We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Beeley B&Bs / inns

The Devonshire Arms at Beeley

Save Saved
You added The Devonshire Arms at Beeley to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Devonshire Square, Beeley, Peak District National Park DE4 2NR, England
Hotel amenities
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Ranked #2 of 2 Beeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beeley
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    84
    58
    40
    13
See reviews for
51
213
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (340)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
See the most recent reviews
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I'll choose a few words to explain my experience of their staff: Arrogant Pretentious Unwelcoming Expensive Condescending Inflexible They didn't want our not inconsiderable business for a family weekend stay in the most expensive rooms. This was a debate over the number of nights, even though I provided them proof of their own website showing contradictory information (which they changed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

I was mortified to read this review. I have tried to call you on several occasions but to no avail, you have my personal mobile telephone number and I would be grateful if you would call me to discuss your experience. Kind regards, Alan Hill, Chef Patron More

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Having stayed before with a wonderful experience we expected the same (which was very good). Booked well in advance to get the new rooms in the cottages opposite. I expected some teething problems with the room but it was very hot as we could not open a window or get any fresh air, no hanging space actually in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thanks for the comments my apologies for the shortfalls that happened whilst you were with us,I have passed your comments on to my MD about the windows. Hope to see you again. Regards Alan Chef Patron More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked this hotel for a weekend away to celebrate a friend's birthday and to enjoy a visit to Chatsworth House and also do a long walk around the Chatsworth estate and we made the right choice. Ideally located. Staff were friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed an excellent evening meal and also a lovely breakfast. All in all an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us Thanks for the great comments,I will be sure to pass the review onto the Team here at The Devonshire Arms. Kind Regards Alan Chef Patron More

Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We went for a quick drink in the afternoon on our way to our bnb and it was so lovely to sit outside and take the scenery in. Later on we went back for an evening meal and the meals was an amazing foodie experience!! Waittress was there at precisely the times needed, and didn't look over your shoulder but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Great to read that you enjoyed your evening with us the Burger usually beats most people maybe we should reduce the size??Thanks again and we hope to see you again. Kind Regards Alan Chef Patron More

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

very over priced for very average food and house wine at £18 per bottle what a rip off, never again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Sorry that you thought we were overpriced and average,it might be worth trying our sister pub The Devonshire Arms at Pilsley. Regards Alan Chef Patron More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

With our first two eating places not open on the day were in Derbyshire we were recommended to try the Devonshire Inn by Wayne at the Druids in Birchover who was not open on a Tuesday. He said the food at the Devonshire Inn was good, but not as good as his. How right he was, £13.95 for 4 cremated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your meal. Kind regards, Alan Hill, Chef Patron More

Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

A lovely quiet room with large bathroom in the adjacent house with a babbling brook outside and a great evening meal in the bar.At the price you would expect absolute perfection so why were the sausages and bacon at breakfast tough ( the fried eggs were great ) and if there was a shaver point in our bathroom I couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments I will certainly be speaking to my butcher regards your comments about the bacon and sausages!Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Alan Chef Patron More

North Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I booked, as a couple, a Chatsworth Experience to celebrate my wifes birthday. It was supposed to be a special treat which was ruined by poor food and how it was dealt with. The cost of the package was £249.00 for two. Dinner, bed and breakfast and entry to Chatsworth House. It did not include the car park which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Management response:

I was sorry to read about your stay with us please give me a call at the Pub I would be happy to discuss the comments raised in your review with you. Regards Alan Chef Patron More

Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The food and service here was outstanding my Salmon and scallop starter followed by the rabbit and raspberry pudding with lime yogurt sorbet may not sound exciting but the presentation and explosion of flavours have left me wanting to go back for more what a treat!!! Our bill was £35pp inc a large glass of wine not the cheapest but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Great to read you had a super dining experience with us!Hope to see you again soon. Regards Alan Chef Patron. More

Stamford, Lincs
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is our second visit this year and I am already planning a third mini-break. This is England at its best ~ cosy country atmosphere, delicious food and staff who provide a professional approach to all requests, and remember guest names! Thank you Oliver for continuing to provide high standards and thank you chef for the flat rib beef dish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DevonshireHotels, General Manager at The Devonshire Arms at Beeley, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review.I will be sure to pass your comments on to Oliver and the Team. Kind Regards Alan Chef Patron. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Devonshire Arms at Beeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Arms at Beeley

Address: Devonshire Square, Beeley, Peak District National Park DE4 2NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Beeley
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Arms at Beeley 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms At Beeley Hotel Beeley

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay