We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Kinnitty accommodations

Kinnitty Castle Hotel

4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kinnitty, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kinnitty Castle Hotel to your Saves list
79%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Liz H Galway, Ireland
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    107
    42
    22
    17
See reviews for
62
238
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (396)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (89)
All months
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Paid a return visit to kinnitty for the first time since our wedding last year. We received a lovely warm welcome and this excellent service continued throughout our stay. The wexford male voice choir gave an outstanding performance in the great hall. Fantastic idea for entertainment on one of the rare weekends that kinnitty isn't hosting a wedding. The choir... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It seems that we got back to the past. In all senses. If you are looking for a luxury hotel this is not the best choice. Otherwise if you are looking fot a familiar environment full of tradition and care have a shoot. Regards

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We did an overnight stay here & were allocated the De Le Pore suite. We gasped at the size of the room & adjoining bathroom - we only needed half the four poster for two of us!! The rooms themselves have seen better days but the aged fittings kinda added to the charm. Breakfast was excellent but the highlight for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Larne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Kinnitty Castle Hotel set in woodlands, ideal surroundings for a wedding album. The castle is old with a musty damp smell about it, there are quite a few old relics spread throughout its corridors and rooms. We had one of the State rooms and boy was it in a state. A big room with a fireplace and an on-suite, it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed overnight as a treat in March this year. We were upgraded to a suite in the actual castle because most of the rooms were empty. The room was fantastic with its giant four-poster bed but the hot water ran out that night and the next morning! I don't know what the standard rooms are like but in the castle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EmilyMariaHarris Thank you for choosing to stay at Kinnitty Castle Hotel and for your review, all comments and feedback are taken on board and I appreciate that you enjoyed your accommodation and meals at the Castle. I can assure you that since your stay back in March, improvements have been made to the public areas of the Castle in... More

Meath
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

40th anniversary pressie from one of our sons and we were looking forward to staying in a castle!! We were not disappointed! I had rang to say it was a special occasion so we could avail of a nice room! We got afternoon tea which was really lovely, all home made! On first night our room was fine with huge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DaisyMayMeath Thank you for choosing Kinnitty Castle Hotel as the venue to celebrate your 40th Wedding anniversary and also for taking the time to write us a lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make you feel welcome and comfortable, I hope that we have created some long lasting... More

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was spacious and clean. We had a beautiful view out of the front of the hotel, it was very magical looking. The drive in was like going back in time. We had enough time to walk around the grounds and the hotel, it was very secluded and beautiful. Our bed was small, and there was only a tub,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heather L Thank you for taking the time to review Kinnitty Castle Hotel and for choosing us for your stay. I am glad that our night team were able to cater to your needs so early in the morning. Warmest Regards Cavan Dunne More

Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked into the hotel for a wedding, the room was beautiful, staff very friendly, food was made to order which was average. I would def go back there as the hotel and surroundings are beautiful. Staff very nice and welcoming.But if you have a pram its awkward as there are lots of stairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bernadette G Thank you for staying at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, I am happy to read that you enjoyed both the experience on the Wedding reception and the Castle itself Warmest Regards Cavan Dunne More

Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ended up staying for a night here when family members could not go - we were luckily at a loose end. We were on a package with room upgrade and dinner in Sli Dala. From the moment we arrived late in the afternoon and were brought to our luxury room we begun to relax. A chilled bottle of bubbly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Orla K, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Kinnitty Castle Hotel, I am glad that you got the opportunity to stay with us and that you enjoyed it. I hope your positive experience with us would encourage you to revisit in the future Warmest Regards Cavan Dunne More

Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

sunady night stop over for business meeting in Birr next morning, the castle was surprisingly busy, great character, fabulous warmth, and very friendly staff. didnt have time to explore all the nooks and crannies but hopefully i will get the chance to come back and spend some quality time here with family. had bar food and it was excellent, kilmore... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CavanDunne, General Manager at Kinnitty Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PMM2013 Thank you for your kind review and for choosing Kinnitty Castle Hotel as a stopover for your business meeting. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon Warmest Regards Cavan Dunne Hotel Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kinnitty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinnitty Castle Hotel

Address: Kinnitty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Kinnitty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinnitty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kinnitty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kinnitty

284 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (265)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay