We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banff Ptarmigan Inn

337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Hotel amenities
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

926 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Banff Ptarmigan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

What made this a wonderful experience were a combination of the people and the best food I have enjoyed in a long time. When we upgraded our room to a premium I was most excited to see the beautiful bathroom & fireplace, however, only one bed, which we were not advised and needed two. Unfortunately, the Premium rooms only have... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh M
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

Ashleigh and Deb – well you have successfully made me, and I am sure many others, hungry. Thank you for sharing your experience, and also for sharing the tip about the Premium room, we will make sure that we warn guests about the one bed prior to upgrading them in the future. I will pass on the nice remarks to... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We had a room with a balcany facing the front courtyard, The noice echoed into our room. The bed was nice, but the hotel was old and not updated. The only highlight of the free breakfest was the omlettes. Very small selection. I never thought you can cut bread so thin for the toast. Staff was nice, Spa room was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Grant B
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

Grant – welcome home and thank you for sharing your comments. We are truly sorry that the sauna was out of order this past weekend, however the part is en route and it should be back up and running in the next few days. Hopefully you will come and visit us again, and request a Superior room, so you have... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Beds were absolutely fantastically comfortable... but... the first room we were in had no heat, and even after asking for maintenance 3 times nothing was done. We were finally moved to another room, which had an excessive amount of heat... and the smallest bathroom ever. The remote didn't work, curtains and blankets had tears in them. The location of this... More 

Helpful?
Thank uprivercamaleon
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

Welcome home and thank you for the review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our beds; all of our rooms have our Mountain feather bedding, truly luxurious. However I am troubled to hear that you did not receive the superior service we strive to deliver. We will do our best to remedy this to ensure that every... More 

BERKSHIRE
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

excellent smaller hotel - but get an outside room for a window. Right smack in the middle of town. Bed extremely comfy and staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast included. Banff has lots of good restaurants. Staff a little slow but get there in the end.

Helpful?
Thank TILLYFARLAR
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

My husband and I had an executive suite the first weekend in November. It was perfect! Right downtown, very convenient. The fireplace was awesome beacuse it was starting to get chilly by this time. Every detail was thought of: a hair dryer, a clothes iron, water glasses, mini fridge, lots of extra towels, and a big comfy duvet. The bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaux M
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review – and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our Premium Suite. They are so cozy, especially in the winter months after a day of playing in the snow, between the fireplace and the jetted Jacuzzi tub it is hard to leave. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We just spent two nights at this hotel, and because I had read previous warnings, I did all we could to prevent certain pitfalls. We upgraded to an outside room in order to have a window, that we could open during the night when the room got too hot (We did sleep with the window open). We booked the top... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shauna T
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining with us, but I apologize that your hotel experience was not as enjoyable. I have followed up with the housekeeping department regarding the improper linen service and we will strive to ensure that this does not occur... More 

Revelstoke, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This hotel is very clean with knowledgeable, friendly staff. Our room had a super comfy bed and was well stocked including little Rocky Mountain soap bars! Complimentary breakfast was included with our stay and the menu had lots to offer. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Helpful?
Thank Christine D
canmore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed at this Inn recently and had a bad experience. First I checked into their smaller Inn called the Driftwood Inn and there was a group of rowdy students near my room carrying on and beer cans left in the lobby. I asked the front desk at Ptarmigan Inn to move me to the 2nd floor. They did and... More 

Helpful?
Thank potatosalad64

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Hotel is a little older but very clean and beds are clean and oh so comfortable. The breakfast was amazing and I can't say enough about the staff. They were all so kind and helpful. If you were ever questioning as to which hotel to stay in - this is the one.

Helpful?
Thank Gwen S
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Went on a romantic weekend and would stay here again. First I'll list the good: -amazing beds -very clean -bathrooms well stocked with soap, shampoo, sufficient towels, etc -good shower -Incredible hot rock sauna -very quiet -free breakfast: with lots of choices of food! Even an omelette station :) The bad: -nothing

Helpful?
Thank laurensof
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

166 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (151)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.3 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff International Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay