We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Royal Hotel

138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    236
    142
    55
    30
See reviews for
96
288
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (605)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (187)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (149)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (136)
All months
There are newer reviews for Mount Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked 10 nights at the Mount Royal Hotel from 13th February until 23rd February 2013 and had read all of the reviews prior to booking. It was our first time staying at this hotel. This was our 6th trip to Banff so we are very familiar with the area and knew the hotel was in a fantastic location for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tomsuz Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! I was glad to read that you and your family had a good experience while you were staying with us, and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. As a team we always strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff went out... More 

canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed a weekend in this modest older hotel. It was quiet even though it was on the major street. The parking for cars was bait awkward as there were too few spaces for the guests. The hotel is well situated for many restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Harp I was pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received while you were with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We are happy to have had a positive impact on your stay. Thank you for sharing with us, I... More 

Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We travel quite a bit in Canada and have been quite lucky in getting good service and good hotels. However, in Banff, this hotel ranks fairly low. The hotel is quite old and needs updating with water stains on the ceiling and dim lighting; staff seem to be sparse with no night crews or security to clean up the pizza... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel. We are very sorry and deeply regret that our services and facilities were not satisfactory during your recent stay with us. We take great pride in offering the best to our guests and your experience is not common with our normal... More 

St. Albert, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Checked in on Friday night Feb 15, and were kept up from 10pm - 5am with the noise of a group that had been placed on the same floor as us. Furthermore we were placed 2 doors down from the elevator to make things worse. We were startled at 2am when a girl stepped off the elevator and shreaked at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Will, Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! We have taken good note of your comments during your recent stay with us and I was deeply saddened to learn of the unfortunate experience you encountered in the evening as well as with our services. We pride ourselves in offering only the best to our guests and assure this experience is... More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It's old to be sure, but the rooms were updated, the plumbing and heating worked surprisingly well for a heritage building and the location is unbeatable. The room was fairly small and down the end of long, windy hallways but once inside, it was great. The bed was comfy, the linens new and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! We were pleased to hear of your pleasant experience while staying with us. We strive to ensure that our guests are happy during their stay. It is fantastic to hear that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s facilities, and all our town has to offer its guests. We found... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

As there is no 3.5, I assess the Mount Royal Hotel as a 4 out of 5, but most of those points are because it has an unbeatable location in the heart of Banff downtown, with convenient parking at the back of the property. Mount Royal Hotel offers value for money if you can't afford the Rim Rock or the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karforr Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! I was very pleased to read that you had a good experience while staying with us. We are one of the best placed hotels in town, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. As a team we strive to provide the best for our guests and found it a joy to... More 

Edwardsville, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great value for your money. Excellent, friendly staff. Located in the town. Close to all ammendities. Comfortable beds and room was nice. Surrounded by the shopping district. View from our room was amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! I was glad to read about your exceptional experience while staying with us. And that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel. It is very practical indeed, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. We strive to ensure our guests are happy and I am pleased to see that staff... More 

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I really liked our room, it was the cheapest option in hotel, room had 2 queen beds and a separate area with small coffee table, chairs, coach, it was separated from bedroom. There are some minuses: one air duct was very dirty and water was not hot in hot tub. However, I'll give 5 stars for excellent value of price.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marina Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! I was glad to read that you enjoyed your experience while you were staying with us. We strive to ensure that all our guests are happy, and we found it a joy to have had you in-house. We thank for your constructive comments, I have taken the liberty to pass them on... More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. The value was fantastic, it was so cheap I was not expecting it to be anywhere near as nice as it was. The rooms were very modern, TV quite large with a good choice of channels. I had read previous reviews that said there was no fridge, so we prepared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joolery It was a pleasure to host your visit to both Banff and the Mount Royal Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m happy that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location and all our town has to offer its guests. We found it a joy to have served you... More 

Maryland Line, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Two nights in mid-summer. Had asked for basic housing on fairly short notice & was given gloomy comfortable room deep in winding bowels of building; view of ventilation equipment. Bathroom cramped; nice tub. The room was only for sleeping & it was GREAT to be in the center of town. Staff friendly. Would stay again --- but Homestead Inn is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Manager on Duty at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Venturesome Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel! I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us and that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the hotel, right in the heart of downtown Banff. We thank for your constructive comments, I have taken the liberty to pass them on to the appropriate... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question