We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Royal Hotel

138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    145
    250
    148
    60
    31
See reviews for
104
303
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (634)
  • Mar-May only
    (142)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (207)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (149)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (136)
All months
limassol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had booked this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour package and were disappointed when we checked in after a long flight from the eastern Mediterranean. Exiting the lift we had to walk down a long corridor, down steps and into our room where the first thing I noticed was a stained carpet and torn curtain. From... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you are a light sleeper do not stay here. We stayed here our last night in Banff because we got a deal on the room. Remember you get what you pay for. The room came with its own set of ear plugs for everyone so I should have known. It wasn't even the noise from the street either. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Mount Royal is centrally located in Banff. We took a shuttle within 1-2 blocks of the hotel to get to the Gondola, later walked to Bow Falls. The only "complaint" we had was lack of a bath mat. Room was spacious, beds were good, building was nice. Really nothing wrong and a very good value - you could spend a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kailua
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice hotel situated right on the main avenue in Banff. It is very convenient to use this hotel as home-base to get out and about around town. There are shops and restaurants right outside of the hotel, all within easy walking distance. The room is spacious and clean, although the bathroom is very small for some reason.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dennis C, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel, we are very glad to hear that you had such a good stay in Banff and enjoyed your time with us. If you are back in the area in the future I truly hope that you will choose to stay with us again, we would be... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Late check in, but room ready. Clean and tidy bedroom, although carpets desperately need a good clean. Best power shower we had during our entire trip. Mathieu on the front desk, was one of the most helpful people we came across during our trip. From the moment we got there, he was full of suggestions on what to see and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Therese Gunnars at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trudee15, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had such a good stay in Banff and enjoyed our downtown location. We especially thank you for your kind words about our staff, I am very glad that they were able to enhance your experience. Regarding the carpets, I... More 

Edmonton
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Terrible, we checked in around 5pm, dirty laundry outside most of the rooms. Room had terrible outdated decor which would not have been an issue but it was not clean, especially the rug. A card with complimentary ear plugs was on the night stand. At this time of the day, 5pm it was already very noisy with alot of partying,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hallidays Point, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great hotel located in the centre of town. I was a bit concerned upon finding a set of ear plugs by the bed but soon found out why. There was a pub on the next corner with merry makers still going in the early hours of the morning. The room was good and clean. The view from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pat 542, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Banff and our downtown location. Unfortunately, our location do come with some noise during the busy season. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. In regards to milk, the reason for the... More 

Mundesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked 4 nights here at the end of this years Rockies trip as I'd got such a good deal through Canadian Affair. But after booking I had read a few dodgy reviews on Tripadvisor and was questioning my wisdom. I needn't have worried. There were no problems whatsoever. I had emailed the hotel twice with a couple of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear poppyland3, Thank you for leaving us such a glowing review. I’m very thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Ben and Kayla and to the rest of our staff. We all look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Meaghan Young Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beds were comfortable. Room was clean. Staff friendly and responsive. Our room was on Banff Avenue, 2nd floor, so it had a view of mountains and downtown shopping. I had a very hard time sleeping, because of all the noise coming from the bars outside the hotel. They were still going at 2am. Don't stay on Banff if you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear irvingbb, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. I’m terribly sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. Please be assured that I have passed along your housekeeping and hotel maintenance concerns to our Department Managers for immediate attention. With our location being right downtown at times noise can be an issue,... More 

girton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a central position .the rooms are clean and well appointed.The staff are keen to help and very cheerful.We really enjoyed oil staythe staff made reservations for trips for us and made good suggestions about walks and what to do.Only downside was that the room cleaners were understaffed and on our second day the room was not cleaned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear domainegirton, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are glad to hear that you had such a good stay in Banff and enjoyed your time with us. I sincerely apologize for our housekeeping services not being adequate and assure you that we take all feedback seriously in order to serve you better in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

145 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay