invite you to email us at comments@skibanff.com to let us know... More 

Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Can't beat the location and the scenery. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only drawback was that the restaurant and bar kept running out of things but I hope that this was because we were there for the second last ski weekend of the season and they were gearing down. Room was very well appointed and my only complaint was that... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

I am so happy to hear you had a great stay! We are happy you enjoyed the scenery, skiing and staff. I will personally look into the concerns you had—thanks for bringing them to our attention. All the best, Mark Bell More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Everything was great except for check-in time.... We requested a early check in and we not able to go into our room until after 4:00PM. This was rather frustrating and disappointing. The location couldn't be beat, and the staff was very helpful in getting our luggage down rather quickly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Emily. We do appreciate your feedback on your check-in and will pass on to the team. I am happy to hear the hotel team was able to get your luggage down efficiently. Warm regards, Mark Bell More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I don't have high expectations for mountain-side lodging but this was excellent. The small amount of rooms made for a very easy transition from slopes to room. You are literally feet from the lift outside your door. Very accommodating staff. New, modern rooms that were very comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Regina, Saskatchewan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Love the relaxed atmosphere and and obviously the location. The staff was courteous and friendly from check in to check out. It was the best spring skiing we have had in years and looking forward to our next stay!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge-- thanks for visiting us from Regina! I am thrilled to hear you were able to get in some amazing spring skiing and that our team was able to make your stay even more pleasurable. We look very forward to welcoming you back soon. Best... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Staff were all very friendly, accommodating, and eager to assist with any/all requests. The location, scenery & facilities were beyond our expectations. Our room was very comfortable, with spectacular scenes at every window. All our meals where delicious & plentiful. Thanks for a wonderful stay, I wish we could have stayed longer!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your time spent at our hotel, Jane. We pride ourselves on offering a unique Canadian experience and I'm so glad you were able to experience that. We hope you will visit us again in the near future. Best regards, Mark Bell More 

Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Absolutely wonderful lodging that could not be in a more picturesque or convenient setting to the wonderful skiing that Sunshine has to offer. Gorgeous loft room with an amazing view, comfortable, amazing and accommodating staff, great restaurants, amenities etc. etc. etc. Loved it and convinced us to buy a season pass for next ski season! We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review of the Sunshine Mountain Lodge, Mark. We’re so glad you plan on becoming a Sunshine Village season pass holder for the 2015-16 season and are thrilled that you've enjoyed your time spent at our hotel—here’s to many more great experiences! Warm regards, Mark Bell More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

I am on the hill (Sunshine) 40 days a year and often stay at the Sunshine Mountain lodge given its convenient location. The one problem that consistently plagues this hotel is food quality and service in the dinning room -its simply awful. Given the convenient location and respectable rooms the hotel gets away with serving terrible food year after year... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Although it’s not exactly what we like to hear, our food and beverage management will be looking into your concerns, so we don't hear this from other guests. We appreciate all the guest comments we receive, so thank you again. Best regards, Mark Bell More 

Granby, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

The air was very very dry even with the humidifier. It seems to me you've had the same menu for at least 10 years. Even though it's satisfactory a general update would be appreciated. Please take these comments as constructive criticism as nothing in the items mentioned are deal breakers

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Michel. I will personally be passing this on to the food and beverage team, so they may look into your concerns. Feedback like yours can only help us improve our customer experience going forward. Warm regards, Mark Bell More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay