We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Banff hotels

Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Hotel amenities
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banff Rocky Mountain Resort to your Saves list
70%
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Banff
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014
M-Urban99 Spruce Grove, Canada
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    207
    109
    38
    21
See reviews for
160
196
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (508)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (179)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (130)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
There are newer reviews for Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
See the most recent reviews
Spruce Grove, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

we have been coming here as a family a few times a year, and enjoy being a ways from town Cooking facilities with stove, microwave and BBQ save money. Beds are comfortable. Good exercise facility and large outdoor Jacuzzi, kids like indoor pool kids programs and tennis courts Internet and cable have always worked well

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoy your time with us. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife while on our way to a get away in BC .we were more than shocked when we went into the room which had two double beds and no air conditioning !! The room was small and the pathway to our room which was at the back of the section we were staying in was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. We do not advertise that we have air conditioning. We have fans. Your comments about it being dark in the evening concerns me and I will have a look and see what we can do about the lighting. More

Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Disappointed when we arrive to hot weather and there was no air conditioning. They offered fans but that would hardly cut the heat. Internet and television not working and no microwaves in rooms. Phoned front desk about internet and tv services and indicated that they were working on fixing the problem. The next morning it was finally up and running... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the resort. We appreciate your comments. Yes, it was hot in Banff while you were here. We do offer fans and I am sorry to hear that you felt they were inadequate. Microwaves are something we are considereing for the junior suites so apprecaite you suggestion.... More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have been timeshare owners at BRMR for the last 24 years and we did not trade this year but stayed during our week. The resort continues to be upgraded and it shows. The Wolf Suites are excellent! A few notes for potential new visitors: There is a shared BBQ area where visitors meet and cook together. It may seem... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. More

Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel seems appealing from the pictures but its not such when you arrive. Some of the staff are very young and do not know how to handle guests but luckily we kept in contact with the manager. The place around the hotel is beautiful u can't go wrong in Banff I'd recommend checking bedding and all parts if your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is great that you used to work in Banff. It is a beautiful place. Bed bugs travel with people to hotels. Have we had bed bugs at the resort, yes. Is it a regular occurence, absolutely not. Our rooms are very clean and for your information bed bugs do not care whether rooms are... More

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed in two bedroom condo whilst the condo is well equipped it was tired, dark & gloomy. The bedrooms where small. Each condo has a balcony but there is no privacy & other guests wandered onto ours. We had planned to eat in the restaurant but it is next to the pool & the smell of chlorine was over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and will keep them in mind as we continue to upgrade the resort. More

St.Albert
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had stayed in BRMR a few years back and loved the place so thought we would 'splurge' <not sure what that means for Banff> and booked a Jr. Queen Suite (#1013) for the final two days of our road trip before heading home. (Actual cost with taxes was $199.01 per night.) This complex is located in a gorgeous setting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our resort. You did have lots of great things to say about the resort. You liked the location, the amenities offered and you found the staff charming. Your comment about the bed concerns me. The beds are all new and they have feather beds on top. It... More

Milford, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a 2 bedroom condo for a week in July. When we first checked in, I was a little disappointed-even though I had read the units were small, it felt closed in. However, once we settled in, it was fine; we really did not spend that much time there. We had an end unit (2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the resort. Yes, we do offer different room types at the resort. All the upstairs units are two bedrooms and the square footage is the same in all of them. The Wolf two bedrooms have slightly larger bedrooms as we have removed the closet in... More

Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I expected much more than we got here. The room was decent with 2 queen beds. As others have commented, wifi is practically non-existent. Cable reception was horrible too. Closed captioning was on when we turned on the TV and it didn't take long to figure out why. The hotel pool was small and the workout room was bad. Both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent TripAdvislr review with specific examples of wheer we failed to meet your expecations on your recent visit. I sincerely apologize for the lapeses in the service. We appreciate hearing from all our guests and your comments will help us improve the service. We are currently replacing on the hardware on site for our wifi service.... More

Pueblo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The positive things first: 1. BRMR is a nice distance from the busy-ness of Banff in the summer, and parking is free. (The town of Banff just switched to mostly paid parking on the street.) Although it's on the main road, it's fairly quiet at the resort. 2. Good size bathrooms, with both tub and shower. Everything worked. Nice size... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the resort. It was lovely to see that there were many things you enjoyed: the location, the size of the bathrooms and tubs, the guided hikes, shuttle servie and our friendly and helpful staff. I did want to comment on some of your suggestions... More

Do you own or manage Banff Rocky Mountain Resort?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (127)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Banff Rocky Mountain Resort