We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Banff hotels

Banff International Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Muimu
  • Overview
  • Reviews (353)
  • Photos (63)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (58)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    142
    90
    34
    19
See reviews for
91
130
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I always recommend this hotel to friends and family travelling through the area, it is in a great location very close to town and ski stop at hotel next door. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Wifi can be a bit intermittent but works well in the lobby area. The staff are always very helpful and friendly especially Tess and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent one night at the hotel, checked into room 331 on July 16 and checked out on July 17 morning 2014. The hotel doesn't have air conditioning, it was unbearable in July. We visited Banff with a tour so we didn't have the choice to change the hotel. We were told there is wifi in the room but none... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Be warned this hotel has no a/c. The hotel also needs some up keep, broken window screens and noisy fans. For the price of this hotel, you can find a better maintained hotel with air. Two small noisy fans and one small window do not make up for no a/c. I will not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leona M Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced, as you pointed out we do not have air conditioning in our rooms, a situation faced by the overwhelming majority of hotels in... More

uk
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A short stroll into town with all the restaurants etc so a great location. Has a Ricky's Grill on site (didn't use it). Secure underground parking (free) and Safeway just around the corner were good points. Room was well appointed but a tight for 2 Queen beds. No A/C only a ceiling fan which may have been OK but we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VANDICARLTON Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel First and foremost I’d like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to Wi-Fi and lack of A/C. The issues with our Wi-Fi are in the process of being fully rectified in the near future whilst the inclusion of Air Conditioning units is part of... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The positives are that the location is great. Plenty of free parking. The staff is very nice and the rooms are a nice size. Unfortunately, there is zero A/C in the rooms. There is plenty in the lobby and hallway, but the rooms have a ceiling fan and oscillating fan which generally moves the hot air around. This won't be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beckitex1 Thank you for the recent review of the Banff International Hotel First and foremost we would like to apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay, on rare occasions temperatures in Banff do spike for short periods and as you pointed out we do not have air conditioning in any of our rooms and to... More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For the night we stay in Banff international hotel, we were pleasant with its convenient location which was just a few minutes walk to gift shops and restaurants. The overall apperance of the hotel is nice. Room is clean with adequate equipments. Soudproof from the outside corridor is good. There are free coffee and tea offered at the lobby.The only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kk K Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel First and foremost we would like to apologize for the issues you cited in regards to the bathroom; your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping department in order to avoid these shortfalls in the future. However we are very happy you had an overall... More

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is right on Banff Ave really close to all of the shops and restaurants. The parking garage was handy and the staff even let us stash our bikes behind the front desk for easy access. We didn't have problems with the wifi and the fridge was a great perk. The only complaint I have is that the service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christy W Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments about your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel We are very happy to hear that you had an overall positive experience with us and that we could be so helpful to you with your bikes. However we do apologize for the service quality you received... More

Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
92 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From a location standpoint, this property is centrally located and they have a private parking garage below the building. While the exterior and lobby looked great, the rooms were somewhat dated with stains on the furniture and free but fairly useless WiFi that was glacially slow. Overall though, a pleasant stay and decent value considering the summer crowds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear markbyrn24 Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel First and foremost we would like to apologize for issues you may have had with our Wi-Fi, we are currently exploring several possible options to update our aging infrastructure and we also agree that our rooms are dated, which is why we will be embarking on extensive... More

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there with my girfriend first week in July for 2 nights. Location is great, right on Banff ave, parking was easy to find right on the back street behind the hotel underground and free. The rooms have everything you need, refridge, coffee maker, nice TV. Yes, the rooms are dated and carpet had some stains, but I had no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David K Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel We are very happy to hear that you had an overall positive experience during your stay with us and we do thank you for pointing out our fantastic location and the facilities and amenities we offer our guests including our underground parking and location. As you... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is in a good location. Room was clean and spacious and bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The only small drawback is that, if arriving at the same time as a lot of other people and your room is on a higher floor, it can prove difficult to get past the guests waiting with their luggage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarionAnne64 Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments about your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and we thank you for your kind words about our staff, it is always great to hear we are achieving that which we set out to do and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
163

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer