We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Le Vauban

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
8 Route De Cabourg, 14810 Merville-Franceville-Plage, France
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Vauban
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Le Vauban
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

The hotel owner was extremely welcoming and helpful. The rooms were well presented, clean and comfortable. The decor of the hotel was really quaint, with lots of quirky features. We loved all the little extra finishing touches. Position was superb as it was a short walk from local restaurants and the beach. Breakfast was extra, but very well laid out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The room we had was clean and ensuite very good with good shower. Only criticism was that the room had no opening window ....only option was to open the door for ventilation which was not ideal as the room was on the ground floor. However the room was excellent value for money and we would use the hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We booked 3 nights based on previous reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel was on the main road and easy to find. We were delighted to be shown our room which was very clean and inviting. The bonus being a balcony with privacy screens. The decor of the breakfast room and lounge areas were delightful. The breakfast proved excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
asiane2008, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Vauban, responded to this review
Google Translation

Bonjour à vous, Je suis ravie que vous ayez passé un aussi bon séjour parmi nous. Vous avez pu bénéficier... More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here on the way back from the Le Mans 24hrs. Needed a cheap pit stop and as we were two blokes didn't need or expect anything fancy. The Le Vauban exceeds expectation and is excellent value for money. Great reception on arrival, we tried our rubbish French, but the owner soon put us out of our misery by using... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
asiane2008, Gérant at Hotel Le Vauban, responded to this review
Google Translation

Sir, I thank you first have chosen to leave your opinion on TRIPADVISOR. I am delighted that you have good... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Thia is a very small hotel on a lightly used main road a short walk from the beach at Merville sur Plage.It is ideal for visiting the Normandy Beaches.We arrived late at night 2215 from the ferry to be greeted charmingly by Madame and shown to our room. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotlessly clean and welcoming,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
asiane2008, Gérant at Hotel Le Vauban, responded to this review
Google Translation

Bonjour à vous et merci beaucoup d'avoir pris un peu de votre temps précieux pour donner votre avis concernant votre... More 

United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night prior to driving to the south of France. The hotel was very easy to find with plenty of parking. The lady who met us a reception was very friendly and did her best to try and speak English to us. Her English was better than our poor French, but she managed to tell us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
asiane2008, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Vauban, responded to this review

Mrs, Thank you very much for taking the time to cry a comment about our hotel. I am very touched and very sensitive. thank you again Annabel DAVID, Hotel Manager More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We are a party of four on two motorcycles and arrived at about 6.30pm after a fairly long run up through France on a damp sort of day. On speaking to the owner it became obvious there was an error in the booking and it was my fault. I had booked for October and not September. It was no trouble... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk ish
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After a long 7 hour journey across France in appalling weather conditions, we were met by a very friendly lady at the hotel. She spoke some English and along with out some French we were made very very welcome. We stayed in Room 2, a nice sized double room with TV and en-suite. Room was very clean and the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was one of a party of 14 who stayed here at the weekend. I heard no complaints and everyone was happy. The hotel/bar/restaurant had a cosy family feel to it and we were all made very welcome. We had a super meal in the evening (the service was excellent) and the breakfast was plentiful. Everything was clean and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
austin texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We completely enjoyed our stay here alhough the hotel is certainly nothing fancy. Our party of 4 had 3 rooms and we were all satisfied. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful. Her English was no better than my French but we managed to communicate and had some laughs trying. The rooms were clean and the beds provided a decent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities