We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vista Motor Lodge

2 Bridge Street | State Highway 2, Wairoa, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Vista Motor Lodge
View Map
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

The price was that of a city motel. However- it was dirty, toilet smelled, there was mould growing in the fridge, hair around the place, stained carpets, minimal hot water. Made the mistake of paying before viewing! Would not recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank emily12000
Peter N, Manager at Vista Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We always appreciate valid reviews of our motel and respect the opinions of our guests. We pride ourselves in our excellent customer service. - Alas in this instance we do not see any substance or truth in your review. Should you have concerns you are welcome to ring and discuss. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

Stayed in the 4 bedroom house. Outside gardens are shabby with rubbish including RTD cans by the back door. Inside was clean but smelt musty like it had been closed for a long period. It was very cold, really needs heat pumps. The 2 fan heaters were only just adequate... Cheap accommodation. Pleasant enough meal in the restaurant. Staff particularly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kate132015
Peter N, Public Relations Manager at Vista Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Please feel free to contact us direct to discuss your concerns. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 via mobile

Really great place. People friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and solid with great amenities. Full kitchen in the room and modern new bathrooms. Restaurant is fantastic, reasonably priced with good honest food. I broke my belt during a stay (probably as a result of all the food!) and the staff found me another one and went out of the way... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rewi H
Peter N, Public Relations Manager at Vista Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we were glad we could help More 

whitepetal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We stayed for 4 nights between Christmas and New Year and have no complaints. Although not really modern the room was exceptionally clean and very spacious. The bed was comfortable and the shower excellent. A note on the wall said they preferred their cleaning staff to do the dishes which I thought was great for a change. Not that I... More 

Helpful?
Thank whitepetal
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

The Vista is not a modern, hip kinda place, but is what you would call solid and dependable. Booking by phone was easy, and when we arrived our unit was ready and waiting. Vista is easy to find; it is on the riverbank right by the bridge that runs through the town on the main highway. We found the place... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank H4riata
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Booked this based on price, so thought it would be a bit on the shabby side. However, the room exceeded my expectations. It was very clean, and overall a comfortable stay. Although on arrival, the room was very warm. Lucky there was a fan - not enough windows for the Summer weather, in my opinion. The shower head was amazing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank S L
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Fairly Clean, a few stains on some covers. Old fashioned decor and rooms. Bathroom good. Could not see any smoke alarm though...I would stay there again but needs a bit of improvement. Great location.

Helpful?
Thank RON1GIS
Wellsford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The room we had was perfectly adequate. We had travelled from Kawerau via Waikaremoana so arrived tired, dusty and hungry. It was a very hot day and it was pleasant to relax in a clean well ventilated room on our arrival. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal at the Restaurant, the Fish meal was particularly good, and awoke next morning... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda G
Gisborne, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I Have stayed in many motel and hotels around the world and new Zealand and the vista is one of the best motels I say in . Peter the owner will go out of his why to make your stay happy and enjoyable . . The rooms are nice and very clean ,most have good kitchens with full sized ovens... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank steve09876
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My whanau and i stay at the lodge for 1 week and a half, the look of the place is very nice Peter must be a green finger so enjoyed looking at the plants, the boys totally enjoyed the pool the restuarant food was yummy as well worth the money. the ladies that keep the rooms clean and tidy you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Francine H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wairoa hotels
10.4 mi away
Lake Road B&B
Lake Road B&B
#1 of 4 in Wairoa
5.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Three Oaks Motel
Three Oaks Motel
#1 of 1 in Wairoa
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay