We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buffalo Mountain Lodge

700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Hotel amenities
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Banff
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Sissy519 Ingersoll, Ontario
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    221
    97
    48
    26
See reviews for
123
359
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (654)
  • Mar-May only
    (160)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (193)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (162)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (139)
All months
Calgary
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you plan on driving here, good luck finding somewhere to park! Unassigned parking, with no marked stalls equals ignorant parking and plenty of frustration. The facilities are so so, the rooms are in need of sprucing. For the money I won't be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ingersoll, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge twice now, the last time for my best friend’s wedding. The Loge is comfortable and reasonably priced for Banff. The lobby is warm and welcoming and the staff at the desk was very efficient and accommodating. This was my boyfriend’s first trip to Alberta and this was our first stop. The rustic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent and warm experience for all of us. We were really exhausted after a long drive from Vancouver and the lodge was really a blessing as the check in was quick and we were able to go the room quickly and enjoy the fire.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very comfortable and the staff were very friendly! Loved lighting and burning real wood in the fireplace in our room. It's not a 5 star hotel as my last stay in Vegas was but not fair to compare it against that. So in that context I highly recommend it!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your time with us and were happy with the service you received. We hope to be able to welcome you back in future. More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted to stay off the center of Banff and this hotel was right choice. Although we got the room on the main floor we enjoyed the view and quietness of the nature. We could ignore the noise from our neighbors that was caused only by bedtime and morning routine. This is our second stay in this hotel. Since our... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the new additions to your guest room. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. More 

Alberta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The first room needed an upgrade, although it was clean we were disappointed with the view and it was very dark inside, not much for lighting so it seemed very dank and gloomy. Once upgraded by the friendly staff option two made for a pleasurable getaway!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that your original room wasn't quite what you were looking for, but glad that our staff were able to find an option that suited you better. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in future. More 

Calgary
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All the staff at the hotel were wonderful (especially the restaurant staff). Excellent customer service. But we were hoping for a nicer unit for the price we paid. Room was clean and quiet but a little run down. We booked last summer but could only use it this past weekend so we thought we'd have a suite with better view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and received a warm welcome from our staff. I am sorry to hear that your room did not live up to expectations, and I will share your comments with the relevant departments so that this can be addressed. If you would like to discuss... More 

Calgary
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have booked with Expedia twice for this property and have ended up in the same pod of rooms - down across from the "closed for the season" restaurant near the work shed. The rooms there are dark, and totally need a refresh - the plywood tops on the desk and tv stand leave a lot to be desired as... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that your room did not live up to expectations, but appreciate you providing your feedback and giving us the opportunity to address the highlighted issues. We do not allocate rooms based on your method of booking, but if you contact the hotel directly we are in a better... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Property not kept updated. Old, worn carpets and broken tiles. Windows so dirty you don't want to open the blinds. Not worth the rates. Even though we had a very good experience in the Banff town site it was disappointing coming back to our room at BML.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear that your room did not live up to expectations, and will share your comments with the relevant departments to ensure these issues are rectified. I am glad that you still enjoyed your visit to Banff. If you would like to discuss any aspect... More 

Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The scenery is worth every penny. Being right in the mountains and viewing them from all angles is tranquil. Rooms are comfy. Most staff are courteous. Front desk staff client skills could be improved.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the beauty of our surroundings. I apologize that not all of the service you received was up to standard, and will share your comments with our team to assist us in continuing to improve. Thank you again for your helpful feedback, and we hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

283 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (265)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay