We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunshine Mountain Lodge

1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Hotel amenities
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Banff
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
fickle2014 Perth, Australia
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    80
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
76
73
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (216)
  • Mar-May only
    (118)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

this is an awesome hotel with friendly staff. The hotel itself could use a bit of an upgrade but everything else made up for it. We had fantastic food in the lodge. The room service was quick. The staff was very friendly and went out of there way to add kindness to our day. We were impressed as it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Very disappointed with our stay at the Sunshine lodge. Recommend staying in Banff at any one of the hotels which will have more class and cheaper rates. Rooms in the lodge were clean and comfortable. Food in hotel was average with poor service. Friendly staff but not focused on their jobs...their phones were more important.Check in was great but really?....people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

our title says it all!! we have been staying at theSunshine Mtn. Lodge/Sunshine Inn for the past 15 or 20 years, more recently with family but previously during the "Ski Weeks" offered by SSV, & loved every minute. from trips up the hill on busses & now the world-class gondola, to great meals in the Chimney Corner, top notch accomodation... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for the glowing review. I'm glad to hear that you've been enjoying the Sunshine Mountain Lodge for many years. Yours is the experience we wish to offer all of our guests and we look forward to seeing you next year and delivering that again. Warm regards, Mark Bell More 

Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was small but very adequate, modern and clean and really it was everything we needed. It didn't have a fridge but we had a cooler that housed our cream, yogurt, and quick snack items which we stored out on the deck, just put ice in it. Great view of the ski hill. We dined in the restaurants, the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Janine. We appreciate the kind words about our team members and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. See you next season! Best regards, Mark Bell More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really nice to be able to stay on the hill. Staff was helpful. However, the room hadn't been cleaned well. Floor was sticky and it looked like someone threw up in the humidifier. The restaurants gluten free food was not as good as I was hoping.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The experience you described is not in line with what we strive to offer our guests and because of this, I will be contacting you directly to learn more. Warm regards, Mark Bell More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights. I found that all of the staff really did their best to make my stay enjoyable. Baggage handling at all stages of the process went very smoothly. I had brought vegetables to make a salad, but had forgotten oil and vinegar for the dressing. I asked at the restaurant if I could get some oil and vinegar,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Good afternoon Chuck, I am thrilled to hear that our team went above and beyond to make your stay with us enjoyable. On behalf of everyone at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. All the best, Mark Bell More 

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a couple of nights and for the most part enjoyed the weekend. Check in and out and baggage handling went very smoothly. Friendly and very accommodating. Room 518 was clean and quiet....nice to be able to open window for fresh mountain air. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Trappers was great....too bad that it closed between 5 and 8... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Chuck. I promise you that all of the feedback you provided here will be passed on to the appropriate manager(s) to look into. As for the hot tub situation, we had an event taking place where participants were allowed to warm up in the hot tub. Please know that we will be looking into this and... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Always have a great time here and great service from staff. The restaurant staff definitely needs work. Had to wait an hour for our food to come, server kept forgetting things, restaurant wasn't even full. No apologies or offer to make up for the poor experience. Almost feel like they feel they have the right to provide poor service as... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Nick, Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. We do strive to offer an above-average experience to all of our guests and I am sorry to hear we missed the mark in your case. If you have anything further to add about your experience, I encourage you to write to us at comments@skibanff.com. Warm regards, Mark Bell More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are beautiful and staying on the hill is great, however not having a mini fridge in the room makes it impossible to bring up your own breakfast/lunch food. The restaurant was out of almost all menu items, which made the service on the hill brutal. I would have rather brought my own breakfast/lunches and just had dinner at the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Should you have anything further to add, please email me at comments@skibanff.com. Best regards, Mark Bell More 

Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed another amazing experience at Sunshine Mountain Lodge again this weekend. We so enjoy staying and skiing. This weekend, we just went up to the Lodge to Enjoy the atmosphere, the people, the excitement of "The Slush Cup!". The energy of the staff and they love of the mountain and Sunshine is so recognized. We took our 15 year old... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

On behalf of everyone at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge we would like to extend a huge thank you for this amazing review. Our goal is to have every guest enjoy their stay as much as you did. See you again soon! Best regards, Mark Bell More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay