We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunshine Mountain Lodge

3.5 of 5
1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Hotel amenities
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Banff
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Cattamaran Calgary
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    66
    23
    13
    8
See reviews for
60
61
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (177)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

You offer a discount in the mountain collective but none of your people know how to handle... You can't beat staying on the hill with first access to the lifts! The loft room is great! Overall a good experience except with reservations.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cochrane, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We absolutely love this hotel. We are a family of 6 so we always stay in the loft. The view from the rooms is breath taking, the beds are very comfortable and it is very clean. The daily night activities are a hit with the kids as well as the pool table. We love the nightly turn down service and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the glowing review of our resort! We pride ourselves on offering a unique product with passionate employees that work hard to make your stay as memorable as possible. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sunshine Mountain Lodge again soon. Warm regards, Mark Bell More 

Calgary
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were very excited to spend a weekend at the lodge. The reviews on trip advisor were great and the place looked cozy from the pictures on the website...however, problems started as soon as we checked in to our loft. First of all, they misplaced our skiis and it took several hours for them to be located. Second, we called... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Your stay was not in-line with what we strive to offer all our guests therefore, I will be contacting you directly to discuss your stay in more detail. Best regards, Mark Bell More 

Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Any room has a nice view! The mountains are beautiful here. The beds were so so and the pillows we very uncomfortable. Staff was very inconsistent. One staff member would bend over backwards to make your experience better, then another would be just plain rude so it's hard to say if the issue is training or the recruitment program. All... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this review, Kyle. I'm so happy to hear you were able to enjoy our spectacular Rocky Mountain views! We very much appreciate all you had to say here and we will use it to help improve our customer service going forward. Best regards, Mark Bell More 

London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We've stayed many times and will stay again I'm sure, however it only really suits us for a few days, mainly as you're forced to eat in restaurants for every meal which can get expensive and repetitive. That said, considering the lack of competition in terms of lodging, the hotel does an excellent job in providing great accommodation at a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review of your time at out hotel. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the evening tobogganing-- it seems to be a huge hit! We very much appreciate all your comments and we are so glad you enjoy skiing at Sunshine Village and staying at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge. We'll see you again soon. Warm regards,... More 

Canmore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was very small, matched the 19" flat screen tv hung from the ceiling. Hairdryer in bathroom didn't work, found another on the shelf in the room. Had a fantastic time skiing on a blue bird spring day, met some great people in the outdoor hot tub. Fitness room lacking, but if you're here to ski, you should get plenty... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for this review, Edward! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your dinner at the Eagle's Nest dining room and that you were able to take in an evening at historic Mad Trapper's Saloon. On behalf of everyone at Sunshine Village, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again. All the best, Mark Bell More 

Larbert, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

As the only slopeside accommodation in the Banff area we choose Sunshine Mountain Lodge for a couple of nights at the start of our vacation in Banff. +ve points: location, location, location. -ve points: service in the restaurant (mainly young people working there to ski the mountain), lack of variety in the menu (same each day) and general lack of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! So glad to hear you appreciate the unique location of our slope-side resort and hotel. We review all feedback we receive with our entire management team, so we can be constantly improving our guest experience, so thanks for all the comments. All the best, Mark Bell More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was our first time staying on the hill and we definitely would do it again. Our balcony was a great place to have a drink and enjoy the view. We also loved the fact that there was no rushing in the morning and we could be the first on the hill. We had a deluxe room which was on... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the views, the skiing and the food at our restaurants. I will be sure to look into those things you think we can improve upon and on behalf of everyone at the resort, we hope... More 

Spruce Grove, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time! Only suggestions for improvement would be: -Buy tips for pool cues -Bingo needs all the balls to play properly -Would be nice if the restaurant had a little variety for extended stays.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for writing this review based on your recent stay at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge. We appreciate all the feedback you gave here and I'd like to you know that we are working on fixing those items you suggested ASAP. Thanks again and we hope you'll stay with us again soon. Best regards, Mark Bell More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time at the resort. We had issues with the hotel room wait list - we went from 2nd in line to 9th. Restaurant was family friendly which was a bonus. Ski in ski out was great and we had our daughter in the Sunshine Village Daycare the girls at the daycare were amazing with her.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Ryan! I will be sure to pass this on to our Daycare team, so they can see that what they do makes a difference. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best regards, Mark Bell More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question