We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Banff hotels

Buffalo Mountain Lodge

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Hotel amenities
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Buffalo Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Banff
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
electronicpaper Edmonton, Canada
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    188
    79
    37
    23
See reviews for
97
291
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (543)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (193)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (162)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (103)
All months
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having been to Emerald Lake Lodge several times in the last few years, decided to give a try to its sister resort, Buffalo Mountain Lodge. For Emerald, you pay a premium for the lake and seclusion; Buffalo's advantage is the proximity to downtown Banff while still being able to enjoy an intimate, quiet location away from the bustle of town,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent service, as always. Love the fireplace. A bar fridge would be nice. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful location, really enjoyed the outdoor hot tub. The food is wonderful and lots to choose from.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a great dining experience at the Sleeping Buffalo. I will pass your kind comments on to the staff. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back to the Lodge soon! More 

Grimsby
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a premium room with a great view, wood burning fireplace , appeared tired and poorly cleaned, the amenities that we paid for outdoor hot tub /sauna were out of order with no explanation or compensation for our entire stay. Nice fireside lounge/bar unfortunately hit or miss to find the bar open

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. I am very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion; I have passed your comments on to the relevant departments so that they can be addressed. We really appreciate you giving us this opportunity to improve upon our services. I have contacted you directly regarding... More 

Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this lodge last summer for a friend's wedding. We had booked a 'suite' just as a treat so that we'd have a little more room to get comfortable during our stay. We checked in at the main lodge which looked really nice and cozy so we were looking forward to seeing our room. When we first drove... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you had a good stay and enjoyed the wedding. I’m sorry to hear that your Buffalo room did not live up to expectations. As you mention, these kitchenette rooms are located in the older section of the Lodge and, while spacious, have a simpler design than our more luxurious... More 

South of England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our fifth stay at Buffalo Mountain and probably our last. CRMR have done quite well out of us over the past 5 years but we will consider elsewhere on our next return to the area. We stayed over the new year and wanted our time to be special....as you do. Our first night there and we were woken up by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I am sorry that your experience was not all you hoped it would be. It is extremely frustrating that you were disturbed by the incident in a nearby room, and we would like to thank you again for placing the call and alerting us... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014 via mobile

We planned and booked our stay for our 10th anniversary well in advance, the room was cozy but not extravagant. The bathroom needed updating badly. But what was really awful was the hot tub was down for scheduled service our entire stay, it was a big part of why we booked there! The staff didn't seem to care that it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, and congratulations on your anniversary. I am so sorry to hear that your time with us wasn’t all you hoped it would be. Many of our rooms feature a standard three piece washroom, but we do have upgraded bathrooms with claw-foot tubs and separate shower cubicles in... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to snow all around the grounds and very cold temperature. Our room was warm and cosy and very welcoming with the fireplace. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant served very tasty meals. It is situated away from the town centre nut this is what added to the atmosphere of the place. We definitely will return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I’m so glad to hear that you had a relaxing time with us, and enjoyed your meal in the dining room. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff. We hope to welcome you back to the Lodge soon. More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

The first room we checked in to had a weird gurgling sound from the heater. They couldn't fix it so we were upgraded to a different room. The room was great. The room was spacious with a great fireplace. The bathroom was also quote spacious and featured a beautiful claw foot bath. On our second night, the power went out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us despite a couple of setbacks, and very pleased that our staff were able to assist in getting your stay back on track. I will pass your kind comments on to the guest services team. We... More 

San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed here after 4 days in a cute cabin in Lake Louise, so I could be a little biased. The lobby and main areas of the hotel are GORGEOUS - plus there were Christmas decorations, so it was even more festive. The lounge was cozy with AMAZING food - we had bison and caribou; both were cooked SO well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments; I’m glad our holiday décor got you in the festive spirit! I’m also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Rocky Mountain Cuisine and received a warm welcome from our staff. I’m sorry that the Buffalo room type wasn’t quite what you were hoping for. We will bear your observations in mind when considering... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

This place looks great on pictures however that's where it ends. Our room (804) looked nothing like we thought it would. No claw foot tub, no balcony... Just an old,run down, dirty washroom with a rusty tub. The fireplace was nice but the logs they provided were too wet to burn. It took forever to get any kind of fire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your constructive feedback on your recent stay. We take your comments very seriously and will be passing them on to the relevant teams for follow up. The cleanliness and heating issues that you describe are certainly not up to our usual standard, and I am very sorry that your night with us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff

267 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (249)
Viewed
Room/suite (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay