We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

4.0 of 5 San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    207
    64
    32
    48
See reviews for
176
285
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (605)
  • Mar-May only
    (153)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (172)
All months
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars NEW

We have loved the Grand Mayan in San Jose Del Cabo for many years and were anxious to get back to see how it had transformed since the hurricane. The property is being re-imagined and when complete will be great, however, they were not quite up-to-speed to have guests and left us disappointed. There is only one restaurant open, constant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Ocean, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had reservations at the Grand Mayan through RCI, but when we called today to check on transportation from the airport, we were told that the Grand Mayan no longer accepts RCI clients. Wonder if they were going to tell us when we flew in from NJ next week? Now we are scrambling to find somewhere else for our two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hoboken
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Awesome hotel, you couldn't imagine how big it is when you see it from the outside. The bedrooms are huge and neat. They have lots of pools to hang, and it's not crowded at all. The only thing that I can complain about, is that we were staying there the day that the hurricane Odile hit Los Cabos, and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We moved here after spending 2 weeks at the delightful Villa del Palmar. We knew there would be construction going on and were prepared to be understanding and patient. Our suite was beautiful and they are working night and day to recover from the hurricane. So far so good. We didn't even complain when we were given the room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am an owner & have been here 4 times before. As the shuttle pulled up I was prepared to see ruins-- NOT the outside shows no visible signs of damage, so I walked into lobby to register-- again it's gorgeous, staff was wonderful! Flowers & trees are beautiful!! My suite is wonderful, only thing I found is toilet paper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review

Dear 766glory : Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your past stay with us at The Grand Mayan. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. Your comments are always welcomed. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it... More 

Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well after reading all the reviews yesterday on this property. I am not surprised that they have closed the property until April. We were to book in on Sunday to a Grand suite with plunge pool & extended room. We are now at the mercy of the booking agent ( affiliate of RCI) to find us something in the area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review

Dear Waterlillimm : Thank you for submitting your comment. We are unaware on how the exchange companies' are handling reservations for The Grand Mayan Los Cabos. However, we can assure you that we are opened and all our staff is committed to making sure our guests’ vacation is a wonderful one. Hope to see you at The Grand Mayan Los... More 

Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of my favorite properties however they opened for guests entirely too soon. Construction is in full force thus there is dust flying morning, noon and night. My husband came down with a sinus infection. I have suffered with serious sinus issues and will most likely turn into a sinus infection however my dear father-in-law is having trouble... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review

Dear Tammi D : Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are aware that some of our guests experienced inconveniences during our reopening and we truly apologize for any shortcomings. Our resort staff has been working very hard day and night to make sure the new Grand Mayan Los... More 

Port Angeles, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Third time here. Love the resort. Great location and friendly staff. Unfortunately at this point they are still recovering from hurricane Odile last fall. Hence the two stars. Else it would be 5. We didn't even know the status of the resort until we tried emailing them a month ago. Poor communication from Vidanta about closures and construction and current... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review

Dear suspv : Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are aware that some of our guests experienced inconveniences during our reopening and we truly apologize for any shortcomings. Our resort staff has been working very hard day and night to make sure the new Grand Mayan Los Cabos... More 

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is not possible that Rustina stayed at the Grand Mayan Los Cabos in December 2014. It just reopened from the hurricane damage on January 31, 2015. We stayed there last week and were very disappointed. The part that is finished is very nice, but they have a long way to go. The pools on the balconies do yet have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review

Dear Lynn S : Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are aware that some of our guests experienced inconveniences during our reopening and we truly apologize for any shortcomings. Our resort staff has been working very hard day and night to make sure the new Grand Mayan Los... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we have had reservations at grand myan cabo for close to a year. The hurricane hit in the fall and we have called multiple times to be sure the place was going to be open so we could adjust our reservations. over and over it was "everything is fine." "grand re-opening for 1/30/15 on time" got picts of the "great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review

Dear dreamguard : Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are aware that some of our guests experienced inconveniences during our reopening and we truly apologize for any shortcomings. Our resort staff has been working very hard day and night to make sure the new Grand Mayan Los Cabos... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Happy Hour(18)
  • Very nice(9)
  • Time share(7)
  • Timeshare presentation(7)
  • Pool area(6)
  • Great food(4)
  • Mega store(4)

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo

747 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (550)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (140)
Viewed
Room/suite (89)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (121)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (144)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (167)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Master Room (20)
Viewed
Master Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay