We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Blvd Ixtapa s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa
Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa
Panoramas (10)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

988 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was the third year in a row that my wife and I have gone to the Presidente. We have had a wonderful time each year and this year was no exception. Reading many of the most recent reviews would definitely tell one otherwise. We were a little hesitant as well, not knowing what changes had taken place with this... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank thefergfam
Martensville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our third trip to Ixtapa, our first time staying at the Holiday Inn after checking in the bellman took us to our room going through a hallway with very strong odour of sewer gas, the hallway floor tiles had the finish worn off and dirty, the room had the same worn and dirty tiles, chair in the room... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Bill z
patricia032158, Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Bill z Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, The General Management. More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Well, we went back for a second time: first visit it was still the Presidente Intercontinental (and was when we booked). It has now become a Holiday Inn. Our first visit was excellent, mostly due to fantastic wait staff at pool and Mexican food at buffet. Well, Holiday Inn has let the Pool wait staff go (or moved them into... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaGoBig
patricia032158, Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear angelaGoBig, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.... More 

Wahpeton, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This resort was NOTHING as advertised. We left after day one. The package we purchased was before it was a Holiday Inn. We even received updated information on the resort AFTER Holiday Inn had taken over. Some examples: The general appearance and "invitation" when you arrive is disappointing. The rooms in our group were half available. For example they only... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Brian B
patricia032158, Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Brian B Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay with us. We strive very hard to make each and every guest's stay perfect, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on this occasion. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you had and... More 

Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have to admit that I was concerned about the recent poor reviews before my trip to Ixtapa last week. I traveled with a group and we all tried to keep an open mind just hoping that the people that wrote the reviews were extra picky people. We got a pool room and the view from our balcony was beautiful.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank JaxJAX1221
patricia032158, Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear jaxJAX Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and for your nice comment about our staff, the beach and the bed. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the food selection. We will... More 

Moose Jaw, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great beach the resort is nice and clean but not a 4 star resort we are not fuss people when it comes to food but............the breakfasts are good and so are the noon lunches but supper is different story think the biggest problem is the light at the buffet you cant see what your are eating and poor selection,no al-a-cart... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rockbarb
patricia032158, Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Rockbarb Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.... More 

Pouce Coupe, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I spent 2 weeks from Jan 8 to the 22nd. We had a wonderful holiday. The breakfasts and lunches were great. Went to a couple alacarts and were also good. The buffet close to the lobby was closed for renovations during most of our stay but we preferred the buffet by the beach anyways Bed was very... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank GolfJack56
patricia032158, Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear GolfJack56 Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, The General Management. More 

Patzcuaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not a 4 star, barely a 3. Web site still ssys 5 restaurants. Not true. First 3 days of our visit only one buffet restaurant and snack bar. For $200US a night a huge huge disappointment. I would like our money bavk!

Helpful?
4 Thank Steeliesam
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Formerly The Presidente Intercontinental this resort was and is advertised as a four star resort and that isn't even close to what it actually is. No actual physical al-a-carte restaurant, no nightly entertainment, outdoor stage only, small poor buffet selection, well worn property under reconstruction, no room mini bar to cool water and pop. This is the first four star... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank KennyrA1141OT
patricia032158, Front Office Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been going to the Intercontinental Presidente in Ixtapa for almost 10 years now and we have loved it, however we visited there this year after they changed to the Holiday Inn and I am not sure we would go back there again with the changes they have made. There are no more servers on the beach or around... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Deborah F
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa, responded to this review

Dear Deborah F, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your high scores in cleanliness and sleep quality. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the services offered. We will look into this concern.We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

978 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (568)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (102)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (112)
Viewed
Room/suite (79)
Viewed
View from room (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Other (173)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (364)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Oceanfront King (49)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (138)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (65)
Viewed
Standard Poolview King (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
2.2 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#1 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#22 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel Collection Ixtapa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay