We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buffalo Mountain Lodge

700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Hotel amenities
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Banff
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
travelvixen9 San Diego, California
Add Photo Write a Review

674 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    267
    227
    104
    50
    26
See reviews for
126
368
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (674)
  • Mar-May only
    (162)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (212)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (162)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (138)
All months
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge for 3 nights. Overall, I was very disappointed with the accommodation given the price. While spacious, our room was very dark with small windows and inadequate lighting. As previous reviews have mentioned, there is no air conditioning, so it was amazingly hot at night. Bathroom itself was huge, but had only one sink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, We stayed in the premier room as we love the large bathrooms and fireplace. The scenery is wonderful and the front desk and restaurant staff friendly and helpful. The lodge will still be our choice the next time we visit..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really friendly and helpful staff who are also enjoying Banff. Everyone was helpful, but the service at the under-utilized restaurant was slow. We chose it for a relatively good price and because of it's proximity on the edge of Banff proper. We hoping for more of a Lodge than a downtown experience. It would be more appropriate to describe it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am very glad that you were happy with the service you received from our staff. I am sorry to hear that noise issues meant you did not have the peaceful night you were hoping for. I will take steps to ensure we are doing everything in our power to enforce our quiet... More 

Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is one of the hardest reviews to write that I have written. This is because our views changed significantly during our stay, albeit that some fundamental issues still remained. Our initial impression was very bad as we were allocated a relatively small room that was very dark, had a very poor view out (a steep bank with trees on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay. I am sorry that your first impression wasn't a great one, but glad to hear that we were able to find a room better suited to your needs, and that you were happy with the service from our team. We will take all of your comments into account as w look... More 

Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was nervous staying not on the heart of Banff, but this hotel was perfect for us - and just a short drive or walk to the city. It was clean, quiet and comfortable and the staff was very helpful. We loved having a fireplace and balcony overlooking the mountains. I would compare the level of accommodations to what you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with your room as well as our service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future. More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are more like small log cabins,open log fire not needed large bathroom a bit dark in room,but open the door and you have wonderful views. The car parking was tight and busy,we had breakfast in the main building which was just ok ,overall the stay was good and staff very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am glad that you were happy with your room and the views, as well as the service you received from our team. I will make sure your comments regarding breakfast and the parking reach the appropriate departments so that we can continue to improve upon our facilities and services. Thank you again... More 

York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our Canadian trip. The staff were welcoming from the outset, and the cabin style room was lovely, with a private balcony and parking outside. I was particularly impressed by the spacious bathroom complete with claw foot bath and separate shower – almost spent most of our stay in there! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and received a warm welcome from our staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future. More 

Edmonton
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great room but no wifi. Not worth the money. Should of got a hotel in banff for the money. ...............................................................................................................

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that you had problems with our complimentary wifi connection. I will follow up with our IT department to see if this issue was related to the local internet service outage we experienced this past week, or if it was due to our own equipment. Either way, please accept my sincere apologies... More 

Buhler
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice room with a great view. I would definitely come again. Didn't have time to had dinner or use many of the facilities but they looked great. Only issue I had was with the parking. Not enough and extremely tight. Glad I was driving a small car and not my truck.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the view! I apologize that parking was an issue for you; we have limited space to work with, but will make sure we are taking all possible steps to make parking convenient for our guests. Thank you again for your helpful... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here recently in a room with 2 double beds. As a recent reviewer stated, the room wasn't that clean. Thick dust above the fireplace could've been from the fire, but it's summer, and the fire looks like it hasn't been used in months. Anyway, a wipe with a cloth would work wonders. The carpets were a bit worn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRMRManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that the standard of housekeeping in your room wasn't as high as it should have been, and that you were disappointed with our hot tub area. We really appreciate your feedback on what we could do better, and I will make sure these issues are attended... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

285 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (267)
Viewed
Room/suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (50)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay