We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Green, Matching Tye CM17 0QS, England
Hotel amenities
The Fox Inn
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matching Tye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    12
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
21
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed the stay, modern rooms and very quiet, very clean bathrooms, comfortable bed and one of the best breakfasts ever!!!! The owners certainly know how to look after the guests and 10/10 from us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Glad to be back to eat at The Fox Inn last Saturday night with two friends, this time after only a few months and we were determined to not have the starters to enable us to have the deserts after our main meals (which are very filling). As before we had ample portions of food for our main courses and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chigwell essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Went to fox inn last night as couldnt get booked for 16 adults and 5 children at late notice and was so glad we went there the meals were lovely couldnt complain about anything they all come up together all hot and never had to wait long our waitress was I think lucy she was so good and worked so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent meal at The Fox Inn! I will make sure that you're lovely comments are passed on to Lucy and our kitchen staff and I hope that you all enjoyed the rest of the birthday celebrations! We hope to see you again soon, Kind regards Liz and all at The Fox... More

Northwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had an overnight stay here and were very impressed with the cleanliness and quality of the rooms. The heater was a little confusing to operate however once we got it set up at the right temperature , it did the job. Breakfast the next morning (charged separately) was extremely good value and my Gluten free request was dealt with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for sharing your review, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Liz Gibson More

LANCASTER
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting, nice atmosphere, very olde world. Lots of choice on menu. Steak was one of the worst I've ever had, I asked for med-rare and it was over cooked, dry and fatty. Apparently he chilli was good, and the lasagne looked nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review of your recent meal. I'm sorry to learn that your steak was not to your liking. We take all feedback (good and bad) seriously as it's the only way we can improve and I'll pass your comments on to the kitchen. However both my husband and I asked your group if everything was ok with... More

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

stayed here as I had an early start into London the following morning, I was meet by friendly staff and shown to my room which by the way are chalet style and away from the pub so no bar noise. The room was first class as was the bathroom.After a quick change I went into the bar for some food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to share your review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay - the Cajun chicken is one of our most popular meals so I'm pleased you enjoyed it! We look forward to seeing you next time you're in the area, Kind regards Liz and everyone at The Fox Inn More

Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had our lunch at the 'Fox' this week. What a great meal for £7.50p per head. I had " Liver and Bacon". What a large portion was served up and piping hot. I had Ice cream to follow finishing off with a Coffee. All for £7.50p. Brilliant! I would advise a phone call to book a table as it gets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your lunch at The Fox Inn and I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Our lunchtime offer is very popular and booking is definitely recommended, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes Liz Gibson More

Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is a traditional 18th Century village pub, has a character beamed restaurant with a very friendly atmosphere and always has a good selection of food on it's menu. It's been a year since we've dined here previously and although we always received excellent service and good food, previously some of the meals seemed to have had smaller portions. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent meal at The Fox Inn. I'm pleased to read that you felt the portions were of a good size and that you so thoroughly enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back soon so that you can try some of our delicious desserts!... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I went to a surprise 80th birthday meal on Saturday at the Fox Inn Matching Tye and all i can say is the food was excellent at this small quaint village pub. the staff were friendly,the food was first class and the portions were massive.what more do you want. i paid the bill in the end and for 10 people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Hi, We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your review on here, hopefully we'll see you again soon where I'd be happy to show you around our accommodation for future reference! Kind regards Liz Gibson More

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great value, rural village pub. Food's great, staff friendly and efficient, rooms extremely clean and comfortable. Good selection of beers and wine. Convenient for Stansted Airport/M11. No complaints whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate all feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Liz and all at The Fox Inn More

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Matching Tye
The Fox Hotel
Address: The Green, Matching Tye CM17 0QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Matching Tye
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Matching Tye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Fox Inn to your Saves list