We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Crosthwaite hotels

Damson Dene Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Damson Dene Hotel to your Saves list
Damson Dene Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
baywatchHyde Hyde
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,262)
  • Photos (222)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (296)
  • More
Write a Review

1,262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    567
    461
    132
    54
    48
See reviews for
179
798
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyde
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I have just thoroughly enjoyed a two night stay at the Damson Dene Hotel, like most other people who have recently stayed there we have enjoyed exceptional nice weather, which is always a plus for the lake district. We enjoyed a fabulous two course meal on our first night ( we couldn't manage a third course) the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for two nights as part of an online deal including breakfast a meal and a boat cruise on Windermere. The staff were all friendly, the hotel is set in some lovely grounds, it was really quite and peaceful. We ate in the restaurant for one night and had the self serve breakfast - all was made from good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent 3 days at the Damson Dene and we were pleased that we had,nt paid the full tariff.The hotel is " tired " and needs work.Our room was very small with no ventilation other than the window which lookS onto the road. There is black spot dampness in the shower area and the wardrobe doors cannot open fully due... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just got back from a nice toe daybreak at the Damsan Dene hotel. All the staff very nice, good in the restaurant was very nice but probably a little expensive if not included in your package. The ground are very nice and well kept. Was nice to see some of the staff still there from the TV show. Wayne especially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review and pictures. Our little ducks are fast turning into stars! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your comments about our staff and grounds. As ever, we also appreciate your comments on the little things we can improve on. We do hope you will visit us again. Thank you. More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for 3 nights 19 to 21 July. We were allocated Room 1 which had a four poster and Jacuzzi bath. The room was very clean and comfortable. We have a small border terrier dog and it was ideal for him. Dogs are made most welcome by all the staff. We dined in the restaurant on two of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and for this wonderful 5-star review! No negative issues is music to our ears and your review does a nice job, in our humble opinion, of highlighting some of our best points! We do hope you'll visit again, with your little terrier too! Thank you. More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we spent a weekend at the Damson Dean early July. On approaching the hotel first appearance was good. plenty of parking great location. on entering the hotel we were greeted by friendly reception staff and given our room key. rooms were small but clean and more than adequate for a long weekend. We had a few drinks in the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you. It sounds like from walking through the door to leaving that you had a nice time; which is exactly what we want of course! Your comments on our food and staff are welcome as well so thank you. Thanks also for recommending us to others and we hope we'll see you again. More

Jarrow
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

With the most glorious weather we had a fabulous 2 day stay at Damson Dean. Loved spending time in the gardens, breakfast was very good. We sat at the window overlooking the duck pond and watching Wayne feeding the ducks - very entertaining. Service was always very good, evening meal lovely, absolutely first class hotel. We will be back Christine

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting. We are so happy to have read your wonderful 5-star review, so thank you for posting it. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, with the weather helping a bit of course! We will hopefully be able to welcome you back soon, thanks again. More

Rhyl, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Didn't have chance to try the pool and gym facilities during our stay but they looked to be to the usual good standard expected of a hotel like this. Location is charming and a drink outside in the setting sun is very pleasant as is the restaurant that has windows looking out over the hills. Food is very good and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for such a lovely review. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the weather even cooperated; although we have had a great summer up here to be fair! Even with such hot weather, it is still nice to climb into a Jacuzzi bath after a day out in the lakes! Thank you... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived for are much needed weekend break to find our booking had been canceled??? You don't know how disappointed I felt. Having recently had 10 months of hell, major surgery and prior to that broken my back, we really were looking forward to some normality. I must say you don't know how good a place is till they sort... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the mix-up but are pleased we were able to sort alternative accommodation for your first night and that you didn't let it spoil your stay. We really appreciate your kind comments given the circumstances; not all guests would have been so understanding. I apologise for the naughty dogs. Guests sometimes... More

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had a fab night at damson#super# chill. Not only was the weather sunny which allowed us to spend all afternoon in the wonderful gardens but the whole stay was wonderful too. A very very friendly place, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Food was of fine dining quality and the wine went down a treat. Wayne the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Fab is what we say to your review! Thank you so much for visiting and rating us 5-stars on here. Your comments about our food and wine went down well for us so thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay enough to visit again; see you soon we hope! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Damson Dene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

222 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (215)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (64)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer