We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit

Certificate of Excellence
Debrezeit Ethiopia, Debre Zeyit, Ethiopia
Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    21
    7
    12
    8
See reviews for
28
24
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I went to kuriftu too many times with my friends . Kuriftu resort very nice place also nice staff helpful and smile all time specially if you talk some amharic they looks happy and very polite . I took my friends for lunch and rest really very nice food i try stick and others try fish and rice and salad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mulu h, Manager at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for posting your review after your recent stay at the kuriftu resort and spa debrezeit. We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service of our associates. We always strive hard to deliver the best service experience to all our valuable guests at all times... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited here for the afternoon to have lunch and hangout. The package for the day is quite good value, I like 250-300 bird you get access to the buffet and kayaking in the lake. The food was okay, it was a bit picked over by the time we got there after kayaking which was disappointing but the bread wrapped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mulu h, Manager at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review after your recent stay at the Kuriftu resort and spa debrezeit. We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and you were pleased with the service as well as the facilities available at the our resort. Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward... More 

Saxis, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I lived in this charming city for a period when I was a flight training liaison in Etihopia, and it was one of the best experiences of my entire life. Ethiopia is a land of stunning scenery, amazing history, incredible people, and probably as much happiness as one could possibly imagine. I decided to go back for a vacation and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mulu h, Manager at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review after your recent stay at the Kuriftu resort and spa debrezeit. We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and you were pleased with the service as well as the facilities available at the our resort. Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward... More 

Debre Zeyit, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Have been there by evening around 4 pm...Kuriftu ...small lake and on the banks restaurant...sat for a while on enjoying the view ..after sunset there was small light and we can see swans roaming in the lake..Juices and food for early dinner..nice time to have with family..all are interior are Ethiopian traditional materials and looking nice..place to sit and relax

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mulu h, Manager at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking your time to communicate us that your recent stay in our kuriftu resort and spa debrezeit was wonderful and we also thank you for appreciating our overall service and the interior designs. Again we highly appreciate your detail and specific feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what do.... More 

Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

From Oct 2011 until Dec 2013 I was a Peace Corps Volunteer in Ethiopia. My site was Iteya, about 70-80 kilometers south of Debre Zeyit. Iteya is a rural farming town, modern is some ways, there was some Internet sevice there and the main road through town was paved. In other ways the living was primitive for me. (No indoor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mulu h, Manager at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review after your recent stay at the Kuriftu resort and spa debrezeit. We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service as well as the facilities available at the our resort. Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to... More 

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

All housekeepers, massage & spa staff God bless you all ! Much love for you all! You have realize you can't have a service business having poor customer service employees & the so called manager she came to resolve the problem at that moment. So you have to teach your management how to manage, as well as your employees (... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
mulu h, Manager at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing to us your valuable comments on our kuriftu resort and spa debrezeit . We are very sorry to hear that your stay at our establishment did not meet your expectations. NB. if you had made your points of dissatisfaction specific it would be great to identify the problems and put corrective actions accordingly but... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Got a day package that included massage, meal, drink & kayaking...It was all totally worth it. The food is probably the best I had in Debre Zeyit...but apparently juice doesn't count as soft drink (???!!) which we weren't informed about until we had finished and ready to leave; thankfully the restaurant manager cleared things up without us having to pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mulu h, Manager at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit, responded to this review

thank you for posting your review after your recent stay at the kuriftu resort and spa debrezeit. We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service of our associates. we are very sorry for the miscommunication happened in the case of juice not included as soft drink with coupon/package.... More 

Radford, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Had a great time here recently with family and friends. We were given a free entrance pass to visit this wonderful place. As soon as we arrived, the staff made us feel welcome and accommodate 15 of us including 2 children within minutes. We opted to go for a la carte instead of the buffet. The food was excellent, (I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
mulller, General Manager at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review after your recent stay at the Kuriftu resort and spa debrezeit. We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service as well as the facilities available at the our resort. Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to... More 

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I go to this place everytime I go to debrezeit, its an outstanding place with excellent services, and the food wow its so yammy especially I love the desert with the beautiful lakeside view . there's a swimming pool, cinima, and also spa.last but not least the stuff are so welcoming, keep it up!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
mulller, General Manager at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review after your recent stay at the kuriftu resort and spa debrezeit. We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service as well as the facilities available at our resort Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

A wonderful oasis, very relaxing. All staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. Rooms are very comfortable and well kept. Initially I was unhappy because I had erroneously been overcharged for the room, but this was eventually resolved and the hotel admitted that a genuine mistake had occurred (which could happen anywhere) - reimbursement complicated owing to finance rules in Ethiopia.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mulller, General Manager at Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review after your recent stay at our kuriftu resort and spa debrezeit. We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service as well as the facilities available at the our resort. Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities