We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Hartshorne hotels

The Mill Wheel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ticknall Road, Hartshorne DE11 7AS, England
Hotel amenities
The Mill Wheel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Mill Wheel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartshorne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Mand789 Staffordshire
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    14
    9
    11
See reviews for
16
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW via mobile

Rating for food only. Hadn't booked in advance but staff were accommodating and were able to seat us. Restaurant was quite noisy as there are no soft furnishings or fabrics to soak up sound. Even cutlery on plates felt really loud. We were seated promptly and presented with menus - specifically the "Specials" menu was hand written on a hand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great to sit near the roaring fire on a cold winters day, in the bar area. The menu looked great but we were disappointed when we came for a meal. The staff were friendly but the food was average, and overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the fire, but disappointed with your meal, we do hope you will return again and try some of our midweek offers. Pie and Pint Mon & Thur £8.95. Tue & Thur Home-made Burger and a Drink £8.95. More 

Smisby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We chose this establishment to celebrate the 80th birthday of Smisby WI and are so glad we did! We had the whole upstairs of the restaurant to ourselves, fifty in all and had a marvellous afternoon. Colin and his team were so attentive and 'on the ball' with a high level of service that a group of WI ladies would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope to see you all again soon! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Me my partner and 2 girls went hear for dinner last night for the first time. I was really impressed with the style. First thing I notice was that the place was really under staffed for a Friday night. We ordered the parfait and that was ok nothing special. My little girl ordered a burger, chips and peas it came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear read that you were unhappy with your meals, but we did address the issues at the time and also offer a reduction in your bill. We hope that you will return again soon. More 

Travelers are raving about these Hartshorne hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We live in the village of Hartshorne and have visited this pub for food several times and found it excellent, but what on earth has happened to this restaurant! We waited 45 mins for the wine and jug if tap water to be served to the table. We had a 7pm table and they didn't take the order until 25... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

We are so sorry to read that after coming previously before and the food being excellent, that you had a bad experience. We (The owners) had a few days away at the beginning of January following the very busy Christmas period. We would always hope that the standard is the same whether we are there or away but it seems... More 

Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

We booked a table for the four of us, had to wait for ages to be served at the bar for drinks. It was a promotion of pie & chips night with a free drink. Took nearly an hour for our food to arrive, only because there was one staff member doing the bar, waiting on, she was doing everything.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about the food. We have addressed the midweek staffing issues and hope you will return again soon. More 

Brigg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Lovely hotel but real quiet on a Friday night not even any music,room clean and well appointed. Radiator not working in bathroom so cold. Breakfast good and plentiful service excellent but while eating we have the cleaner hovering,polishing and dusting the room not at all what I would recommend. Booked this hotel through late rooms.com,eight days before arriving asked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear the comments about the cleaner disturbing your breakfast, normally the breakfast area is cleaned once everyone has finished and left. We are also sorry that you didn't have the ground floor room as requested. If you would like to return please contact us directly and we will ensure you have the correct room. More 

Stone Cross
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Only 4 rooms as an annex to the pub/restaurant and two of them are up a steep staircase. The room was adequate but the price was excellent which will be its selling point. I was attracted to the Pie and a pint on the menu but waited over 40 minutes for it to arrive. When it did, some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we have taken your issues on board and addressed them accordingly. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I am a local within the area and only discovered the pie and pint night along with the burger and drink night over the past few months. I have taken family and friends to the Mill Wheel in Hartshorne and no-one has been disappointed. Some times the lack of staff means you have to wait an extra 5 minutes for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Staffordshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

I remember when they used to do bar food downstairs but now there only seems to be the restaurant upstairs. Although well presented there was just no atmosphere as there were no other customers - on a Saturday night at 7.30! I was concerned this may have been a reflection on the food, but I was wrong. The food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MillWheel, Manager at The Mill Wheel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we always serve food downstairs so I can't understand why you weren't offered a table there if you wanted one. If you ask next time we will definitely reserve a table downstairs. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Mill Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Wheel

Address: Ticknall Road, Hartshorne DE11 7AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Hartshorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mill Wheel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mill Wheel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill Wheel Hotel Hartshorne

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay