We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Banff hotels

Mount Royal Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
68%
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Banff
A recent review
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    181
    93
    42
    24
See reviews for
71
205
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a great stay at Mount Royal. The beds were incredible - only criticism is that we found it hard to get out of them to explore banff! Fantastic value for money and in the perfect location right in the centre of town. Would definitely stay again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paula1305 Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel It is fantastic to hear that you found such great value in our property and please accept our apologies that you found our beds so comfortable; our intention was not to impede your exploration of the area. We do also thank you for pointing out our fantastic... More

Beautiful BC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff here were all exceptionally welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed quite comfortable. Rate was very reasonable. It is very handy to great restaurants and shopping as well as local bus service. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Miraclesmom Thank you for your very kind words about your recent visit to the Mount Royal Hotel It is fantastic to know that you found our staff so exceptional during your visit, being among them it is always good to know that we are achieving that which we set out to do and we thank you for these comments... More

Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were staying in Banff for one night before going to the Fairmont Lake Louise. This hotel was convenient for that purpose alone. The room was very outdated. And the bathroom was more or less horrible. I wouldn't even take a shower there because it was that bad. Tiles were coming off the floor, the toilet paper was at least... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ikslum19: Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We always strive to anticipate our guest's expectations and I am very sorry that we did not meet yours. Most of our rooms have been renovated lately and have a sleek, modern look combined with the older character of the downtown building. We have also extensively refurbished our... More

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked two rooms last year when visiting and showing some friends from overseas around. I've been to a lot of hotels in Banff around the same price range as this one and they all seem to be very outdated, however the Mount Royal hotel rooms are very modern, sleek, yet still very comfortable and nice. Staff was nice, rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia L, We are delighted that you found our rooms simultaneously modern, clean and comfortable. We intend to provide great value in a great location with very nice staff and to receive your feedback that we hit the mark with you is gratifying to everyone in the venture. We thank you for taking the time to post your comments,... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights at the Mount Royal with my wife in December. We loved it and were very happy with our choice. Value was excellent as we booked using the third night free deal. We had a fantastic room that had a great view out over the street and up to the mountains. Parking was free behind the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Labroy Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel We are very glad to hear we were able to provide you with such a fantastic experience during the holiday season, we always strive to provide the best facilities and customer service possible and it’s always good to know we have met those expectations. I have passed... More

Alberta
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We live in Calgary and often visit Banff as its such a short and lovely drive into the mountains. We often stay downtown at numerous hotels but thought we'd give the Mount Royal a try for a change. I'll start off by saying the hotel is lovely, as are all the staff and very polite. We did encounter a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel First and foremost we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have had with parking during your stay with us. Unfortunately due to land restrictions within National Park boundaries and particularly in downtown, parking is one of Banffs... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Having just returned from our 3rd visit to this hotel we can highly recommend it, our stay was excellent as was our room. We found the staff, including the cleaners very welcoming, and polite, no request from us ignored, and the value for money was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel It is fantastic to hear you had such a great return visit with us and that our staff were able to provide you with the best experience possible as we always strive to do and I have passed your comments on to all of them, they’re always happy to... More

Poulton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, perfect central location, relaxed friendly atmosphere. All staff we met were friendly efficient, helpful and gave excellent service. No complaints at all, would definitely recommend this hotel & would return there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dgrantham, Thank you for your most recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. I will make sure to pass on your wonderful comments to our staff. We are so pleased that that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be happy to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Meaghan Young Front Desk Supervisor Brewster Hospitality More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just returned from our annual 10 day ski holiday based in Banff. Have previously stayed at the Red Carpet (once), Inns of Banff (twice), and Caribou Lodge (3 times) on Banff Avenue, but thought we'd try the Mount Royal due to it's central location. (walking into town and back in the evenings when it's minus 20+ can be a challenge)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Mount Royal (Feb 2014) - I think I read somewhere that the hotel had recently undergone a refurb but it wasn't obvious. The rooms are dated and the carpets look old - the bathrooms certainly weren't new (except perhaps the sink??). If they have spent money recently then they didn't spend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We take your comments very seriously and they provide us with fuel to step up our efforts to always improve our service and to provide the best possible service. I apologize that certain features of your stay were not satisfactory, in particular the noise issues that you had to contend with. I have been... More

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.