We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Crosthwaite hotels

Damson Dene Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Damson Dene Hotel to your Saves list
Damson Dene Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
82%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Crosthwaite
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Michael W Sunderland, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,284)
  • Photos (231)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (308)
  • More
Write a Review

1,284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    571
    471
    136
    57
    49
See reviews for
182
813
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Damson Dene Hotel at the beginning of July. Straight away we were impressed by the grounds and external appearance of the hotel. The inside lounge area was very comfortable and inviting as were the staff. The room was clean and comfortable although the shower in the en suite could have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely, 5-star review. We work very hard to keep the hotel a great place to visit and we are happy you enjoyed yourself so much that you've booked in again! See you in a few weeks! More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visited this hotel recently on a recommendation. We found the room to be very nice, clean and well presented. The staff were polite and as helpful as possible. The bar area and restaurant were dated and in need of redecoration, the flowers were dead! However we must say the the food was wonderful and we would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review and comments about our staff. We appreciate your helpful comments on things we can improve as well. Thank you for saying you would visit again, we hope you do! More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

you must visit this hotel for entertainment alone,wayne is a superb front of house ,manager waiter,entertainmet, and the staff are all behind him,rooms spotless had room 9 spa ,four poster ,unfortunately we had to cut our visit short,fab location only 5 min to windemere,but benefit of nice quiet location too,lovely gardens,lovely food cant say enough about it.xxxxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We really appreciate the 5-star rating for our staff, accommodation and entertainment! I'm hoping we'll see you again soon! More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

me and my partner visited this hotel in august and were very disappointed.the hotel is very dated the bar area was full of dead flies and didn't look like it had been cleaned in a long time.breakfast was a complete joke we were sat at the table for 20mins before we were served a coffee and a further 10mins before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

This was an unfortunate review to read, especially as the glowing review below this one is from guests who stayed at the same time! It just goes to show the subjective nature of reviews. Although breakfast was busy, we think this reviewer may be stretching it a bit on the time of waiting. We will certainly ensure however that we... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a lovely place to stay for any trip to the Lake District. Very good value also, just £63.20 for a double room per night including Breakfast! The hotel is in a beautiful setting, lovely outside seating area and garden full of colourful flowers and a pond with friendly ducks. The rooms are nice, quite small with quite low... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review. The photos you posted came out well too! All of the staff appreciate your lovely comments about them, especially Eliza. We are pleased you had such a nice time and hope you'll visit again in the future. Thank you. More

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed at the hotel for 3 days as part of our honeymoon. Very clean, quiet and comfortable hotel. Breakfasts were especially good with the added pleasure of the ducks who would appear at the dining room door every morning to be fed toasr by the guests. I can't think of anything negative to stay about the Damson and will certainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely 5-star review. Thanks for visiting and we're delighted to have hosted you for your special break and certainly hope to welcome you back for that 2nd visit! Thanks again. More

Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a special offer directly from the hotel group. It was good value and the food at dinner was good. The breakfasts were OK - I just wish that hotels would resist cooking tons of bacon in the oven. Breakfast was enlivened by a visit from the ducks from the hotel's pond - they have obviously worked out that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. You've pointed out some of our strong points as well as some areas where we can improve, which is always helpful. We have always worked to keep the hotel a great place to visit and will continue to do with helpful reviews like yours. Thanks. More

Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The setting was beautiful, staff friendly and food delicious. Our room was a little dated but clean and a very comfortable bed! This was a 2night break, with dinner on the first night, internet offer. Fantastic value for money and we would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review. We aim to offer good value for money and are pleased you found us to be so. Thanks also for your nice comment about our food as well and for saying you would stay again. We hope you do. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our recent stay this week August 12 2014. Was a night mare we will never forget. We had booked a family room only to get a double room with camp bed. Bath room had blocked sink with black stuff ouesing out at back. At one in the morning camp bed calapsed, grand son not injured, told manager who them moved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that these issues occurred during this guest's stay. There was clearly a mix up on our booking system, which was really the root of the problem. Unfortunately, things got worse not better. It was unfortunate although we were happy to refund the cost of the guest's stay and will certainly learn from this. More

Seascale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a disappointment! We picked up a stay on Travelzoo and having known of the Damson Dene for years, thought it would be good to try it. We were very disappointed. The hotel looked as if it needed loving - it needs a great deal of attention. Our rooms were tiny, and there was dirt on the windowsills and even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Sometimes as soon as a guest walks on, you know there is going to be a problem. That was the case for this reviewer. It is not that we think ourselves above criticism or anything like that, but if you visit a hotel to seek out its flaws, you are bound to find a few. Nowhere is perfect and we... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Damson Dene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Damson Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria

231 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (224)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (64)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Damson Dene Hotel and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer