We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banff Ptarmigan Inn

337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

832 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    207
    295
    203
    80
    47
See reviews for
185
358
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (832)
  • Mar-May only
    (155)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (309)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (217)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (151)
All months
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Place was convenient as was close to the Banff Park Lodge where the conference I attended was located. Stayed for five nights and had the same breakfast menu every day. Accessibility to rooms was through small corridors. Room I stayed was satisfactory although was located at the other end from the lift.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Wash
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Dated, dirty, no A/C. Stayed there on 6/29/15. Booked and paid for a "superior room" and paid $216CA. The put us on the side of the hotel facing a construction project next door. Room had no A/C and it was 31 degrees Celsius in Banff. We called the desk and was told that we were indeed in a superior room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to read your review!! Please contact me to discuss. More 

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was old and run-down, the food was mediocre and the staff bordered on rude. Like other reviewers, we found our room to be intolerably hot. We had a nice large room with two queen beds, but only a small ineffective fan to cool it down. The room was already 28C when we arrived, and we could not get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to read of your disappointment with your recent stay with us. I am wondering if you brought your issues to our attention during your stay? When given the opportunity we will always do our best to accommodate your needs, and make things right. Our complimentary breakfast buffet has a wide selection of items to choose from, so... More 

Vanguard
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is old but clean and the staff are above average. I am not a nit picky person and I really like to get my money's worth and this hotel did just that. I was travelling with three teenagers, and the room was big enough to add a roll away bed. There is no air conditioning but hey its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, that the staff were great and that you felt you received great value. I would agree, our complimentary breakfast buffet is an awesome offering. Guests especially enjoy a the made-to-order omelet station. We appreciate the 5 Stars, and hope we... More 

Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel has a great location but NO air conditioning. The rooms open to the interior of the hotel so there is no way to get outside ventilation. This hotel would be perfect for winter travel, but avoid it in the summer. Their advertising says "climate controlled" which is misleading.

Was this review helpful? Yes
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We have experienced some unseasonably warm weather as of late. I'm sorry you felt your room to be too hot. Our interior facing rooms can become very warm at times, and we do provide fans to create some air flow. We do have rooms that face the exterior of the building, with windows that... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So, it is not completely the hotels fault that there is construction going on all around them, but they did choose to place me in a room right up against it. It was loud, from 5:00 am when the surveyors showed up till about 8:00 pm when the last crew left. The interior water pipe also must have run through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the construction next door. For future travelers, construction does not start at 5am as this review states, as there are town bylaws that prohibit this. I'm very pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and knowledgeable, we take great pride in providing great guest... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed there 3 days. When we booked the hotel, we requested for a room away from the construction but this front desk staff (Jamie - Australia) gave us a room right beside the construction site and she said there's nothing available aside from that room. Okay fine. But the way Jamie talked to us was not pleasant at all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to read you did not have an enjoyable stay, and that we were unable to move you away from the construction side of the property. Construction has left very little impact, and most guests have been undisturbed by this, as they are out during the day. Jaimee was very surprised and upset to read your comments,... More 

Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect location, easy walking distance, we always book a premium room and people its worth it, you get a fridge, fireplace and for an extra $15 night a balcony, note to management instead of the super low chairs on balconies please replace with bar stool types so you can actually sit and look at the views! Friendly staff and great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

I love that you LOVED this place!! Our location is very convenient for those wishing to be in the heart of Banff, and we do provide excellent value with our accommodation and complimentary breakfast buffet. I hope we can welcome you back again soon! More 

Buckhannon, WV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nice place, right downtown, good location. Great complimentary breakfast. But if you rely on the internet, don't stay here....The internet didn't work. I depend on it for business purposes, especially when I am traveling. I tried to get service in my room, in the lobby and in the other common areas. I had good signal, but thus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to read that you had issues with our internet connection. We did have a period recently where we had many problems, however this has been rectified. I do hope you will reconsider, and try us again. More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent three nights here recently. It is on the other side of the river which was nice to not be in the middle of town. It was an easy five minute walk to and from town. Our room was a huge room right off of the common area. We appreciated the fact that other guests were asked to not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (127)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay