We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

High Country Inn

419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
High Country Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    44
    112
    41
    6
    7
See reviews for
60
90
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (210)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On Aug 22 my sister and I stayed at this great place. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Rooms were a great size, clean and very comfortable. The hotel offered a continental breakfast. You could not ask for a better location. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Innisfree, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So we landed not just the most friendly front desk staff ever...she LOVED her job and you could tell...the honeymoon sweet was only about $250 with a huge two person jet tub....great place...great vibe...great people...would go again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so kindly for your positive feedback about our hotel, it is very much appreciated! I am happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in our Honeymoon Suite. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future :) Warn regards, Lucinda Wynn Front Office Manager. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice clean hotel. The pool and hot tub were very nice, as is the continental breakfast. The staff are excellent. They are friendly and efficient. The scenery is lovely. I would recommend this hotel as the price and rooms are comparable to every other hotel in Banff. Waking up and looking out to see mountains in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your kind feedback concerning our property, it is greatly appreciated! I am glad to hear you took advantage of the pool and hot tub facilities and also enjoyed our free continental breakfast. We look forward to hosting you and your family again in the near future! Take care, Lucinda Wynn Front Office Manager. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was just fine for what we wanted for one night: good price on 2 queen room (good size rooms), easy walking to village, pool for kids. It seems friendly locally run, was clean, not totally run down, but underwhelmed on overall appearance, details, ambience, furnishings, breakfast, etc. Good enough, not terrible, but not high marks and I suppose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to rectify the problem of the loud AC unit and move you to a different room with a better view. Warn regards, Lucinda Wynn Front Office Manager More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night. Hotel staff were attentive. Parking was underground. Breakfast was continental and average, similar to other hotels in this category. I suggest they offer almond milk for lactose intolerant guests which was missing. Beds were comfortable. A nice discovery was that our two friends staying down the road at another hotel with no meal plan were able... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you kindly for writing a review of our property, it is always appreciated! We hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes, Lucinda Wynn Front Office Manager. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A little disappointed in this hotel. Small lobby - looks like it needs some refurbishing. Lady at reception wasn't at her desk alot and people were quite annoyed. The main reason I booked this hotel was for the a/c. But it was impossible to run because it was SO noisy. The bed was comfortable though and a nice walk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am sorry to hear you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay at our property. We are certainly looking into renovating our reception area but due to Summer time being the busiest part of the year we cannot conduct these plans until the winter season. We try our best to accommodate all guest needs and sometimes it does... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was large , clean and comfortable and the balcony view was lovely. The pool area is very good with a large and a small Jacuzzi and was empty on both days we were there. We were there for two nights and the breakfasts on both days were pretty good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of our hotel, it is greatly appreciated. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and had time to use the pool and hot tub facilities. We look forward to hosting you and your family again in the near future! Best wishes,... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice place with refurbished rooms and about a 5 block walk from the city center. Nice view from the room, underground parking, solid continental free breakfast, well trained staff. Rooms have air conditioning but ours was struggling to keep up on a warm day. It was fine once the sun had started to set.

Was this review helpful? Yes
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Kinda regards, Lucinda Wynn Front Office Manager. More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A nice place to stay in Banff, on the central avenue. Staff was friendly. We had booked 7 rooms for 2 nights. Breakfast is basic and passable. Lobby is small but warm. Rooms have balconies. The wash basin is outside the bathroom in each room. Window AC's in each room

Was this review helpful? Yes
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you kindly for taking the time to review our property - it is greatly appreciated! Lucinda Wynn Front Office Manager. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.4 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay