We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banff International Hotel

3.0 of 5 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banff International Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Banff International Hotel
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    179
    120
    40
    21
See reviews for
108
165
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (435)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (94)
All months
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is clean, very comfortable and spacious. The staff were very helpful and sorted out any queries we had. The location is excellent, just up from the Main Street of shops and has a supermarket opposite. The buses stop right beside. All in all excellent value especially if you are travelling without a car.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mum23Queensland On behalf of all of us at Brewster Hospitality we thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your glowing review of the Banff International Hotel. We also thank you for your kind words about our staff and for pointing out our fantastic location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff... More 

Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for Christmas for 6 nights. Would very much recommend. - Excellent location in the centre of town, - Plenty of underground parking (good as the temp was so cold!) - Spacious rooms with good facilities - Helpful friendly staff - arrived early after a mamoth journey from Jasper and there was no issue checking in early etc... Wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sweenem Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your overwhelmingly positive and informative review of the Banff International Hotel. I would however like to apologize about any issues you may have had with our Wi-Fi network, this is troubling for us to hear as we recently upgraded our entire network and we are looking into... More 

Essex, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the hotel for a long weekend in Banff in January this year, We had a large family room with 2 double beds on mezzanine floor and a further double on ground floor. A TV was on each floor. The room was very clean but but looked tired as did the rest of the hotel. The beds were small,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kevinmacEssex Thank you for your recent of the Banff International Hotel. First and foremost while we are happy to hear you had an overall positive experience I would like to apologize about the state of the lobby washrooms and the mattress in your room. As we have begun the second phase of our major renovations, feedback like yours provides... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here in 2008 from the 26th of December until the 9th of January 2009 - What can I say everything about the town, the hotel, the skiing was perfect! By far the best place I've ever visited! The rooms are amazing! The staff are Brilliant! The facilities were incredible! All in all I would if I could spend the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Calum M Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your glowing review of the Banff International Hotel. We are glad you had such a positive experience with us as well as a wonderful time skiing. We also thank you for your kind words about our staff and we hope one day we will be able... More 

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located in a great area of Banff on the main street. Great for walking anywhere. There's a safeway across the street. The beds were the best beds I have ever slept on. However, the hotel is very dated. There's a ricks something restaurant in the hotel with terrible service and apparently out of a lot of food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leanne C Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel First and foremost please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced with Rickys Grill during your visit, we did experience severe issues over the holiday period with food shortages and we are sorry about any lapse in customer service levels that may have taken... More 

Wendover
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Superbly placed to walk into town. Parking underground but only for 6'1 vehicles or less. Limited outside parking. Didn't use the sauna etc or Ricky's so can't comment. Will definitely stay again when coming skiing

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HighlandShortie We thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review of the Banff International Hotel and we are glad to hear you enjoyed our location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. David Crossland Front Desk Supervisor Brewster... More 

Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stayed here. It is in a great location. Right downtown. You can walk to most things. The front desk girl was great. She upgraded us and when we were not thrilled with the room - no view - she gave us a better upgrade. Beds were comfy, Ricky's restaurant on site and nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andy F Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel We regret you did not like the room you originally booked but we are happy to hear our staff could be so accommodating in moving you to a different room that you enjoyed more. We definitely agree with our guest comments about the age of the... More 

West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Weird loft set up with no real separate bedroom, disappointed that there is no balcony or microwave. We didn't get any towels in our room for some reason.. So that was fun after my shower. Staff is very friendly and welcoming but amenities are not as great as they sound on the website. Hot tub was FULL of dead skin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hmmphf Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. First and foremost please accept our sincere apologies for some of the issues you experienced during your stay, specifically in regards to housekeeping and the state of the hot tub, this was unacceptable and we have taken steps to rectify those particular issues. We do find it... More 

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just stayed here for the second time. Stayed 2 nights late Dec. The rooms are clean, need a little updating but very well equiped with everything. Rooms are also very large. We had no issues at all and giving it a very good rating. Price in late december was over 200 bucks a night, but its busy season, wont... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David K First of all let me thank you very much for continuing to make the Banff International Hotel, your hotel of choice during your trips to Banff and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We always strive to provide positive experiences such as yours and we are proud to have achieved that goal on the... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel isn't the most luxurious hotel I've stayed at in Banff, but considering we booked last minute for New Years and everything was sold out, it did the job. The rooms are very dated however they are in the middle of a complete renovation. Even tho everything was old it was very clean. The bed was comfortable with plush... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karolina K Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. First let me say that we completely understand and agree with our guests about the age of the hotel and as you pointed out quite rightly we have begun our major renovations to address this concern. We do apologize for some our shortcomings, the state of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay