We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Royal Hotel

138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    231
    141
    54
    29
See reviews for
93
282
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (591)
  • Mar-May only
    (119)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (187)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (149)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (136)
All months
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Mount Royal. The hotel is situated right in the middle of Banff Ave so a great location! Our room was very clean & the staff were friendly & helpful. Our safe did not work so I called the front desk & a maintenance guy arrived to fix it within 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Decided to stay at the Mount Royal because of great downtown location. Our Hotel room was recently renovated but done on the cheap. It definately is a 2 or 3 star hotel but you cannot beat the location. We enjoy a day on the slopes, quick shower and then a night on the town.....so for that reason....It is an economical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Twogoodtrends Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed. We found it a joy to have hosted you. Thank you again for sharing with us. We truly look forward... More 

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Pinnicle suite . When sat on the couch had amazing views from all 3 sides .The room was huge . It is very old and dated but goes with the setting of Banff . Everything was very clean and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The location is second to none being right on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cocowarnes Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us. We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you in-house. Thank you again for sharing with us... More 

Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you want a central place in Banff Mount Royal hotel is for you. It is an older hotel but it still has great character. The ceiling are so nice and tall it gives the rooms a nice open feel. If your looking for a place within walking distances of all the great banff nightlife this spot couldn’t get any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dana Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased... More 

Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked about 3 weeks in advance, booked a King bed. Upon arrival, we were told they didnt have any left, they would give us 2 queens. I was not happy as we booked so far ahead. When we got to the room, it had to small double beds, very uncomfortable for 2 people to sleep in one. The whirlpool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Henrietta We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We take great pride in offering the best to our guests and your experience is not common with our normal standards. Thank you for your constructive comments. I have taken the liberty to share your specific comments... More 

Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights over the holidays. They had ample parking and the check in process was very fast and efficient. We chose to store our skis in our room which wasn't a problem, but there were also complimentary ski lockers on site. Our room had a king bed and a mountain view.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jessica Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Mount Royal Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 nights spent here. The room was quite large, the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom amenities were good. We did, however find the room too warm for our liking and were unable to alter temperature using the control on the wall so we turned it off and opened the window! This worked for us. What... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul & Marnie Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! We were pleased to hear of the pleasant experience you received during your recent stay. We found it a joy to have hosted you. We always strive to ensure that our guests are happy during their stay. We thank you for your Constructive comments which will help us to improve... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Pros: As central a location to Banff as is possible, this hotel is close to everything in 'downtown' Banff. It is a bit of a ways to the Hot Springs (Although everything in Banff is a bit of a ways from the Hot Springs except for the Rimrock) but it is conveniently located within a hundred meters to most of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dresdenk Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay. It is great to hear you... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel back in january this year it was the best experience ever the hotel was amazing the staff were amazing the town was beautiful never have or will see a better place and altho it was -40 outside it always felt warm and cosy in the hotel and rooms it was clean and tidy the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel. I was very pleased that you enjoyed yourself while staying at our hotel. I have taken the liberty to pass on all of your nice comments to our staff. We do take great pride in proving excellent customer service to all our guests, and we are humbled that we made an extra... More 

Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The rooms specially the front side view is just too good . luxury at its best . The rooms are large with all possible facilities. Centrally located in Market and near to tourist bus stop make it easily accessible. The food is nice also but what touches the most is the service .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phonix Greeetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! It was a pleasure fo us to host your visit to Banff . It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location and all our town has to offer its guests. We are truly humbled and found... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

140 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question