We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Hartshorne hotels

The Mill Wheel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ticknall Road, Hartshorne DE11 7AS, England
Hotel amenities
The Mill Wheel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com Hostelworld.com
and 2 more sites!
55%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hartshorne
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Mark588 Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
10
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a warm welcome to the Mill Wheel tonight. We had not been for many years and decided to come on Steak night - so glad we did! The food was excellent - cooked as requested, and the service very attentive and friendly. Very good choice of main meals and lovely deserts especially the home made cheesecake. Wouldn't hesitate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Repton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Received terrible service today, on what should have been a special occassion. When I rung the Mill Wheel I specifically requested that I wished to be seated in the restaurant not the pub, and that I would prefer to book somewhere else than sit in the pub. Turned up to find out that the girl on the phone had made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Hartshorne hotels

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night before visiting Calke abbey. Our room was small, but everything we wanted was there. We ate upstairs in the Restaurant, and the food was excellent. Service was a bit slow, but it was very busy and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was brilliant and we would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write positive feedback on your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and breakfast. Unfortunately we are blessed with one small room, if you do stay again please ask to stay in room 3 or 4 which are bigger rooms. More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Food was good and the atmosphere in the bar/restaurant was welcoming. This is our second visit and we will certainly go again. The bedroom was small, but comfortable. It would have received a higher rating if their had been fewer cobwebs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we are blessed with one small room, If you do stay again please ask for room 3 or 4 which are bigger rooms. More

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

as a family we like to support our local eateries The Mill Wheel is not too far so we thought we would give it a go. Wish we hadn't the food was so disappointing. We ate upstairs which I found a bit cold and comfortless. Our food arrived timely and the staff were pleasant but this didnt make up for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

Firstly we would like to thank you for supporting your local eateries. We are really disappointment to hear that you were not happy with your meals. Our fryer oil is changed on a weekly basis, our staff are trained to do a table check during your meal and we would have been more than happy to change your meal should... More

Nottingam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Decided to eat out on Christmas Day, had not done so for many years. Have to say it was lovely. Goof good, atmosphere excellent, staff extremely welcoming and accommodating. The restaurant was lovely and warm. All in all a really lovely time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

We are really sorry to read your feedback. I quite rightly think that this situation should have been handled better and a notice should have been put in the entrance, we will endeavour to do this in the future. We always welcome locals and hope that you visit us again in the future. More

Derbyshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Having had a vile cold for 2 weeks, we ventured out to our local for a bite to eat. We saw the upstairs restaurant was empty and felt encouraged that we could get a table and eat in the bar as we usually do. Ordered drinks at the bar, set up a tab and pointed out the table we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

We're so sorry to hear that you weren't made to feel welcome, we would hope that all our customers are made to feel welcome and your comments have been taken on board and addressed with the staff and management so that this doesn't happen again. We have recently appointed a new chef so hope that you will come back again... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We live local to this pub and every time we go in here we hear complaints. tonight we went in and a party of three had waited an hour to be shown to the table, they had ordered their meal at the bar area and then only to be told two of the main courses were sold out and this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear your feedback, we have lots of positive feedback and repeat business, however there are the occasional times when we don't get it right. Regarding the party of 3, we are very saddened to hear that they didn't stay after waiting so long and had to try and find somewhere else at such a late hour. It... More

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Spent one night here in Nov 2013, rooms small but clean and adequate for 2. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We had the steak special in the restaurant and it was the best we'd had for a long time. They even made us bacon sandwiches to take with us the next morning as we were leaving before breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

That you for leaving lovely feedback and we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit. We always try to accommodate all our customers and hope you enjoyed your bacon sandwiches for your journey! We hope to see you again soon. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife came here for a meal one friday night, and as we were 10 minutes early for our booking, we were asked to sit in the bar area and have a drink until we got called to go to our table. So we got a drink and sat at a table near the bar which hadn't been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to The Mill Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Wheel

Also Known As:
The Mill Wheel Hotel
The Mill Wheel Hotel Hartshorne
Address: Ticknall Road, Hartshorne DE11 7AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Hartshorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hartshorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Wheel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the rustic village of Hartshorne, this 17th Century country inn offers AA Rosette accredited dining, delightful accommodation and free Wi-Fi and parking. Bustling with charm and style, it effortlessly fuses contemporary décor with traditional aesthetics and still retains many of its original period features, including fully-restored timbered ceilings, stone walls, a roaring log fire and even a working water wheel, creating a truly authentic experience for guests. The Mill Wheel is renowned for its friendly and efficient service and has garnered a loyal following amongst the country pub community. Known as Derbyshire’s best kept secret; the Mill Wheel’s Restaurant has garnered an impressive reputation among seasoned diners for its impeccable cuisine and relentless commitment to quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Mill Wheel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill Wheel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Mill Wheel to your Saves list