We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Banff hotels

Mount Royal Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Hotel amenities
Mount Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
64%
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Banff
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012
Jodielee22565 Brisbane, Australia
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    207
    130
    52
    26
See reviews for
90
250
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (529)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (187)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great place to stay in Banff. A little pricey but worth it. It is in the centre of town close to everything and is clean and very comfortable. Tea and coffee in the room.....but no fridge That would be great ! I would defiantly stay there again. Beds were very comfortable too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel. I was very pleased to see that you had such a good experience while you were staying with us. I have to agree with you. Our location is perfect, no vehicle needed at all, everything is within walking distance. I was... More

Edmonton, AB
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We arrived March 17th only to find our reservation cancelled. Front desk informed us that our reservation was cancelled, and they were full, but, put us in a suite for same rate! It was beautiful! Couldn't ask for better service or better room! Absolutely wonderful! Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Banff! It's on the same street as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel. I’m not sure what happened with your reservation but I was happy to read that my front-desk staff took very good care of you. We do spend quite a bit of time training our staff to better serve our guests. I’m glad... More

Lexington, NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is an older hotel with character. We stayed in a standard room which was small but comfortable. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of Banff walking distance to everything with an easy in easy out convenient parking lot. Area bus stop is right across the street for comfortable reliable transportation in the metro area if needed. Pub... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel. I was very please to read that you had such a good experience while you were staying with us. I will pass on your nice comments to our staff. Location, location, location, I couldn’t agree with you more, seconds away from... More

Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. We stayed in the older part of the hotel in March (unusually warm March). It is still nice, clean and a good basic room that included a bar fridge, coffee maker and a tea kettle. The reason we have rated this a 4 and not a 5 is because the windows do NOT... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel. I was happy to read that overall, you had a good experience while you were at the hotel. We are an older historic hotel, some of our rooms do not have windows that open you are correct but most of our... More

Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

The first time we stayed we booked a "romantic" package and they gave us a room which had a view of ... WAIT FOR IT...the side of their own building! How frickin romantic! They did nothing to change our room when we complained. We did not get a reduced rate when we booked so I didn't get why we got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel. I was very sorry to read that your latest stay did not meet your expectations. First, let me assure you that we do not assign guest rooms based on rates. We always try to give the best room available at the... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Arrived after a 9:30 hour flight to find confirmed superior room with King size bed was unaavailable as hotel had no record. Offered superior room 234 with twin Queen beds overlooking Banff Avenue. The room was extremely large and also had two armchairs and a table as well as the normal chest and desk. The bathroom was however the smallest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel. I was sorry to read about the confusion on check in. Our superior room with king size bed and superior room with 2 queen size beds are the same room category. We do allocate those rooms based on availability. As for the... More

Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I chose this hotel because I wanted a convenient location in Banff. The hotel is centrally located to great restaurants, shops, and bars. I had driven past it the last time I was in Banff and thought it would be a good option for my next ski trip. My check-in was great. The front desk agent was extremely friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel. First, I would like to personally apologize to you in regards to your bad night sleep, we do want our guest to relax and refresh while they are with us. We do have security personal who patrol the hallways and they... More

Grapevine, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Great location! This is about the only positive thing I can say. We stayed four nights (family of three with a 12 year old). The first night after I finally got to sleep with a pillow over my head I was woken up again at 3am by drunks in the hall being loud, running from room to room, and slamming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel. I am very sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations. We always try to keep all of our guests as comfortable as possible, this is our core focus. As a whole, Banff tends to get a bit busier... More

Wayne, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Booked a summer stay here for my partner's brithday vacation. I am still annoyed that i didn't choose the alternative - which was only $15 more. The Mount Royal is in a good location. However, that's where the positives for this hotel end for me. Upon check-in I explained that it was a special brithday trip and any consideration for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your last visit at the Mount-Royal hotel. I was very sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We always try to give complementary upgrade for special occasion as often as possible. Unfortunately it is not always feasible, those rooms may have been sold... More

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Excellent location, Walking distance to any place in Banff, Shuttle for the ski hill picks you up at the doors, No pool but a great hot tub. The interior is rustic and classy! Great pricing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel. I was very happy to read that you’ve enjoyed yourself while you were at the hotel. The ski bus pick-up location is for sure very convenient, literally seconds away from our back door. I was also pleased to see that you... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay