We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banff International Hotel

333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Banff International Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    212
    129
    47
    22
See reviews for
123
187
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (494)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (158)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (104)
All months
There are newer reviews for Banff International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for a conference and stayed here. It was in a great location. The hotel itself was fairly dated and the wifi was terribly slow. The treadmill was good and the beds were comfortable. The shower had lots of pressure although it definitely looked well used

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ryan Greetings from the Banff International Hotel! It was a pleasure for us to host your visit to Banff. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We found it a joy to have hosted you in house. Thank you again for sharing your constructive comments with us, we do take take and we truly look forward... More 

Calgary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here for the most part. The room was a bit on the small side and its view out the window was a wall but it was very clean and the beds were comfortable. I liked that the duvets on the bed were very clean and white. We tried out the hot tub but it wasn't very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Smiley Greetings from the Banff International Hotel! Thank you for sharing your experience! We are happy to have been a positive part of your Banff holiday. I was very pleased that you enjoyed yourself while staying at our hotel. I have taken the liberty of sharing your specific comments with the appropriate departments. We are looking into the hotel... More 

Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here in February 2013 for a weekend and it was exactly as I expected. This is not a high end hotel but is good for what you pay. I recommend you check around on various websites for best pricing because there is variation out there on the same type of room. I was able to secure a room rate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alpha Greetings from the Banff International Hotel! Thank you for sharing your experience! We are happy to have been a positive part of your Banff holiday. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself while staying at our hotel. I have taken the liberty of sharing your specific comments with the appropriate departments. Thank you for your... More 

Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely and clean - helpful staff. But, if you need sleep forget it. The walls are paper thin. We were in a loft room - noise from people stomping up and down the stairs in next door room was so loud it woke us up - could hear conversations word for word. If we stay again will purchase ear plugs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from the Banff International Hotel! It was a pleasure for us to host your visit to Banff. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the constructive comments regarding noise levels, I will be sharing them with the rest of our team as we do use these comments as tools to help us improve.... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Location was great, walking distance to everything downtown. Rooms are updated but small, but how much time do you spend in your room anyway? Underground parking was included but was only 6'1", but the front desk staff was very helpful and had several other parking arrangements that we could use. Would stay there again. Took advantage of the package deal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bigpappa Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to ensure our guests are happy during their stay and our team is humbled and found it a joy to have hosted you in -house. We truly look forward to serving you again on... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel looked clean & tidy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Ben on reception being English was a bonus but he was also very obliging when I had a complaint about the noise in my room. He didnt hesiate to upgrade me to a lovely room with majestic views of the moutnains and over-looking main street, great for people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tina Greetings from the Banff International Hotel! I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. As customer service is one of our primary goals, I am pleased to see that the staff made you feel welcome and helped you to have a memorable stay.I will be sure to pass on... More 

Regina, Sk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited Mid February for some relaxation and recreation. The hotel is located in a fantastic spot close to practically everything. Safeway is next to it for easy access. Downtown shops, dining and clubs are within 1 minute walking distance and access from the highway is very convenient. The check in process was fast even though there was only 1 staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Awesomegary Greetings from the Banff International Hotel! We were pleased to hear of your pleasant experience while staying with us. We strive to ensure that our guests are happy during their stay. It is fantastic to hear that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s facilities, and all we have to offer our guests. I will be... More 

London, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been out to Banff a few times and my sister and her boyfriend now live there so I went out for a visit. Being that I wasn't going to be spending much time in our hotel I decided I would go a bit thrifty so I could spend more on dinners out and lift tickets. I was very pleasantly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rcferg Greetings from the Banff International Hotel! We were pleased to hear of your pleasant experience while staying with us. We strive to ensure that our guests are happy during their stay. It is fantastic to hear that you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s facilities, and all our town has to offer its guests. We found... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I go to banff around twice a year. We are the type to read reviews and stay where sounds good and fits our budget, we got a super deal on this hotel due to a coupon I was able to receive. We were very pleased, from start to finish. Great front desk staff, very knowledgable and friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lindsay Greetings from the Banff International Hotel! We were pleased to learn of the exceptional experience you received during your recent stay with us. We always strive to ensure our guests are truly happy with every stay and our team are humbled and found it an equal joy of have you in-house. I have also taken the liberty of... More 

Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is the second time we stayed here. Pros- free underground parking, close to the heart of Banff, clean and safe, a very good price/good value. Cons- After a day out, a nice hot tub is a must. The hot tub situation here is weak. Its just a tub in a small room. Its out of date and not very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bihmanagement, Manager on Duty at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MCC Thank you for sharing your Banff International Hotel experience! We are happy to have been a part of your Banff holiday. We always strive to ensure that our guests are happy during their stay. We thank you for your Constructive comments which will help us to improve and maintain our standards. I have taken the liberty of sharing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#24 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 937 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay