We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Banff hotels

Mount Royal Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Hotel amenities
Mount Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Banff
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Tony K Scottburgh, South Africa
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    229
    140
    54
    28
See reviews for
92
277
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (581)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (187)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (149)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (136)
All months
Scottburgh, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

I read a few reviews before staying here, but as we were here for a mini-conference the booking was fait-accompli. I was pleasantly surprised to have nice room of comfortable size, comfortable bed, nice big screen TV so I didnt have to fall asleep while destroying my glasses; clean bathrooms and all the bathroom amenities one needed. We also had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony K, Thank you for leaving us such a positive review of your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us. Your kind words about our staff is much appreciated. We hope you can come back and stay with us again in the future. Sincerely,... More 

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay one night here and i was appreciated for its location, many shops and food around, value of money and big room. Their staff is helpful too, especially for my parking issue. It is truely that I will stay again if i back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eric H, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel, we are very pleased to hear that you had such a good stay with us! We thank you for your kind words about our staff and the hotel, we look forward to having you stay with us when you are in the area again! Thank you... More 

Halifax
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 5 nights recently for a ski/snow board trip. It was clean and the location was perfect for what we wanted to do. Ski bus pick up in the back lot. Close to restaurants, ski shops, and bars. It was clean and the staff were very friendly and always helpful. The room was a bit small for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bruce S, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel, we are very pleased to hear that you had such a good stay with us and thank you for your kind words about our staff. Some of the rooms in our hotel unfortunately are a little smaller, but should you come back in the future we’d... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotels best asset is its location, literally in the middle of town and on the main street means that it is perfect walking distance to pretty much anywhere. The rooms weren't massive but they were adequate and clean. House keeping didn't come one of the three nights we stayed, but the hotel staff were polite enough, but not overly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dsm2211, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t find our staff overly helpful, and assure you that we take all feedback seriously in order to improve our service and make it a better experience for guests. Should you come back in the future we will do our... More 

medicine hat
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and i chose this hotel because of it's location as well as it's grand appearance. Our room was small, but we knew this when we booked. It was clean but very noisy. Pop machines somewhere in the hotel would be a good idea as well as room service. My only complaint would of been the parking issues. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MedicineHatPookaloo Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel First and foremost I would like to address your concerns about parking. We apologize for the issues you experienced and as you quite rightly said, it is extremely limited. You might be surprised to learn that parking is less of an issue in the summertime due to... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything you could want. Very helpful staff, nice bar with good food. Excellent location, we spent our time walking in the area, shopping in the town and going out to eat and drink. Well served by the Brewster transport, getting back to Calgary or on to Lake Louise was very easy from here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David T We thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your visit to the Mount Royal Hotel. We are very happy to hear you had such a positive experience with us and we thank you for your kind words about our staff and for pointing out our fantastic location which does make... More 

2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here for a weekend getaway in November and it was a nice old hotel, very cool looking on the outside and the room was nice and spacious with large ceilings and two beds. Hallway noises were present but not as bad as expected. Great view of the busy road from the room. Hotel staff was mildly curt when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ranillabean Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. First and foremost I would like to address your concern about the damage deposit given on check-in. To be fair to all guests we do require one from every person that checks in with us and it is certainly not intended to put you off and we... More 

Reading
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel with family and friends and although it is in a great location in Banff being right in the middle I was disapointed with the house keeping staff. They didn't seem to have a check list to work to. We were provided with tea and coffee making facilities however they were not stocked up each day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wyvan Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel. First and foremost I would like to sincerely apologize for the lapse of housekeeping service that occurred during the occasion of your visit. We have passed all of your comments on to our housekeeping management in order to avoid these kinds of shortfalls in the future. We... More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a great location in downtown Banff. It's is an average hotel and the rooms are clean but a bit shabby. You get what you pay for. Very comfy beds. Staff very helpful. Very poor hot tub and sauna. Noisy hotel but we were on room 270 which is at the end of a short corridor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rhona321 Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel First and foremost I would like to apologize for any issues you may have had which generated some of the comments in your review regarding the room and hot tub area. I am glad however to receive your comments about our staff and I’m happy to hear... More 

Calgary
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very great room! To start, I was very impressed with the layout of the room, high ceilings and magnificent bathroom fixtures. I could tell it was recently renovated. Great front desk service and nice staff all around. You got to try the Tony Romas restaurant which is right inside the hotel as well. We went to the lounge which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike D, Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel, we are very pleased that you had such a good stay with us! We are sorry that we weren't able to accommodate your request of a view of Banff Avenue, I assure you we always do our best to meet all the requests we get. Should... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (132)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay