We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Hartshorne hotels

The Mill Wheel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ticknall Road, Hartshorne DE11 7AS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Mill Wheel to your Saves list
The Mill Wheel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
51%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartshorne
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
MrsHostile Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
13
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited recently with friends - I feel the place is a little confused, is it a pub or a restaurant? Menu would suggest restaurant but you are very much sitting in a pub. For a restaurant the quality of the food is not really there so lacks a little something which would not encourage me to return. Would be great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a local I have used the Mill Wheel several times, it is a while since we stayed in a room there so it would not be fair to comment, but I understand that they have recently been redecorated. The staff are always friendly and the beer is good. We generally eat there as a family and have not been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norfolk England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Having booked this place to stay for the night, and having noticed that it was given a 4* AA rating, we were very much looking forward to our visit, BUT, upon arrival at 4.45pm we were advised by a man in the car park, that the pub was not open until 5.50pm, nor was there any notice stating this fact.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Hartshorne hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were a mixed family group of 7 with ages from 17 to 77 who stayed 3 nights in this friendly b&b whilst attending a wedding in area. The four rooms were all clean and comfy and having own front door into accommodation gave us more privacy away from pub. Breakfasts were served in the main pub and were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights in this Inn. We found the room very small with nowhere to sit other than the bed! Housekeeping needs to address cobwebs on walls, ceiling and light. Surfaces very dusty. A plus was a comfortable bed! Flexible Hose from power box to shower head filthy and air vent in shower ceiling thick with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Spent a night at The MIll Wheel and have to say loved the actual pub/restaurant but the accomodation could easily be improved. The room was small but contained everything you may need for an overnight stay. The bed linen and towels were spotless but think the housekeeper should make a lot more use of a feather duster especially on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I had my wedding reception at The Mill Wheel almost three years ago. On the day the manageress came up to me stressing about getting the food out to us on time and the fact that they had not made enough food for all our guests!! On my wedding day this is the last thing I want to hear and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

We are very sorry and disappointed in reading your comments, especially because a personal email was sent to you explaining the reasons for asking for a deposit for a booking of 16. We suggested we were happy for you to sit in the upstairs restaurant and explained that it is our reservations policy to take a deposit for parties over... More

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had a warm welcome to the Mill Wheel tonight. We had not been for many years and decided to come on Steak night - so glad we did! The food was excellent - cooked as requested, and the service very attentive and friendly. Very good choice of main meals and lovely deserts especially the home made cheesecake. Wouldn't hesitate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your whole experience. our Pie night it every Monday and Wednesday so hope to see you again soon! More

Repton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Received terrible service today, on what should have been a special occassion. When I rung the Mill Wheel I specifically requested that I wished to be seated in the restaurant not the pub, and that I would prefer to book somewhere else than sit in the pub. Turned up to find out that the girl on the phone had made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

We are really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience on Mother's Day and that you weren't seated in the restaurant as requested. We have noted all your comments and the necessary training has been put in place to all relevant staff including the manager. We do hope that you would visit us again and give us the... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
80 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night before visiting Calke abbey. Our room was small, but everything we wanted was there. We ate upstairs in the Restaurant, and the food was excellent. Service was a bit slow, but it was very busy and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was brilliant and we would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write positive feedback on your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and breakfast. Unfortunately we are blessed with one small room, if you do stay again please ask to stay in room 3 or 4 which are bigger rooms. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Mill Wheel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Mill Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Wheel

Address: Ticknall Road, Hartshorne DE11 7AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Hartshorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Wheel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Mill Wheel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill Wheel Hotel Hartshorne

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)