We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Blvd Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    115
    107
    52
    60
See reviews for
124
97
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (374)
  • Mar-May only
    (141)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is one of the worst hotels in Ixtapa, in my experience, are just thieves, do not buy packages that sell people in the lobby. I made the terrible mistake of purchasing one of these packages and when i tried to reserve, they blocked my calls. They are real criminals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Mr. Alejandro we contact you because is very important know what happened, and try to resolve the problem. what was they offered and if you could give me the name of the person who attended to you. More 

Melfort, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I arrived at the Fontan Hotel not sure what to expect, but I was greeted by very friendly staff and was given a king size bed and a beautiful ocean view and pool view. The beach is very clean and did not encounter any vendors, although the ocean was quite angry, it kept me out of the sea. The pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad for your visit, and for your good perception of us. Hotel Fontan Ixtapa is changing now, we have more improves coming. We hope see you soon again. kind Regards. More 

Brampton
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our check in and out was quick, we received the room we requested with a fantastic balcony. Although I wasn't aware that there were winding stair up into the room. So after the third day we asked if we could change as the stairs were hurting my knee. Elise on the front desk looked and found us another lovely room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

thank you so much for your comments. this year we have many changes and improves. we hope see you soon. More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's an old resort with dated rooms and grounds in a good location. PROS -hot water(great pressure you can turn it down) -balcony -air conditioner worked well in our room -large pools -food was good -maids & some staff are friendly -location is close to shops, buses and market -good wifi in the lobby CONS -Bed is hard & and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Thank you so much We are glad with your comments, we are changing, we will do many improves, we hope you visit us again soon. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You get what you pay for. Worth the money a high 3.5 star No problems checking in. It was fast and efficient, the staff is polite and attentive to your needs. Amazing beach good food and a relaxing atmosphere. No problem getting your beach towel and the drinks are good. Def. would return

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

thank you so much. We are glad with your comments, we are changing, we will do many improves, we hope your visit soon. More 

Morelia, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, The booking was a problem Because we requested two consecutive double rooms but the only option was a triple room. The activities are funny. It's a familiar environment The installation are something old but are Maintained in regular status The food is acceptable but is the same for all days. Finally we had a problem with a lobby employee.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Good afternoon, we appreciate your comments, we felt embarrassed with the problem that you had, we are changing and we will have a lot of improves. we hope you can come again to check our changes. More 

London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just returned home from staying here for March break.... Don't stay here. The food is absolutely disgusting. The air conditioning barely works, most staff can't speak English (Gus at the bar in the lobby is amazing) after Thursday afternoon if your not Mexican you are treated like a second class citizen. They have double standards as to what the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments. We are a Mexican destination which receives tourists from all over the world, it is normal for the weekend have as much Mexican visitors, we do not have different policies for our guests, everyone is treated the same way and rules are apply to everyone equally. the comment about the food, we had no problem with... More 

Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Fontan the week of March 12. The hotel is very outdated and caters to the Me4xican people. The rooms are small, the beds and pillows hard, the air conditioning barely keeps up. No fridge in the room, no coffee maker, no safety deposit box (available at the front desk only). They still use a key on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spruce Grove, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This is the first time I have been so appalled by a resort that I feel it worth reviewing. Sunwing should take their name off the endorsement of this resort, and be ashamed of any connection. My husband and I were there March 7-13. Please take your money and spend it anywhere else. Although the Fontan is in a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

good afternoon, thank you for your comments Fontan ixtapa is really sorry about your experience in our hotel. we never treat different our guests,our policies are for anyone, but we can not control the education of people and are in the case mentioned but equally are asked to withdraw from the pool and make proper use of it. we have... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We just got back from Ixtapa 2 days ago. First of all this hotel is not great at all. The Good: It is very clean. Beautiful ocean view, great beach, not too many vendors. Excellent location, close to lots of restaurants--you'll need them after you try the food! They give you a coupon for a dinner at a restaurant attached... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carlos L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. your comments are important to improve our services, not all of our rooms have balcony, if we have availability we can give you a room with balcony, the opening of the windows is regulated to protect our guests. the safes are at front desk and you can use without charge. we have all type of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

332 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (313)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (40)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question