We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunshine Mountain Lodge

1 Sunshine Access Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J5, Canada (Formerly Sunshine Village Resort)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    81
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
76
73
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (118)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Bought 2 separate prepaid packages for the 2014/15 ski season via being on the Sunshine email list. Worth every penny! Per person included ski passes. The hotel staff takes exceptional care of you and your equipment from the time you get to the check in at the bottom of the hill until you leave the resort. Ate at the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for all your kind words about our resort, Kevin. The Rocky Mountain views are spectacular, aren't they? I will pass on your comments about the exceptional service you received on to our team which they will be thrilled to hear. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sunshine Mountain Lodge in the 2015-16 ski season which... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

this is an awesome hotel with friendly staff. The hotel itself could use a bit of an upgrade but everything else made up for it. We had fantastic food in the lodge. The room service was quick. The staff was very friendly and went out of there way to add kindness to our day. We were impressed as it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge-- that hot tub bingo is a huge hit! We hope you will join us from Australia again soon. Warm regards, Mark Bell More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Very disappointed with our stay at the Sunshine lodge. Recommend staying in Banff at any one of the hotels which will have more class and cheaper rates. Rooms in the lodge were clean and comfortable. Food in hotel was average with poor service. Friendly staff but not focused on their jobs...their phones were more important.Check in was great but really?....people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. The experience you describe here is not what we aim to offer to our guests. I will be reviewing this review with my team and will be contacting you directly to learn more about your stay. Best regards, Mark Bell More 

Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

our title says it all!! we have been staying at theSunshine Mtn. Lodge/Sunshine Inn for the past 15 or 20 years, more recently with family but previously during the "Ski Weeks" offered by SSV, & loved every minute. from trips up the hill on busses & now the world-class gondola, to great meals in the Chimney Corner, top notch accomodation... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for the glowing review. I'm glad to hear that you've been enjoying the Sunshine Mountain Lodge for many years. Yours is the experience we wish to offer all of our guests and we look forward to seeing you next year and delivering that again. Warm regards, Mark Bell More 

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Our room was small but very adequate, modern and clean and really it was everything we needed. It didn't have a fridge but we had a cooler that housed our cream, yogurt, and quick snack items which we stored out on the deck, just put ice in it. Great view of the ski hill. We dined in the restaurants, the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Janine. We appreciate the kind words about our team members and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. See you next season! Best regards, Mark Bell More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Really nice to be able to stay on the hill. Staff was helpful. However, the room hadn't been cleaned well. Floor was sticky and it looked like someone threw up in the humidifier. The restaurants gluten free food was not as good as I was hoping.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The experience you described is not in line with what we strive to offer our guests and because of this, I will be contacting you directly to learn more. Warm regards, Mark Bell More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Stayed two nights. I found that all of the staff really did their best to make my stay enjoyable. Baggage handling at all stages of the process went very smoothly. I had brought vegetables to make a salad, but had forgotten oil and vinegar for the dressing. I asked at the restaurant if I could get some oil and vinegar,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Good afternoon Chuck, I am thrilled to hear that our team went above and beyond to make your stay with us enjoyable. On behalf of everyone at the Sunshine Mountain Lodge, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. All the best, Mark Bell More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Stayed for a couple of nights and for the most part enjoyed the weekend. Check in and out and baggage handling went very smoothly. Friendly and very accommodating. Room 518 was clean and quiet....nice to be able to open window for fresh mountain air. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Trappers was great....too bad that it closed between 5 and 8... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Chuck. I promise you that all of the feedback you provided here will be passed on to the appropriate manager(s) to look into. As for the hot tub situation, we had an event taking place where participants were allowed to warm up in the hot tub. Please know that we will be looking into this and... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Always have a great time here and great service from staff. The restaurant staff definitely needs work. Had to wait an hour for our food to come, server kept forgetting things, restaurant wasn't even full. No apologies or offer to make up for the poor experience. Almost feel like they feel they have the right to provide poor service as... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Nick, Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. We do strive to offer an above-average experience to all of our guests and I am sorry to hear we missed the mark in your case. If you have anything further to add about your experience, I encourage you to write to us at comments@skibanff.com. Warm regards, Mark Bell More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Rooms are beautiful and staying on the hill is great, however not having a mini fridge in the room makes it impossible to bring up your own breakfast/lunch food. The restaurant was out of almost all menu items, which made the service on the hill brutal. I would have rather brought my own breakfast/lunches and just had dinner at the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark B, Manager at Sunshine Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Should you have anything further to add, please email me at comments@skibanff.com. Best regards, Mark Bell More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay