We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Crosthwaite hotels

Damson Dene Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Damson Dene Hotel to your Saves list
Damson Dene Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
81%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
johnston364 Manchester UK
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,290)
  • Photos (238)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (311)
  • More
true
Write a Review

1,290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    573
    472
    138
    58
    49
See reviews for
184
817
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Very disappointed with this hotel, we obviously had a dog friendly room/ family room as when we got there i could make hair balls with the dog hairs on the carpet had to complain to get it hooved!! the hotel is tired needs updating, sauna has broken cracked tiles on the floor, restaurant didn't have a good choice of meals... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is in a lovely location in its own grounds about ten minutes drive to Bowness. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities, TV etc all the usual requirements. There are separate lounge, dinning and bar areas with plenty of seating and an outside terrace. Breakfast is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Wonderful review thank you. You do an excellent job of highlighting some of our best features so thank you for that. The ducks certainly appreciate being fed and all of the money from purchased duck food goes to charity so it is win-win! Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again in the future. More

Yeovil
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is set in lovely grounds - beautiful dahlias in bloom while we were there. The dining room and bar have excellent views over the gardens and trees beyond. Plenty of seating outside and also comfy big settees in the lounge. The food was excellent, served by attentive staff in an attractive dining room. Our room had no frills,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely, 5-star review thank you. We couldn't be happier with your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our staff and quality of meals offered as well. We do hope we will see you again soon, thank you. More

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a Travelzoo deal for a 2 night stay and requested a twin room. Apparently this info didn't "come through on the system" and we were given a standard double (4'6" bed). We asked to be moved and were..... to a room with a double with a single bed; a much nicer, cooler and a more spacious room. Unfortunately,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we're sorry for the mixup on your booking. I am pleased, however, that we were able to make it right and that you enjoyed our location, view and leisure facilities. The heat in the room you are talking about was the towel rail, which has to be turned off in the room using the switch.... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Can't praise the quality of the hotel enough, ALL of the staff we encountered were extremely helpful, polite and pleasant and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were very good and very clean with extremely comfortable beds. The facilities at the hotel are first class, the pool and spa and also the gym are excellent and spotlessly clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are also enjoying Mother Nature's glorious colour in the garden, as it may be the best its been for awhile! Your review was very enjoyable to read and we are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Christmas is particularly enjoyable around here and hopefully we will see you... More

England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Husband and I stayed for a 2 night break for his Birthday. The women on reception was ignorant, never looked up from the computer to greet you (short hair). On the Wednesday the other receptionist was lovely and pleasant. Room a little small and the bathroom dated, room 9 shower mixer didnt work. Bath should have been cleaner. Food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

We always appreciate helpful feedback and we are sorry you did not find us to be as friendly as the vast majority of reviewers on tripadvisor. We were only too happy to change the wine to something more suitable. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and we will use your review to help us improve. Thank you. More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Damson Dene Hotel at the beginning of July. Straight away we were impressed by the grounds and external appearance of the hotel. The inside lounge area was very comfortable and inviting as were the staff. The room was clean and comfortable although the shower in the en suite could have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely, 5-star review. We work very hard to keep the hotel a great place to visit and we are happy you enjoyed yourself so much that you've booked in again! See you in a few weeks! More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this hotel recently on a recommendation. We found the room to be very nice, clean and well presented. The staff were polite and as helpful as possible. The bar area and restaurant were dated and in need of redecoration, the flowers were dead! However we must say the the food was wonderful and we would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review and comments about our staff. We appreciate your helpful comments on things we can improve as well. Thank you for saying you would visit again, we hope you do! More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

you must visit this hotel for entertainment alone,wayne is a superb front of house ,manager waiter,entertainmet, and the staff are all behind him,rooms spotless had room 9 spa ,four poster ,unfortunately we had to cut our visit short,fab location only 5 min to windemere,but benefit of nice quiet location too,lovely gardens,lovely food cant say enough about it.xxxxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We really appreciate the 5-star rating for our staff, accommodation and entertainment! I'm hoping we'll see you again soon! More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

me and my partner visited this hotel in august and were very disappointed.the hotel is very dated the bar area was full of dead flies and didn't look like it had been cleaned in a long time.breakfast was a complete joke we were sat at the table for 20mins before we were served a coffee and a further 10mins before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

This was an unfortunate review to read, especially as the glowing review below this one is from guests who stayed at the same time! It just goes to show the subjective nature of reviews. Although breakfast was busy, we think this reviewer may be stretching it a bit on the time of waiting. We will certainly ensure however that we... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Damson Dene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

238 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (231)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Damson Dene Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer