We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buffalo Mountain Lodge

700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Hotel amenities
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Banff
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013
Susan P Brooks, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

719 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    279
    244
    111
    57
    28
See reviews for
139
390
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (719)
  • Mar-May only
    (162)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (257)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (162)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (138)
All months
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I just wanted to start by saying, I am not one to complain, I can usually see past so many little things, but I felt there was something worth saying about this hotel. I was recently in Banff to celebrate my 2 year anniversary with my boyfriend. Since we are from Calgary, Banff has always been an easy destination for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I do apologize that you had issues with your overnight accommodations. We do strive to ensure that are guest rooms are maintained and fix issues once they are reported to us, so thank you for advising us. I hope we are able to welcome you back again... More 

Brooks, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The reason I chose this lodge was mainly due to the room having a wood burning fireplace, the claw footed tub, private balcony, and super comfy beds were just icing on the cake. From check in to check out everything was a breeze, no hassles, no confusion, quick & painless. I will definately be returning because this is the way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our overnight accommodations. Our Premier rooms have all been recently upgraded to offer all the amenities that you would require. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm Regards, General Manager Buffalo Mountain Lodge More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

close to everything, and very nice rooms for a good price during ski season. food was average but it close to great restaurants so it doesnt matter. the heated flooring the bathroom was a great touch the the place was very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your overnight accomodations and the heated floors in the bathrooms. I do apologize that you found the food to be average, this is not what we strive for and hope we can welcome you back again in the future to... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in Jan 2013 as a couple. First time in Banff, what a lovely town it is. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a 3 minute uphill drive from the main Banff Ave. Perfect if you don't need to be staying downtown. Uphill walk would take about 15minutes if not driving. Our room was #402. First floor one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was here over Christmas with my Father who has not been to Banff since the 70's. I won't say I hated my time in Banff, we loved the views and time away form the hotel, but to be honest I wish I had made a different choice. We had rooms 808 and 807 Positives; - There was a fireplace,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I do apologize that you had issues with your overnight accomodations, but there was also some things that you did enjoy with your room. We do strive to ensure that are guest rooms are maintained and fix issues once they are reported to us, so thank you... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel was clean, a tiny bit outdated (older looking bathroom and furnishings), and the walls were quite thin. We could hear the showers from the other hotel rooms, and could constantly hear the partying kids who stayed next door. We stayed over the holidays, and I'm sure one could find a nicer hotel for a better price. You also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We got a good deal on a room here, with fireplace, over the crowded Xmas holidays so I was happy to book it. It was okay; our experience as not as bad as others on this site, but overall the accommodation was just okay. The bed was super comfortable but the room was a little 'old.' There was no fridge.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge for one night and our experience was great! Our friends had stayed the night before and weren't satisfied with their first room, so they upgraded both our rooms for the next night for only $25 each. Beautiful rustic rooms, working fireplace, flat screen TV, very comfortable king size bed, claw foot bath tub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I am pleased to hear that we were able to fix the issues with your accomodations. Our Premier rooms have all been recently upgraded to offer all the amenities that you would require. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm Regards, General Manager Buffalo Mountain Lodge More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have travelled extensively for work and pleasure for the last 30 years and have never been more disappointed in a reservation than I was this past weekend at the Buffalo Mt Lodge. I made my reservation over the phone directly with the front desk and drove 12 hrs to Banff for a weekend in the mountains between Christmas and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like to discuss your recent stay with us, so please do contact us at bmlalm@crmr.com Take care and warm regards, General Manager Buffalo Mountain Lodge More 

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge over Christmas in a King Suite, pet friendly. I still think the rooms are in good shape, after years of use. Having a fireplace in the room is fantastic, the kitchen amenities were great to have. The decor is still 'mountain chic' - slate and stone. Beautiful quiet setting just outside the town.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

299 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (281)
Viewed
Room/suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (50)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay