We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Kinnitty accommodations

Kinnitty Castle Hotel

4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kinnitty, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kinnitty Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
1MJB Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    110
    46
    24
    18
See reviews for
70
248
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (425)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (107)
All months
Nenagh, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Below was a letter sent to kinnitty castle. The response was unsatisfactory. With the reply being if we were ever to stay again we may be looked after properly which should have been done in the first place. I would definitely not stay in this hotel again. I booked a one day stay at your hotel using a voucher this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Great old school hotel, exactly as it looks on its website. Room was huge and clean. Food delicious. Staff very lovely. Great walks to be had. Suspicious of a ghost in our room, however, as the kettle switched itself on while we were having a nap!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed over the weekend...and what a beautiful setting...we are definitely planning a return visit. From the minute you arrive...from the view from the road..the long driveway...the big heavy entrance door...the stairs leading to reception....you start experiencing the castle feel. Reception & checkin was great - we arrived early - however this was not an issue & we enjoyed a coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Castleisland, Kerry, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed with four of my girlfriends on 10th Jan..... The Hotel is so beautiful... We had afternoon tea when we arrived which was such a treat as check in not until 3pm.....We then went to our elegant rooms and relaxed in our fore poster bed. We had the nicest meal in the restaurant. And then enjoyed a scrumptious meal in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maria K, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kinnitty Castle Hotel on TripAdvisor, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We class our food, customer service and hospitality as our unique points so I was happy to see you enjoyed all 3 with the addition of the entertainment in... More 

Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from Kinnitty Castle. Firstly I need to say, I stayed in Kinnitty Castle last year and it was amazing. This time just didn't quite hit the mark for me. We were allocated the De la Poer suite. I actually requested that suite upon booking, as the pictures on tripadvisor looked amazing and it was a treat for my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we had our wedding at kinnitty on the 9th of January 2015. To all the staff at kinnitty and in particular Simon and aoife , thank you for an unforgettable day. All of our guests commented on how wonderful everything was . The food was top class , the setting perfect , and the staff excellent. I would have no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa C Thank you for your comments and for such a swift review, its good to know you really enjoyed your wedding day with us and that you would recommend us to other couples planning their wedding, for this we thank you, You are always welcome at Kinnitty Castle Hotel and we hope that we will see you again... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from one nights stay in the castle itself. This was a special treat, €220 for dinner bed and breakfast, not easily earned. The staff and food were just excellent. The problem was the room. When we go away we like better than we left at home, the tap dripped all night, there was no bulb in one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ch C, Thank you for taking the time to review Kinnitty Castle Hotel after your visit. I am glad that parts of your stay were enjoyable and thank you for the mention towards the high standard of service and food. My apologies are extended to you for the experience you had with our guest bedroom. I can confirm that... More 

County Carlow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We Stayed here for one night and personally couldn't get out of the place quick enough. we were shown to our room after a lengthy wait to check in , as the rooms were not ready. The room was like a shed, the cobwebs on the walls were ridiculous, the room was dirty and the light switch was hanging off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear T C, Thank you for your review of Kinnitty Castle Hotel. I am disappointing to read that your stay was not satisfactory and for that I ask you to please accept my sincere apologies. Firstly, I am sorry that you had to wait a unusual period of time for your room, we had a large event the prior evening... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nowhere in Ireland should you be unable to sleep due to the heat, but that was the case in January in Kinnitty. All of the positive impressions made by this character filled and atmospheric castle were simply ruined by the central heating which "couldn't be turned off or turned down". Neither I nor my girlfriend could sleep comfortably (in her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RedzillaOnHols Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed aspects of your stay but it is unfortunate you did not get a good nights sleep. On the particular night you stayed with us, the outside temperature was forecasted to drop to as low as -6, and with that in mind, as this is an old building, we... More 

Pelsall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dear Cavan , Aoife , Simon and all the fantastic team at Kinnitty Castle. My new Husband and I got married on December 28.12.2014 and we held our dreamy reception in Kinnitty. We booked the Venue on New Year’s Day 2014 and the Groom didn’t see the venue until the night before the wedding and he was blown away with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda R, Thank you for your kind comments towards myself, Aoife and Simon, we are all so happy that you enjoyed your wedding day. Hosting weddings is an important part of our business and it is great to get confirmation such as yours that we are doing them well. Hoping you come and visit in the future Cavan Dunne... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kinnitty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Address: Kinnitty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Kinnitty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinnitty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kinnitty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kinnitty

289 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (269)
Viewed
Room/suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (57)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby