We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

2.5 of 5 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    222
    115
    40
    22
See reviews for
167
208
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (540)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (179)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (157)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (89)
All months
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This place was overall wonderful. The services and front desk staff are amazing and the upgraded wolf condo was very clean and nice (although the one bedroom was a little small, I will upgrade to the two bedroom next time which is quite spacious). The only negatives from the whole experience are that the location it is slightly outside of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly reception, condo rooms are fully furnished including workable kitchens. TV comes with DVD, wifi works comfortably. The indoor pool and hot tub and sauna are found in working order and the outdoor hot tub is large and wild to use with snow all around! There is an excellent fitness facility in the main building. The Bistro is friendly with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate hearing from you and were glad to see that you were happy with the amenities we provide at the resort. Yes, we do offer a limited menu in Peppers as most of our rooms have full ktichens. We price the menu at less than you would pay at a downtown restaurant. We are about 4 km from downtown... More 

Sandpoint, Idaho
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the same cost as a basic room, we were upgraded to a Wolf Suite, just because. Full kitchen is well stocked for cooking everything. Cute little fireplace with wood supplied. Bathroom was very nice and the shampoo and soaps smelled so good. Price is right, friendly staff, cozy room with full kitchen. Perfect getaway spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and the new wolf unit. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. I think we have some great staff here, too. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very cute and in a beautiful setting. We stayed in a one bedroom condo with a little fire place. It was very clean, but looking a little worn, could use a coat of paint. It had a full kitchen, which would have been great to cook your own meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate hearing from you. Thank you for your comments. More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We rented suite (wolf) and unit is very nice, clean. Everything you need for weekend getaway. First night was great but second one we got some guests above us ( I think they were with children). They didn't stop walking and going up and down the stairs...WOW wooden floors and wooden structure, it felt like they are on our heads.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Glad you enjoyed the wolf suite. More 

Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to stay a further 2 nights. The Fox was sold out, so they recommended their sister hotel. Not actually in Banff but a 4 minute drive from the Fox. Chalet style house on 2 floors. One bedroom has no storage for clothes, so lived out of suitcase. Free shuttle into Banff. Last shuttle back 23.15. The restaurant, Peppers, is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in regards to your room or the service in Peppers. We appreciate hearing from all our guests both good and bad as it helps us improve our service. More 

Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

On day 3 of our stay of 5 days, our room had not been cleaned or tidied by staff, so I went to the front desk. The two younger employees were very kind and professional and said they would look into it for me. The manager, Neli, came out at the end of the conversation and was very rude, made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize that we did not clean your room daily while you were with us and that you did not find our staff as helpful as they could be. Glad to see that your concerns were addressed by a senior manager. It is always troubling to hear that we have not met a guests expectations. Should you decide to... More 

Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We booked a one bedroom condo on-line for two days at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, which is about 7 minutes East of Banff. The front desk clerk was very courteous and he explained all the hotel amenities and where our unit was located. I was impressed that they provided a free shuttle to Banff on the hour and return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Yes, some guests can be noisy in the upper units. More 

Wenatchee, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

You can hike most trails with your pet in the Canadian Rocky Mountain parks. We spent a wonderful week with our dog at the Banff Rocky Mountain Lodge. They have designated three of their Condo buildings for pet owners. For a seven-night stay, they charge an additional $75.00. If requested they will provide you with a very nice dog bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Yes, both Banff and Canmore have beautiful walking trails and the off lease park in Canmore does have stunning views. Living here we sometimes take it for granted so it is always lovely to hear from someone who enjoys the beautiful scenery. More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We stayed two nights at this resort. We had a kitchen, one bedroom unit. To be honest I wouldn't stay again. The place is very run down and needs a lot of maintenance. Our room was so small I couldn't even put my tiny carry on suitcase on the floor. The bathroom was clean enough and fine as was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. The one bedroom is a great size for two people. If you had four guests in the room a two bedroom unit would have given you more space to spread out. If you would have called the front desk we would have gladly brought you more... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (145)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay