We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Banff hotels

Mount Royal Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Hotel amenities
Mount Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
alhan10 Calgary, Canada
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    222
    137
    53
    27
See reviews for
91
268
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (565)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (187)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (149)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (121)
All months
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The price was very good so we chose it. Quite honestly, based on the price the hotel, it could have gone either way, but it was reasonably clean, free parking and wifi so I can't complain. Best of all was location in the heart of downtown. It's not a quiet hotel and you can hear doors slamming and partiers outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geelong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We mixed conference attendance in Banff with some skiing at Sunshine. The hotel provided comfortable accommodation, a ski package, and ski storage. Front desk staff were very helpful. Breakfasts were generous and set us up for the day. The hotel bar had a welcome ambience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RossGeelong We are very happy to hear that you had such a positive experience with us and we thank you very much for taking the time to write this glowing review of the Mount Royal Hotel. Experiences like yours are what we strive to provide all of our guests and on behalf of all of us at Brewster Hospitality... More 

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is great for what it is...a perfectly located downtown Banff hotel with easy access to the ski resorts. I experienced none of the noise issues that others are mentioning...maybe I got lucky or maybe I'm just a deep sleeper. You go to Banff to ski, drink, and eat. If you do those 3 things...and do them right...you'll sleep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tyler K Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are very happy to hear you had such a positive experience with us at the hotel coupled with a fantastic time skiing at the many resort options available from Banff by Skibus. We also thank you for pointing out our fantastic location in the Heart... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is great. Located right downtown, but still very affordable. The hotel is a little older, but has been renovated and kept up well. The room was clean and the staff was great. The bed was easily the comfiest I've slept in at a hotel. There are lots of great pubs/restaurants/bars close by. I would definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve M On behalf of all of us at Brewster Hospitality we deeply thank you for taking the time to leave us your glowing review of the Mount Royal Hotel. Guest experiences like yours are what we strive to provide all of our guests and we are very happy to hear you so thoroughly enjoyed our fantastic location in... More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights 10th & 11th Jan 2015. Noise from guests in adjacent rooms and corridor was incredible and went on until 3am both nights. Noise outside the hotel in the street below at the front of the hotel was bad too. It seems the hotel is nothing more than a hostel for winter sports louts. Bar area in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James D Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel First and foremost please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced with noise; we deeply regret how this affected your stay. We are committed to giving our guests a peaceful nights sleep and our staff are always ready to deal with these types of... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Mount Royal from the 31th December 2014 until the morning of the 2nd January 2015. As you can imagine the price was fairly steep but this is to be expected over New Years and we knew that'd be the case. The location of the Hotel is great, right on the main street with everything extremely close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James_hannay88 Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. First and foremost I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced in regards to noise. Our staff is always ready to address noise complaints as soon as we are aware of them, we are sorry they affected you but we are glad our staff could... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Mount Royal is in a great location in the heart of downtown Banff. All the main restaurants and bars are close, and the ski buses leave from the car park to the rear of the hotel. The green choice policy was innovative with the guests benefiting with $5 restaurant credit if they opt out of room service. Overall offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathy B Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your visit to the Mount Royal Hotel. We are very happy to hear you had such a positive experience with us and enjoyed our great location, Green Choice Program and free Wi-Fi. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is in downtown so we don't have to take a cab or drive to go places. The staffs were friendly and the room is clean and functional and was ready when we checked in. Will definitely recommend this hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kim B Thank you for leaving us such a nice review, we really appreciate your feedback. We are very happy that you had such a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our friendly staff. We hope you will have a chance to stay with us again! Sincerely, Meaghan Young Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality More 

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is old but was pretty nice. The beds comfortable. They also have the Green Choice program, that I think more hotels should have. If you opt out of house keeping services they give you a $5 credit to the restaurants in the hotel. The only down side I guess was the jacuzzi and sauna area was pretty run... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear daunaraew Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. First and foremost I would like to sincerely apologize about any issues you may have experienced in regards to noise in the hotel, we want to ensure our guests get a good night sleep and have regular security patrols to minimize the amount of disturbances that take... More 

Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you want to be in walking distance of everything in downtown Banff, then this is the place to stay! Step out of the lobby and you can walk to all the stores, restaurants and attractions in town. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The hotel was remodeling the lobby during my stay, but the noise didn't penetrate the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KelseyIvey, Thank you very much for your recent review. We very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were not disturbed by our lobby renovations. We hope you will get a chance to see the Lobby now that our renovations are completed. Thank you for mentioning our downtown location, it is very convenient for our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay