We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Ixtapa hotels

Emporio Ixtapa

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Ixtapa s/n | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Emporio Ixtapa to your Saves list
Emporio Ixtapa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
69%
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Ixtapa
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014
824KMB Detroit, Michigan
  • Overview
  • Reviews (303)
  • Photos (195)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (43)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    120
    59
    19
    20
See reviews for
94
93
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is my favorite hotel in Ixtapa. I have stayed here 5 times and each time gets better and better. This year we stayed from February 20, 2014 - March 7, 2014. Each year new upgrades have been completed. This year it was the palapas on the beach. Awesome. The staff remembers you each year and welcomes you back.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
JaimeCardenas, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review

Daer Guest, Thank you for your time and comments. We are so glad that you like our hotel. On my oun name and in the name of our staff, we want to thank you again and you can be sure that will do our best to make you next visit a better one. We are sorry about the air conditioned;... More

st.paul, minn.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed under the timeshare plan, and were pleasantly surprised (from the reviews on here). Our room was clean, up to date, and faced the ocean. We did have hot water issues twice, which were immediately addressed. The beach here is expansive and beautiful, which makes this location superb. We like this hotel because is it non-inclusive- we like trying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JaimeCardenas, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review

Thank you for your time and comments. We are so glad that you like our hotel. On my name and in the name of our staff, we want to thank you again and you can be sure that will do our best to make you next visit a better one. About reception personal there is no much to say but,... More

Terrace, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location in Ixtapa, right on the beach, close to commercial amenities. It has both all inclusive and 'European Plan' options. Our family of 4 was on the 'European Plan' which means just the room (although we payed for breakfast to be included). The food was actually pretty good but would not have been varied... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JaimeCardenas, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay last March. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us entirely, the perfect location Emporio allowed to know the surrounding areas without any problem by adding security that exists in the area. We hope your sooner way back to your Home in Mexico, Emporio Ixtapa. Jaime Cárdenas,... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The first thing I look at before I got to a hotel is the overall customer reviews. The emporio seemed to have fair reviews at decent prices. My stay there was.... ordinary. The real issue is Emporio's inability to protect customer information. On two seperate ocasions, my family members and I received a call from the reception office at 11pm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Jose, Lamentamos profundamente lo que expresa, para nosotros la seguridad es primordial y seguimos puntualmente la Ley de Privacidad... More

Neenah, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

There were 5 of us traveling. We had confirmed our rooms months in advance with an email to the hotel that they would be ocean view and up on a higher floor. When we arrived we found out that 4 of us would be staying in one room, which we didn't request. We were all to have deluxe ocean views,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Guest We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last March. It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay; we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.... More

Leon, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Bad experience on this Hotel. I used this hotel when traveling for vacation to Ixtapa, because it offered in the past excellent service, not anymore.I would never use this hotel again, I stayed in the past; 2008, 2009 and returned on 2013. I was disappointed. First I booked one room with some specifications and when I arrived, there was not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped, Apreciamos mucho el tiempo que tomo para darnos sus comentarios en referencia a su estancia el pasado octubre.... More

Phoenix
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

on a scale of 1-10 where 1 is burlap and 10 is silk, the sheets and towels are a 3. Abrasive! No fabric softener used here. Bring your own pillow case if you don't have a full beard. The maid service needs new management. Coffee for the in room machine did not appear 2 days running despite requests. When we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Guest We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last February. It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay; we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.... More

Haliburton, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just returned from a week stay at Emporio. The area, weather and beach are perfect. We felt the hotel was a good fit for us. We enjoyed the quiet of it, no loud obnoxious events around the pool when you are trying to relax. There is lots to do otherwise, I enjoyed the 18km biking tour with Ritchie, the Events... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay last february. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us entirely, the perfect location Emporio allowed to know the surrounding areas without any problem by adding security that exists in the area. You can be shure that we will work at the Italian Restaurant service. We hope... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had requested a king size bed on our reservations but when we arrived none were available. We had checked back several days and none were available. The family member needed this size bed for a comfortable night, he is 6'5 and weighes over 300lbs. Very poor sleeping for the 7 days and we were repeat visitors. On a positive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Guest We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last February. It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay; we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.... More

Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at the Emporio for two weeks in February, We had a corner room on the third floor facing the street, which can be noisy on the weekends from outside establishments (not the hotel's fault). We did not detect any room-to-room noise. We had a very comfortable king bed, large screen tv, and in-room electronic safe. There was also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review

Thank you for your time and comments. We are so glad that you like our hotel. On my name and in the name of our staff, we want to thank you again and you can be sure that will do our best to make you next visit a better one. We are sorry about the air conditioned; believe me when... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Emporio Ixtapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Emporio Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Ixtapa

Address: Boulevard Ixtapa s/n | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Ixtapa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Emporio Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Resort Ixtapa
Hotel Emporio Ixtapa

195 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (192)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (41)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ixtapa with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ixtapa #4 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa #6 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa #6 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Emporio Ixtapa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer