We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Blvd Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    72
    137
    120
    60
    68
See reviews for
170
110
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (457)
  • Mar-May only
    (163)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this year was my second time staying at this hotel and they still have the same problems even though they had told me that they would try to fix it on my last coment. the food is the same as last time the last day i just eat potatoes because thats the only thing that they had that tastes good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear jesus, thanks for your comments. We were looking for your comment to see your last visit, but you only have this comment, now we have our new menu that is an especiality each day, so we can't understand your comment. about the pay of $400 mx, this is an upgrade for a better room, is per night not for... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Older hotel, but would go back in a flash. Great beaches and great pools. Service incredible. Food was great. Staff was always helpful. Would strongly recommend. The room was always maintained and clean

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments, We are happy for your experience with us. we have many improves for you. We hope you return soon. Kind regards More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

Decent well organised restaurants A La Carte restaurant great.Good show in auditorium on weekend.Pleasant and helpful staff.Room very clean and sufficient size but would suggest going to your bathroom window and look out and if you can see the corner of the next room's balcony this would mean that any body on that balcony can see you.A bit embarrassing if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments, Fontan Ixtapa is so glad of your good experience with us. We will doing improvements in whole the hotel, we'll take in consideration your comment about the balcony to fix it. We invite you to visit us soon to see the new areas and changes. Thank you. kind regards More 

Surrey,BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

It was my second visit at Fontan hotel after 8 years,awsome people,especially Ivan,servers and other guys very friendly.Food very good,if u want sth extra ask and they will prepare for u for free(guest satisfaction),room service,pool,beach always nice and clean.Only one bad point-why we have to pay 3-4 $ for coconut ???Every year i'm in a diferent resort in many countries... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

thank you for your comments, we are happy for your good experience with us. we are in change of our hotel, we will doing a lot of improvements. Fontan Ixtapa invites you to come back and see what is new. Thank you so much. Kind regards. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We weren't quite sure what to expect with so many poor reviews, but we were more than happy with our experience. Check-in was very efficient and we were able to check-in at 1pm on a Sunday afternoon. Our room was excellent, had a wonderful ocean view, was cleaned very well every day and the 'towel art' from the cleaning lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

thank you for your comments. we are glad for your good experience with us. we hope see you soon. kind regards. More 

EdmontonAB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Me and my bf had gone april 2-9, during easter, Maybe the resort is better at other times of the year.. I have been to different parts of mexico and Ixtapa once before, this is the only time I have been unhappy... The line up when we had gotten there was unbelievably crazy, the whole lobby was so busy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

We welcome your feedback. We appreciate your visit and am very sorry that the services offered will not be good enough to please him, we are in a time of great change for the better, take their observations to improve. Kind Regards More 

San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

It is one of the worst hotels in Ixtapa, in my experience, are just thieves, do not buy packages that sell people in the lobby. I made the terrible mistake of purchasing one of these packages and when i tried to reserve, they blocked my calls. They are real criminals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Mr. Alejandro we contact you because is very important know what happened, and try to resolve the problem. what was they offered and if you could give me the name of the person who attended to you. More 

Travelers are raving about these Ixtapa hotels

Melfort, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

I arrived at the Fontan Hotel not sure what to expect, but I was greeted by very friendly staff and was given a king size bed and a beautiful ocean view and pool view. The beach is very clean and did not encounter any vendors, although the ocean was quite angry, it kept me out of the sea. The pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad for your visit, and for your good perception of us. Hotel Fontan Ixtapa is changing now, we have more improves coming. We hope see you soon again. kind Regards. More 

Brampton
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Our check in and out was quick, we received the room we requested with a fantastic balcony. Although I wasn't aware that there were winding stair up into the room. So after the third day we asked if we could change as the stairs were hurting my knee. Elise on the front desk looked and found us another lovely room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

thank you so much for your comments. this year we have many changes and improves. we hope see you soon. More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

It's an old resort with dated rooms and grounds in a good location. PROS -hot water(great pressure you can turn it down) -balcony -air conditioner worked well in our room -large pools -food was good -maids & some staff are friendly -location is close to shops, buses and market -good wifi in the lobby CONS -Bed is hard & and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Thank you so much We are glad with your comments, we are changing, we will do many improves, we hope you visit us again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

406 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (388)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (61)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (84)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#22 of 24 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.6 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#12 of 24 in Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#10 of 24 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay