We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Irwin's Mountain Inn

429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Irwin\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    126
    181
    84
    12
    12
See reviews for
123
140
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (415)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (160)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (118)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Riyadh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is Banff so it is taken for granted to rip off tourists. The hotel is well situated - however the room we had which was at the end of the corridor was quite uncomfortable - the pillows were very lumpy and the sleep quality was awful (all six pillows were the same). The AC did not work properly which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I would like to take the time to respond to some of your comments you wrote in your review. I believe your anger towards Banff "ripping off tourists" is a very inaccurate assessment of this world class destination. While prices can be higher during certain seasons (which can happen any place one travels) , a review of the hotel industry... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Irwin's is a great option in Banff if you're looking for an affordable, central, and clean place to stay. It is an older hotel as other reviewers have noted, but it is well taken care of and the room was very clean. We were 4 adults and we booked a 2 queen suite, which had a small sofa and living... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am so glad we were able to provide you excellence in your stay with us. I am so glad your room was what you were looking for. We do work so hard on providing solid customer service and clean rooms with great value in price point. Thanks for your comments and I sure... More 

Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
145 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Pros: Large room with sliding door to a patio (shared with two other rooms.) Clean. Everything worked. Mini frig in room. Cons: Inadequate parking. We had to park overnight on a dark side street three blocks away. Felt lucky to find that space. The Irwin Inn at this time advertised “Vacancy.” Desk staff did not explain parking to us clearly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry you experienced a trying stay at our property. Our goal is that every guest would leave wishing to stay again and we did not accomplish that. I take seriously the items you have listed surrounding noise and I can assure you that our desk staff are quick to address these items upon notification. It seems we... More 

Jasper, GA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel in late August. The staff was very friendly and helpful at check-in. Parking Is available under the hotel but they advised us that it had very low clearance and the Toyota Highlander we rented would probably not fit. They directed us to some spots behind the hotel which we very limited. We managed to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I would like to take the time to address some of your comments on our hotel. I think these clarifications are important. Our hotel was built in 1967. It is family owned and operated. Our hotel does have some design differences from other hotels with intents that don't always translate for all of our guests. Our sinks are indeed outside... More 

Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Considering how expensive and varied the many lodging locations in Banff are, Irwin's proved to be quite suitable for our vacation needs. It is right on Banff Ave, merely a few easily walkable blocks to the town hub. After checking in, we were at first disappointed in how small and dark our standard King room was. The carpeting and furnishings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your recent stay with us. I am so sorry that our room was not what you expected and we take your comments very seriously. I appreciate that you saw how helpful and cheerful our staff are and that you experienced some of the best parts of Banff. I hope you will give us another... More 

Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is older and could definitely use some updating but was good for one night in Banff. The town centre was a 10 minute walk, which was easy for my husband and I. If you aren't up for walking then I think the bus into town picked up at the hotel next door. Wifi worked well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our goal is to listen to our guests and we are listening. We are in the process of making some renovation changes for our hotel beginning with our lobby and working into rooms. We are excited with these changes and look forward to unveiling them over the next few years. I... More 

lexminute
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family stayed for two nights in Irwin's in early August. The room rate was more than double the Jasper B&B we stayed during the same trip. Guess things are just more expensive in Banff! The hotel is located in the center area of town. Safeway is just one block away, and a gas station is right next door. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I wanted to take the time to address some of your comments as I want to clarify things the best I can. Our price is set by the demand of the town and in our case, being the budget level property, I can assure you and all our guests, we... More 

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
267 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything is stupid expensive in Banff, but that doesn't stop the hordes from visiting. This hotel is OK, with clean rooms, free parking and wifi, but no free breakfast. There is a separate restaurant attached, but is not affiliated with the hotel. About a 10 min walk to the town center. Room was clean, with the sink in the bedroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your recent stay with us. I appreciate your comments and thanks for your feedback. We take each of these comments very seriously and after an experience in Banff you will find that we are indeed the best priced in town. Our budget property works hard on ensuring our guests experience a clean room, a comfy bed... More 

HONG KONG
Level Contributor
238 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome staff, helpful and efficient. Although a bit pricey, but really worth the comfy room and all the space and privacy you can have! Very clean, tidy room with comfortable beds. Good location on Banff Avenue. What a pity I stayed for one night, would definitely go back if I next visit Banff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for your most recent review. We appreciate your comments and feedback. Our team will be most pleased with your assessment and commentary of your experience. Our hotel is a budget property that does work hard on price point. I am so glad you found our hotel to your standards and we sure hope you return again... More 

California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stay away; it is not worth it to receive this kind of customer service when you are making a remarkable trip in Banff! It will truly ruin the experience.We got our room from Hotwire, checking in at 3:00pm and saw the vacancy sign at the front of hotel. Both front desk employees, Tania and Ryan have not even tried to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I am taking the time to address the inaccurate comments in this review. While you attempted to check in at 3 p.m., you were notified about our 4 p.m. check in time and policy - that was a result of an enormous turnover of rooms and your particular room type/selection. The summer season is such that rooms are being flipped... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#20 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay