We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Port William B&Bs / inns

Hawthorn House

Second Sands, Port William DG8 9QP, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hawthorn House to your Saves list
Hawthorn House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
100%
Ranked #1 of 1 Port William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
DaveMillward Leek, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (111)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
59
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Evenin' all, We returned from a 3 day trip to Dumfries & Galloway today. We chose Hawthorn Hse as the end destination for this short break and are very pleased that we did. The views from the King sized room and dining room are superb; the hosts friendly and obliging; the food very good and the kingsize room well equipped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

It is very kind of you to take the time to post this review, thank you. We are very grateful for your generous comments and hope you will visit Galloway again soon and come back to stay with us. Thanks again. Tim & Hilary Pavitt More

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This B & B was chosen for its location and previous complementary reviews. The room selected was the King size with en-suite and it did not disappoint. The bed was very comfortable and with the location being so quiet, guaranteed a good nights sleep. The breakfast next morning was all you could ask for and superbly cooked and served. Tim... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting this review. We really do appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to post such generous comments. It makes us feel good to know guests have had a positive experience and also helps our business. We're glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope you'll return again and be able... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The setting - on peaceful seafront with little fishing harbour on the left, the shore and headland stretching away to the right as far as the Mull of Galloway lighthouse, which can be seen at night - is a knockout especially to Londoner eyes.Tim and Hilary are running an excellent b and b here,they are warmhearted and have put a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting this review. It really means a lot to us that you have taken the trouble to put up such a comprehensive report and we thank you for your most generous comments. We are blessed to live in a truly wonderful area and glad you enjoyed your experience of the Machars of Galloway during your... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was an excellent B&B in an ideal cycling location. Rooms comfy and excellent value, hosts so accommodating. Very quiet location but on many quiet cycling routes on undulating roads. Owners allow you to use garage

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to post this review, we really appreciate you doing so. Your right, the Machars of Galloway is a great place for cycling and we're glad you enjoyed your time here. We hope the rest of your tour went well and hope to see you again when you next visit Galloway. Thanks again. Tim & Hilary Pavitt More

Kirton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

5 of us arrived on motorbikes in the pouring rain after 6 hours riding in the worst weather. Our hosts greeted us with open arms and took us and our very wet gear in to their home. What a wonderful home, beautiful rooms and all with those little personal touches you just don't find elsewhere, namely homemade shortbread and quality... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for making the effort to post this glorious review. You are now officially excused for bringing the rain with you on your visit! We greatly appreciate the generous comments you have posted. We are glad you enjoyed the short time you had at Hawthorn House and hope the rest of your journey was successful - the... More

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just returned from staying 1 night here. The B&B is on the outskirts of Port William in a stunning location. We had a room with a sea view and binnoculars are thoughtfuly provided to enjoy the sights more fully. The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable. Not only were tea/coffeee facilities provided to cater for every taste, but home... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to post this review, we really appreciate your generous comments. We take your point about locks on bedroom doors. It is a fine balance between "family home" and "guest-house" when running a B&B - and we tend to err on the side that guests are staying in our "home" - but your point... More

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Tim and Hilary are fantastic hosts so welcoming and all the little extras (homemade shortbread) mmm, make this b&b a fabulous place to stay in the beautiful Port William, absolutely everything you need is here, comfortable, clean, homely, stayed 2 nights end may, will most definitely be returning later in the year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thanks for posting this review. We're really grateful that you took the trouble to post such generous comments. We look forward to you coming back to stay at Hawthorn House when you next visit Galloway . Thanks again. Tim & Hilary Pavitt More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just returned from a two night break at Hawthorn House with my daughter. We were pleasantly surprised at the standards set by Hazel and Tim, everything is provided down to toiletries and bath robes, and nothing is too much trouble for them. We couldn't believe how much you get for your money. Its where we will definitely be returning to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thanks for making time to post this review. Your generous comments mean a lot to us and we really appreciate that you have gone to the trouble of posting them. We hope you will come back to Galloway soon and stay at Hawthorn House again. Thank you. Tim & Hilary Pavitt More

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Tim &Hilary have a rare gift in that they can make others totally at ease in their home as though they were there totally to serve you! They have gone to a great deal of trouble to get things set up to run smoothly and one gets the impression that they have collected the best of ideas from different establishments... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting this very comprehensive and positive review. We are very grateful that you made time to write such a glowing report of Hawthorn House. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay - and thank you for the insights into fishing boat reg. numbers. We will be taking your book with us on any coastal... More

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

stayed here 3 nights in mid May, very comfortable and warm...cosy bed in the king size room. good TV and free WiFi reception...excellent breakfast. Port William is a quiet place but I knew that before booking...overlooking the sea from the bedroom and even though the main road is directly outside it was quiet even with a window open overnight.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thanks for posting this positive review - we appreciate you making time so to do. We're very glad you chose to stay at Hawthorn House at the end of your tour and pleased that you you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again when you are next in glorious Galloway. Thanks again. Tim & Hilary Pavitt More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hawthorn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: Second Sands, Port William DG8 9QP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Port William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the north end of the coast road at Port William, there are unrestricted views over Luce Bay onto the Mull of Galloway. We are perfectly sited to offer an ideal holiday for visitors of all ages. With safe beaches, a wide variety of wildlife, beautiful countryside for walking and cycling, golf, fishing, wonderful sunsets, and a friendly welcome, you are sure to enjoy your stay. Luxurious accommodation in a beautiful location. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer