We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banff International Hotel

333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Banff International Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    213
    130
    48
    22
See reviews for
123
188
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (497)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (161)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (104)
All months
Cheshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were in Banff for a wedding and looking for a clean, comfortable, value for money hotel! We certainly got that! On check in we were advised that we had been upgraded to a room in refurbished part of the hotel on 5th floor! Wow! Not! We had to drag our luggage further down the hall and the elevator took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah Q. Thank you for your positive comments on how a member of the staff was able to turn your stay around. We are sorry to find that you were disappointed with style of the first room and appreciate your feedback, but are pleased that you loved the Premium Deluxe room. The fact that you found the beds super... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stay at this hotel for 1 night with a tour. The hotel is excellent as it is located right on the main strip which offers a lot of souvenir shopping after dinner. The hotel lobby is very dark and the elevator are very old and smelling. When we (my husband and I) enter my room, there are 3 blowing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear peggy y, We appreciate your honest comments on the need to update the hotel. We are in the process of doing so, with 58 of our 162 rooms fully renovated. I am sorry that you were not able to experience a renovated room as you may have preferred it. I would also like to apologize for the discomfort you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Banff hotels

The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed 4 nights at the Banff International Hotel week before last. The staff were very welcoming and tended to any need we had. Stayed in one of the lofts. Thank goodness they supplied a fan upstairs because it got pretty warm up there. The hotel is in a great location just a short walk to the middle of town. Has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear boppar13, Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with others. We are very glad you found the staff welcoming and attentive. It is most important to us. The hotel does require updating and by May 2016 we will have updated all of our rooms, including the Lofts. We hope that one day you may stay with us... More 

Etten-Leur, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel is located in the heart of Banff. It has a charming style of a mountain village. Friendly staff giving service. We had a large room at a corner. Plenty space, clean and a nice, not so large, bathroom. Good free wifi. Good beds and pillows, it also has a good restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ArjanvR, Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience and for choosing such a catchy title! We very much appreciate that you found us charming and hope that you may once again travel here from the Netherlands. It is a joy to see people from all over the world. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality More 

cambridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

stayed 4 nights here. The rooms were massive and clean. Service was great. Location ideal near the town centre. The only slight complaint would be that a lot of tourist coaches drop off near this hotel which can be a bit noisy if you gave a front room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hoobsy00, Thank you for your 5 star review of your stay at the Banff International. We are thrilled that you found the rooms clean and the service great. Your words are much appreciated by everyone. Our front facing rooms do indeed have great mountain views but are also subject to more noise from coach buses. Thank you again for... More 

Rosetown, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well I had to follow up from the last review I did if this hotel .True to there word they did look after me this time as a repeat customer.There staff here has always been great no difference this time .They have been doing a lot of remodelling still not 100percent sold on new look but they do have stoppers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear golferfarmer, We are truly happy that you enjoyed your repeat visit. We hope to see you again and make the next visit even better. I would be happy to specially select a room for you. Thank you also for the kind words for our staff. Your comments on our modern renovated rooms are much appreciated and your point of... More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our 2 night stay, nice clean modern rooms. Perfect location, from here you can walk to just about anywhere in town. Ricky's Restaurant in the Hotel had the best breakfasts and suppers we had in 14 days in the Rockies. From a few helpful suggestions from the staff at the hotel were able to plan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob & Phyliis, Thank you for your wonderful feedback! I am greatly pleased that you had a very enjoyable stay. I will pass on your lovely comments about the staff. They will be pleased to hear them. They try very hard. I also wish to thank you for the hearty recommendation of our restuarant Ricky's. I will let them... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were thrilled when we were told we'd be in the newer part of the hotel...until we saw the room. It was impossible to relax in the room because everything in it was stark white. We felt like we were sleeping in an Apple store. No curtains, only white shades. No bed table lights, only a row of bright fluorescent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nevawu, Thank you for your feedback on our modern renovated rooms. We greatly appreciate your comments as they help us in understanding how our guests are perceiving the renovations and where we may improve. I am very sorry that you found the style so disappointing to your hopes. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have to say I was disappointed with the hotel in general. Location wise it's perfect however Banff is really small so all the hotels are perfect location. We were given a renovated room, the style is airy and bright however there are a few issues. - no bedside lights, just one huge light for the whole room. Usually my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DukeofPreston, Thank you for your feedback on your stay in one of our renovated rooms. We consider your feedback very valuable as it helps us to improve our services and address our challenges. You have made some particularly good suggestions, such as a reading lamp; the bulk of which I will provide at our manager's meeting so that we... More 

Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
184 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were given a newly renovated room. How new? It still had that new room smell. Huge, bright, airy, quiet, modern with excellent beds. Great Main Street location. Underground garage which is very helpful since parking in Banff is at a premium. Helpful, friendly staff and super-fast (for a hotel) wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Watsson, Thank you for your review of our hotel and our newly renovated rooms. I am very happy that you were satisfied with our beds, the parking, and our location. I am also very pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful. One of our intentions with the new rooms was to make them bright and airy and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal Hotel
Mount Royal Hotel
#24 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 31 in Banff
3.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay