We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Banff hotels

Banff International Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Banff International Hotel to your Saves list
Banff International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Banff
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
David K Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
  • Reviews (346)
  • Photos (62)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (56)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    139
    88
    34
    17
See reviews for
88
128
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed there with my girfriend first week in July for 2 nights. Location is great, right on Banff ave, parking was easy to find right on the back street behind the hotel underground and free. The rooms have everything you need, refridge, coffee maker, nice TV. Yes, the rooms are dated and carpet had some stains, but I had no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel is in a good location. Room was clean and spacious and bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The only small drawback is that, if arriving at the same time as a lot of other people and your room is on a higher floor, it can prove difficult to get past the guests waiting with their luggage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarionAnne64 Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments about your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and we thank you for your kind words about our staff, it is always great to hear we are achieving that which we set out to do and... More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

clean, great area to walk around, breakfast is included, your choice of full breakfast. Comfy bed. Relax a night with a nice brew or drink in the bar or walk down the street to your choice of many other places.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ron Lynn W Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel We are very happy to hear you found such great value in our property and that you had a great time in Banff. We would like to briefly clarify that not all our reservations come with breakfast included, but you may have booked our Alberta... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was the last stop on our tour of the Vancouver and the Rockies. Stained carpets. furniture, toilet etc gave this supposedly 4 star hotel a grubby feel. No kettles were available and our one bar of soap disappeared after one night. We had plated service for breakfast - an hour to get just an omelette and hash browns!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pat575 Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay with us, we have taken your comments on board and they have been shared with the relevant department heads in order to improve our services and facilities going into the future and we once... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had issues with the bill holding charge of 200 dollars without telling is charged us for extra adults even though just my wife and I . Front desk agent David was rather rude when I called about and told me over the phone he was not interested in arguing over the charges. He refunded the money however rather rude service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craig H, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We take pride in offering a high level of service and I am sorry that you did not find this to be the case. Regarding the extra adult charges, there was a note on your reservation that you had emailed requesting to add a third adult... More

Shipley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Used this has a base for a 2 week stay June 2013. Furniture & decor in rooms a bit dated & stains on carpet & some of the furniture. Reception staff helpful & helped us book some golf. Although beware of prices for a round at Banff Springs course & Silvertip. Bar service ok but tended to close early if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bron317, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are thankful that you stayed for a long time with us. Your comments have been passed to each individual department for their review and we appreciate the insight. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our first time to Canada and our first stop Banff. Hotel in good location, grill good food although only one waitress on doing everything ! Apart from cooking. Rooms are a little dated but overall still good , would stay here again.cannot comment on the sauna as we did not have time to use the facility.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jan j Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel We are very happy to have been your hotel of choice on your first trip to Canada, we thank you for your comments and since you do mention our rooms being a little dated, we would be proud to welcome you back to one of our... More

Clayton, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Potential guests need to be aware that this property is 'dated', does not have air conditioning and two rooms we were offered included soiled furniture. The desk staff is very well trained to give customers lip service, and tell the customer in a nice way that the guest doesn't know what they are talking about. It turned out that our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rfinkle, Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not comfortable. We take all our guest reviews seriously and are committed to act upon them to improve our level of service. Unfortunately, at this time, we do not have A/C in the rooms. Occasionally, the heat in individual rooms may... More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel on June 14, 2014. I went with a few ladies for a short getaway. We paid $185 for the room which I find pricey but the hotel is in an excellent location so I didn't mind. Safeway is across the street and it is very close to Earls restaurant and many bars and nightclubs. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sunkissed23_11 We are very happy that you were able to enjoy so much of what the hotel has to offer. Thank you for posting a glowing review and we look forward to hosting you again. Feel free to book directly with me at preferred rates via 403-762-5666. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Got a real surprise - booked on booking.com at the last minute. It was cheap for Banff so I wasn't expecting much and I was pleasantly surprised. It was so nice and comfortable, beds were soo comfortable. Location was awesome! I would highly recommend this hotel for value, service and location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Banff International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ding123, We are glad that we pleasantly surprised you and exceeded your expectations. We do aim for great service, value, and comfort and it is gratifying that we hit the mark with you. Thank you for your review. Sincerely, Daren Hill Front Office Manager Brewster Hospitality More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Banff International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Banff International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff International Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Banff International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
163

See which rooms travelers prefer